We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Denise and John run their lovely B&B with a lot of humour and good advice! I arrived late in the evening, not having booked before and was greeted very cheerful and warm.
In the morning, John brings fresh coffee and a newspaper to the salon, perfect. The internet is fast and reliable, the rooms cosy and very clean.
The porch is the place to be, watching the sailboats in the bay, while hoping that John offers a good glass of wine!

Good food is close, in walking distance. I enjoyed my evening there and was very sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

Lovely old house opposite Mahone Bay in a delightful little village.
John from Liverpool UK, has only been running it since May and doing a great job, wife Denise will join him soon. Very comfy large clean, quiet room with spacious adjoining bathroom. Lounge upsatirs to sit with laptop.
Delicious breakfast, no TV in rooms, but sat in downstairs room to watch the X Factor and John joined me ( I asked him too) we had
a good laugh, he has a wonderful sense of humour. Huge front porch to relax on with a glass on wine. We feel he will do very well with this new adventure.

Room Tip: So far, only one room with ensuite, that will change soon.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GERARD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

A lovely b and b right across from the marina and harbour. Great host, good breakfast, comfy room. I'd definitely recommend it and will return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryRose34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Wonderful little B&B. We stayed at the cottage suite. We are a family of 4 with 2 adults and 2 small children. Owner was fantastic, very helpful and put us at ease.

John, the owner is from the UK... he has a great sense of humor and a fantastic attitude. The view from the front porch is amazing and the breakfast was pretty darn yummy. Would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto_and_beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A friendly and comfortable B & B in a picturesque setting, you will leave feeling completely relaxed and content.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Heart's Desire is located directly across from the marina in Mahone Bay, giving this B&B the best view of any in town from its veranda. The rooms are large, comfortable and nicely appointed. There is even a cottage to rent. The full breakfast is quite nice, with a variety of food to choose from. Tea and coffee are available just about any time. Shops, galleries, restaurants, a pub, a market ... are but a very short walk away, The new Inn Keepers are lovely. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunorRainLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The B&B is so beautiful, the bed was the most comfortable since we left home a week ago. I felt spoiled over the two days we spent in Mahone Bay. John had ice water in our room, coffee in the morning, and the breakfast was wonderfully done. Of all the B&B in Mahone Bay this has the best view of the harbour and right on main street so easy to walk everywhere in town. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mahone Bay.

Room Tip: Clean and comfortable. Excellent value for your money
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellyO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
5.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
332 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
318 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast

Address: 686 Main St | P.O. Box 470, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range: £77 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic four square house built in the early 1900's overlooking the waters of beautiful Mahone Bay. Located steps away from the delightful shops, restaurants and cafes of Mahone Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart's Desire Bed And Breakfast Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing