We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable Service.....Amazing Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mateus Bistro

Mateus Bistro
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Mahone Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: NEW OWNER WAS CHEESECAKE GALLERY
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service.....Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

As Bed and Breakfast owners, we have to constantly make referrals for places to eat. We also have to ensure our customers will be happy with our recommendations!! This place is one of our favorites in Mahone Bay!! The ambiance boasts warmth and charm, as do the owners and servers. The food is heavenly! We shared a creamy caesar salad with house smoked bacon chunks and a three cheese fondue with parmesan, asiago and blue cheeses. Amazing combination of flavors. I want to sneak over and peek in the windows of the kitchen to see how they craft this beauty!!! After the appetizers, we shared the Paella...Chef Matt's mouthwatering rendition is comprised of chicken, home made chorizo, mussels and a nice piece of haddock, in a "to die for" saffron arborio rice. It is complimented by sweet pea topping! They have a wonderful selection of wines, and specialty drinks, and even though we were tempted to indulge in desserts, we had no room! Next time we will order dessert first. :) Mateus Bistro also caters to Gluten free, Vegan and Vegetarian diets, and all of their dishes will be sure to please even the most discriminating palate!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    61
    24
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Our inn keeper rec Mateus Bistro and she was on target. The decor fits Mahone Bay and the food and service were outstanding. We lucked out as our visit was on a Monday and this is $5 a glass of any opened wine no matter orig cost. My wife had Cesar Salad and paella and I had the smoked duck as an appetizer and the pecan coated Haddock.
The owner and head chef came by our table to make sure all was as expected as well as chatting with us when we were leaving

Helpful?
Thank 042143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great stop on the Lighthouse Route”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stopped for brunch while driving the Lighthouse Route, and had a lovely meal at Mateus Bistro. I had the smoked duck benny and my partner had the Nova Scotian biscuit (lobster, biscuit, poached eggs, and cheese cream sauce). Mine was good, but his was great. We also shared a small portion of the tasty seafood chowder to start.

Service was friendly, food came quickly, and the bill didn't shock. We felt a bit young for the crowd, but I think we were with the Sunday after-church folk. All in all, a pleasant brunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eating in Mahone Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This restaurant provides a wonderful dining experience. The food is superb & the whole experience is top notch.
There is nothing i could be negative about regarding this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, NS
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening with friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Have eaten here before in the summer out on the deck. Nice surroundings and good food. Had occasion to go out with friends to the Pearl Theatre in Lunenburg, in Feb. (Valentine's week) but had trouble getting a reservation at any of the good spots in Lunenburg so I opted for the Mateus Bistro in Mahone Bay. We had excellent and friendly service. The food was brilliant. We shared the 3 cheese fondue appetizer which , with the house red, was a very nice prequel to dinner. Two of us had the smoked duck breast and two of us had their Saltscapes prize winning stuffed Chorizo. Raves all around. Will be back again before the summer!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickat4main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mateus Bistro also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Mateus Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing