We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Entry Point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayview Pines Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Mahone Bay B&B and Inns
Folly Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Entry Point”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Mahone Bay proved to be a great entry point for our ten days in Nova Scotia. Bayview Pines was our start night and the lovely setting peaked our excitement of the trip. The place is run by a couple of English expats who understand what a good breakfast is and have knowledge of the area to provide travel and see tips. Story book grounds in a rural fishing community, close to the small town of Mahone Bay with its own points of interest.
July can be warm even in Nova Scotia so next time we will want a room with cross ventilation but the fan was adequate for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Cross ventilation in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

What lovely accomadations with even nicer owners. If you need a place to stay they offer apartment suites or bedrooms, all with private baths. You must have the breakfast in the morning~$10 which is a great deal.Quiet location with a great views of Mahone Bay. The couple even offered up their personal fishing rods to take to the warft. Two thumbs way up!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBlizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

In gorgeous Mahone Bay, west of Halifax in southern Nova Scotia, owned by British couple Joanna and Chris. We enjoyed a spacious apartment, excellent breakfasts, and beautiful grounds well-maintained. Jo and Chris were great at recommending local sites, including Kejimkujik Nat'l Park an hour west on the coast, and we also enjoyed the village of Mahone Bay and just driving around this beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNealsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our stay was fantastic at this clean, well maintained & managed property. The one bedroom Loft apartment with King size bed had wonderful views & salty ocean breezes. The kitchen was basic & effective. Tasteful country furnishings & lighting but, the TV needs modernizing. Not that you use it much.
The two property buildings sit on the top of a ridge overlooking part of the mouth of Mahone Bay. Perched about midway to Indian Point its an Amazing Oceanside retreat. The road itself is a great roller coaster ocean drive with fantastic marine views at every turn. Go slow. The Breakfast room was so bright, comfortable & fresh & we heard the breakfasts where great but, gluten issues limit my breakfast options lately however, our kitchen covered our needs in the am. Also, Enjoyed the two roaming Chickens, the Outhouse Phone Booth & the massive fields to explore with our dog, which was allowed. English country charm in Nova Scotia at every turn with Ocean Breezes & Views! I want to go back in October. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a lovely property with well maintained grounds and rooms. Breakfast was delicious and the owners, Joanna & Chris make you feel like family. It is located close to Mahone Bay and sits atop of a hill overlooking Mahone Bay. We will definitely be back again. Kudos to Jaonna, Chris and Bev.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Jo and Chris who made us feel very comfortable. Next to giving us the opportunity to enjoy their spotless and very well kept wonderful property with excellent views of the ocean, mini beach, lots of lawn space around the house and private deck space, they provided us with useful information for a lovely sandy beach as well as the places to see or where to eat. Near by Mahone Bay has a number of lovely restaurants and cafés.
Jo and Chris accommodated us also in the public parts of their property on the afternoon of our midnight fight back to London which we highly appreciated.
Overall a most enjoyable stay and we would like to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoGrimns, Owner at Bayview Pines Country Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you Ursula; it was a pleasure to have you staying with us....we have had quite a few folks travelling from Switzerland this year and everyone certainly enjoys our ocean views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Cozy and comfortable with an extrordinary view! The Grimley's go out of their way to make you feel at home! Rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast keeps you going 'til dinnner. The grounds are spectacular, so do walk around. Peaceful and serene local. I booked a stay for the fall before I left!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahone Bay
5.5 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
317 reviews
5.5 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fisherman's Daughter
Fisherman's Daughter
#1 of 6 in Mahone Bay
173 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Heart's Desire Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Pines Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Pines Country Inn

Property: Bayview Pines Country Inn
Address: 678 Oakland Rd | Indian Point, Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia B0J 2E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Mahone Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mahone Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Pines Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Convenience of an Inn, Charm of a B&B" A charming century old farmhouse enjoys panoramic views over the ocean and islands of Mahone Bay. With 14 acres of pasture and woodland this is a beautiful peaceful retreat. Lovely individually furnished rooms with balconies and decks to enjoy. Wonderful sunny breakfast room with ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Pines Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Mahone Bay
Mahone Bay Country Inn
Bayview Pines Country Inn Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing