We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Close to everything.”
Review of Tara Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at this Motel it was a great value, Very nice property, very clean and great value. Walking distance to a large Sunday Rummage Sale located across the street. Will stay again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: There is a Grave Yard Located behind some of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB-Travel-Guy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Practical, comfortable, convenient. This was booked for me by a colleague who knows that my travel priority, when on business, is a good sleep with reliable internet and breakfast ready early. Tara was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beds were terribly hard...confusing about the bill part, was charged extra for a delux room when economy room was requested, was charged a pet fee without notification of such....when I called about it, no apology was offered.. Little disappointed in the treatment I received from the management...I have stayed at this hotel every year in the past...will be checking around for another hotel next year though....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 55Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A pleasant surprise. A lovely quaint, homey motel with recent upgrades. For a budget price I got a beautiful room with windows on 2 sides allowing a nice cross breeze. Upgraded bathroom all shiny and bright. Bonus...free continental breakfast self-serve!
Cheryl and staff are super friendly and helpful. They even lent me some dishes to use in the microwave in my room. Great people....great location....very clean...what's not to like?
I will be staying an extra couple of days while I enjoy the lovely town of New Glasgow and area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

At the end of the day it's nice to have a quiet evening in a comfy room. A friendly staff was accommodating with a late check-in and you can drive right to your door. The self serve continental breakfast was the perfect way to start the day. All and all a very pleasant stay..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank almac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The location is great and I found the staff to be very friendly. Our room was good value, as well as being clean and comfortable. It offered all the necessities, including Wi-Fi. It's a great place to stay if you are taking in some of the local points of interest or passing through on business.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed there the weekend of her wedding in New Glasgow. We had the whole top floor above the office, it was very spacious and modern, we had more than enough room for all our friends and family who dropped in for a visit. Since then whenever any of the family are in New Glasgow for a function, we always book our rooms at the Tara Inn, the prices are very reasonable, clean, modern rooms, lots of parking , green area for the kids to play, close to all amenities and the staff are wonderful. We would not think of staying anywhere else when we visit Pictou County.

Room Tip: I have stayed in various rooms and I cannot say one is better than the other but one suggestion I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BScott412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
107 reviews
1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Inn

Address: 917 East River Rd | New Glasgow, N.S., New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 3S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tara Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Inn has 32 drive-up units and one two bedroom suite. Complimentary continental breakfast and high speed internet. Quality rooms at a comfortable price. Canada Select 3 Stars. All rooms non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Tara Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Inn New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing