We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colours trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fisherman's Daughter
Ranked #1 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Colours trip”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

an absolutely perfect place to stay at Mahone bay. The captains room is on the front looking out to the bay, breakfast was wonderful, a wide choice, the room was very comfortable with a seperate toilet and big shower, great service and perfect hosts.

Room Tip: the captains room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
89
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We've visited Mahone Bay many times, but had never stayed there in a B&B. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we selected the Fisherman's Daughter and it proved to be an excellent choice. Mel and Willem know how to make their guests feel very welcome in their beautiful historic home located between two of the famous churches fronting the bay. Our room was immaculate, the breakfast was delicious and Max, their lovely Schnauzer, made it all perfect. We would not hesitate to recommend The Fisherman's Daughter to family and friends and are eager to return ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRoy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Everything about this place is amazing...Where do we begin? The hosts Willem and Mel are so kind and personable, you feel like you have known them all of your life. Max the dog is a sweet addition to their family. The grounds are immaculate, the home is spotlessly clean, the linens and towels are 5 star plus and the breakfast was scrumptious. Hospitality and conversation was totally amazing. Bruce and I, are a couple, with the profound understanding that travel is as much about where you are going, as it is about the people you encounter when you get there. This is our philosophy, and we were so thrilled and fortuitous to have met these fine people. We look so forward to meeting with them again. Thank you for everything!!

Room Tip: We had the main floor Captains quarters, but all the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I took 3 elderly family members for a 2 night's stay. It was a "match made in heaven." We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The accommodations, the fantastic breakfasts and the hospitality were great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nestled between two of the three churches, this B&B is in a fantastic location to explore Mahone Bay and stay away from the main busy-ness. From the first moment of our arrival, Willem and Mel made us feel comfortable and welcome. We were delighted to hear the history of this beautiful house. This original structure from the 1800s pre-dated the churches and has so much charm!.

We happened to be celebrating our wedding anniversary as well as a birthday and this was a great location for these events. We were given the Captain's suite which is spacious but still cozy and was on the main floor by the entry. Mel and Wil surprised us with a special treat for our celebration - very kind. The ensuite was fantastic with a claw foot tub and a large walk-in glass and tile shower with a rain head. Great linens on the bed and fluffy towels. Max the dog was friendly and affectionate - all the guests enjoyed his attention and Wil and Mel were careful to ensure everyone's comfort before letting him mingle. As "dog people" we found he capped off a delightful stay.

We took advantage of the rolling lawn to sit on the lawn chairs and admire the view of the bay. There is also a porch on the back side of the house to enjoy if you wish.

Breakfast in the morning was a choice of three items and all choices were plentiful and the local and personal touches were fantastic. fresh-picked blackberries and edible flowers were welcome additions as were Mel's homemade granola bars. We were well-fed and reluctant to leave.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Wer didn't see the other rooms but were delighted with the Captain's Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenFredBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Will and Mel are wonderful hosts with a really homey home. And Max the dog was an instant hit with the kids. Breakfast was fantastic and they were kind enough to accommodate our son's allergies. Also one of the few places welcoming to kids in the area. Located just a minute's drive out of the main patch of business in the town, it was a really peaceful spot. I'd highly recommend it. Questions are welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfryyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My 85 year old mother and I had the privledge of staying for 2 nights at the Fisherman's Daughter B&B. Our hosts, Mel and Wil were so engaging and hospitable with my mom. They even asked her to stay on. And Max the dog was great. The B&B was the perfect size to make one feel at home both in the accomodation and the harvest table in the dinning room. The breakfast menu changed ever day with options. One must not forget to leave your request on the dining table the night before or you will get in trouble with the chefs.
On our last day in Mahone Bay, we missed the LCBO by 5 minutes. Mel and Wil invited us to join them on the front lawn to share their homemade organic wine. Mom and I were so touched. We felt like family.

Room Tip: I checked all rooms upstairs, Each was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzieque_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
6.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
248 reviews
6.3 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
308 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Daughter

Property: Fisherman's Daughter
Address: 97 Edgewater Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fisherman's Daughter 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the warm simplicity of a shipwright's heritage home, tucked in between the famous three churches and overlooking Mahone Bay, Have a great sleep in one of four well appointed, en-suite bedrooms. After a healthy breakfast, relax in our garden or take a stroll into town. This is the perfect location from which to explore Nova Scotia's diversified breath-taking South Shore. 45 Mins to Halifax, 40 mins to Peggy's Cove and 15 mins to Lunenburg. Sugar and/or gluten free on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fisherman's Daughter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Daughter Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing