We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A knitters heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Have A Yarn

Have A Yarn
Ranked #4 of 15 Shopping in Mahone Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the beautiful historic town of Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, we are located just off Highway 103, and merely an hour from Halifax! We have a vast collection of yarns, both local and from around the world. Visit our shop to explore our beautiful yarns and meet our friendly staff.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A knitters heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lots and lots of good yarns: wool, silk, linen, cotton and all the other combined things. Plus lots of expert advice about what you should use for whatever it is you want to knit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fredericton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“knitters heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Loved the shop and help. The finished items really sell the yarn. i am starting my shawl with worsted, mohair and silk.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank valerief619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Knit On!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Have a Yarn has moved!!!! They have moved next door into what was the Moorings Gallery....so, more space, more light....MORE YARN.

Great staff, wonderful selection and excellent classes.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ChesterNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great help and working knowledge of product”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

It was a sight for sore eyes when I saw that little sheep on the sign 'Have a Yarn'. And was pleasently surpised when I went in letting them know of my knitting bag being stolen, and needing to start all over again. I am happy to say that I am now on my way to getting my supplies replenished, and working on a new hat for my daughter which is just about complete. As I am a self proclaimed yarn snob I will not buy just any yarn. Only that of a high quality from a location such as Have a Yarn. Great work ladies! Keep it up!

Sincerely, Tabetha

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tabetha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great service and advice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I'm just getting started with knitting and couldn't be more pleased with the service at this shop. I purchased a knitting kit to make a lovely scarf - maybe I'll have it done just in time for the fall colours. Looked like a great selection for all skill levels.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank faunaandflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Have A Yarn also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Have A Yarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing