We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great location - short stroll from town. Lovely home and view from front porch. We had the Bay room which was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was in the hall but bathrobes were provided and the bathroom itself was very clean and large. Breakfast was plentiful. John and Denise, the hosts, were very friendly and helpful. They really made our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totravelagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night here after cycling from Bridgewater. Beautiful location, short walk to the main restaurants and shopping.

The hosts, Denise and John, were awesome! They had a great sense of humour, they were friendly, and they were very helpful.

Breakfast was delicious! Yogurt and fresh fruit with croissants and a variety of local jams. Then eggs, bacon and toast -all cooked to perfection.

The room was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable, bathroom (although separated) was also clean and nice.

This is a beautiful place and an exceptional Bed & Breakfast I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Our two nights at Heart's Desire with John and Denise our hosts was all that we could wish for. Early coffee and tea served on the upper guest lounge before breakfast was such a great treat. Breakfasts were delicious,beautifully cooked and well presented, they had thought of everything. John was ever helpful offering afternoon tea or coffee after a day out also in the evenings. Heart's Desire was in a lovely position overlooking Mahone Bay and a very short walk into the village. John and Denise were really good hosts and good fun. I would truly recommend Heart's Desire

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

What a gem! Friendly, clean, excellent breakfast and friendly hosts. Coffee arrives miraculously at the right time in the morning. The bathroom was delightful. WiFi worked. Comfy bed. Good value and Mahone Bay is so, so beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had a lovely stay with Denise and John, they truly make great hosts! Nice touch bringing up the morning coffee before breakfast, thanks John. Breakfast consisted of yogurt, fruit salad and croissants followed by eggs, bacon and toast, it was all wonderful - I just hope my husband doesn't expect this at home. If we don't become neighbors, we'll be back for a visit. Although a short visit everything was perfect and oh my what a view from the front veranda.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rednog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our weekend at Heart’s Desire was both relaxing and fun. Although this is a relatively new venture for Denise and John, they knew exactly how to make us feel at home.
On our arrival, John welcomed us warmly, insisted on carrying our luggage upstairs for us and offered us afternoon tea. Later on, Denise introduced me to a Wasgij puzzle - Thanks! I’m a big fan, now! - and John showed me a children’s book which mentions their historic home.
Although we had not seen the latest photos at the time of booking, we requested the Queen Room, with the newly added en suite shower. The new bathroom was fantastic! Although small, it was functional, clean and came with toiletries.
Our room did not have a view of the bay, but the chairs on the front verandah provide the ideal spot for boat watching. The marina is directly opposite and the township is an easy stroll away, which means you don’t need your car any time you want to have a meal or wander around the fascinating shops.
John delivers an early morning cup of tea or coffee to the upstairs guest lounge, which also has views of the bay. The delicious and varied breakfasts are certainly enough to set you up for the day.
Mahone Bay is the perfect spot from which to explore the south of Nova Scotia and we can recommend Heart’s Desire as the perfect B and B to use as your base. Try it! You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, NB
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

John & Denise really are the definition of great hosts. Only one night's stay was enough for us to want to rush back when we can. The view is excellent, especially from the spacious verrandah, the shops in town are within walking distance and the coffee and tea that await you in the upstairs sitting area each morning is much appreciated. John and Denise's humour and openess was delightful.
Rooms were spotless, bathroom was spacious and decor is in great taste. Thanks for the delicious breakfast. Until next time......

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WardDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
5.9 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
308 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
248 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mahone Bay Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Fairmont House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Address: 686 Main St | P.O. Box 470, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic four square house built in the early 1900s overlooking beautiful Mahone Bay. Located steps away from the delightful shops, restaurants and cafes of Mahone Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart's Desire Bed And Breakfast Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing