We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahone Bay Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fisherman's Daughter
Ranked #1 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

During a recent road trip to Nova Scotia we decided to stop off in Mahone Bay staying at the Fisherman’s Daughter B&B. From the minute you arrive to the moment you leave Lisa and Bruce Chiasson make you feel like old friends. They help you with your suitcases, show you your room and just incase you’ve forgotten to pack or need something else show you were you can find that too. The property is lovingly decorated from tip to toe with a comfy bed and inviting pillows that provides you with a relaxing soak of sleep.
Breakfast is freshly cooked to each individual guest likes and tastes. Lisa not only bakes her own delicate pastries that simply make you mouth water she serves them to you herself, a personal touch which we really appreciated. Tired from our travels we decided to sit outside the front of the property with a glass of wine and a picnic and were delighted when Bruce and Lisa came to join us. If you want a perfect place to stay while touring Nova Scotia you can’t get better than The Fisherman’s Daughter B&B. A big thank you to Bruce and Lisa you have a place we’d highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2014August
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Both hosts are extremely welcoming, warm and helpful. Lisa is a great cook, very attentive. Full breakfasts included great coffee, fresh made baked parties, accompanied unique, tasty main course. We had scrambled eggs with bacon, herbs and veggies on one day, eggs benedict the next and french toast our third day. All served with orange juice and a delightful fruit/yogurt cup. Room was very comfortable and quiet, beds were very good. Decor was tasteful and fun. So many extras like a glass of port at night and a fridge with drinks, chips and more. Also were very helpful with directions and ideas of where to go. Would highly recommend. Price was incredibly reasonable,The town was more than I was expecting; good restaurants and the sunset boat trip of the harbor we took with South Shore Tours/captain Chris was very informative and restful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Unsurpassed hospitality and cuisine in a warm and cozy heritage home overlooking Mahone Bay, NS. Owners Bruce and Lisa went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. After we accidentally stained their upholstered chair and a pair of our shorts with blueberry, we were put at ease; and not only did they remove the stain from the chair, they also took it out of the shorts! It was totally beyond the call of duty. Meals are superb and guests are invited to help themselves to snacks and sherry if they wish :). Should you forget any toiletries, there's a supply cupboard for guests. They've really thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the McNab room, but all rooms looked equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Fisherman's Daughter is a gem of a place. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters on the main floor (no stairs except for the 2 at the front door!). Beautiful new washroom with large walk in shower and rainhead and a separate claw tub. Beautiful heritage home within walking distance of the town centre. Lisa is a gracious hostess and breakfast was a real treat! A great spot to stay when travelling to Lunenburg, the Blue Rocks, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our children gave us a gift certificate for a night at the Fisherman's Daughter and we used it to visit on our anniversary. The house was beautiful, representative of the older architecture in Mahone Bay and around the coast. Our hosts, Lisa and Bruce were knowledgeable, gracious and friendly. Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom with the large, claw-footed tub was huge. Breakfast was awesome. I think we might be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank newtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceandLisaChiasson, Owner at Fisherman's Daughter, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was so nice to have you stay with us!! What a great gift!! Your kids were so thoughtful!!! We enjoyed our conversations with you two and hope one day the road leads you back here!! Take Good Care! B&L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Fisherman's Daughter was our first experience at a B&B and I have to say I think it will be very hard to top this beautiful place. From the moment we arrived my Wife and I felt welcomed by Lisa and Bruce. We felt as if we were walking through the pages of a magazine as Lisa showed us around, the home is so tastefully decorated. Situated in between two of the three famous churches with a great view of Mahone Bay, it's an easy walk to all the shops an restaurants. Our room was so comfortable and clean, we had a fabulous sleep. In the morning the smell of fresh made apple strudel beckoned us to make our way downstairs. The breakfast was fabulous, Lisa even offered gluten free alternative for my wife. Thanks Lisa and Bruce for being our fist! lol
We will definitely be back some day and be sure to spread the word about your beautiful B&B.

Chris and Eileen

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank crittiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceandLisaChiasson, Owner at Fisherman's Daughter, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you so much for the excellent review. When we opened we wanted to create a B&B that reflected what we think a B&B should be like, or hope to get when we travel. So glad you enjoyed your stay! We loved having you and sharing stories! Hope one day our paths will cross again! Take Good Care B&L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Look no further, this one tops them all! It truly is 10 out of 10!! I like honest reviews so I know where to book our next holiday, and you can trust this to be accurate. My husband and I travel a lot and use B and B's frequently. Europe, Canada and the USA. When we came upon Fishermans Daughter, we hit the jackpot! Super clean, excellent breakfasts, (starts with fresh mixed fruit and then great variety of entrees with the best homemade strudel) great location with water view, comfortable spacious themed rooms with beautiful linens. These hosts make you the priority! They went above and beyond. They treat you like your family and make sure your stay is the best by the offering of evening aperitifs of port or sherry, ensuring you have access to any toiletries you may have forgotten. Having a small cache of snacks and cold water or drinks available 24 hours of the day. Oh and they know the best restaurants and when their local entertainment or markets are going on. Bruce and Lisa....thank you! When guests like us book for 3 nights and then cancel travel plans to stay at Fishermans Daughter for a total of 6 nights, you know you are doing everything right!!! It was a once in a lifetime experience for us!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenCanada2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceandLisaChiasson, Owner at Fisherman's Daughter, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you so much for the review!! We do what we love to do, and because of people like you two, it sure validates the reason we do this! From the moment we met you and your friends we knew that the next days would be entertaining and adventurous! Boy were we right!! Thank you for the laughs and shared stories. We know we will see you two again!!! Hopefully soon!
B&L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
6.2 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
280 reviews
6.3 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn
#3 of 6 in Mahone Bay
103 reviews
6 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Daughter

Address: 97 Edgewater Street, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range: £98 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fisherman's Daughter 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in the warm simplicity of a shipwright's heritage home, tucked in between the famous three churches and overlooking Mahone Bay, Have a great sleep in one of four well appointed, en-suite bedrooms. After a healthy breakfast, relax in our garden or take a stroll into town. This is the perfect location from which to explore Nova Scotia's diversified breath-taking South Shore. 45 Mins to Halifax, 40 mins to Peggy's Cove and 15 mins to Lunenburg. Sugar and/or gluten free on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Fisherman's Daughter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Daughter Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing