We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night's stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Plaster Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good night's stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Typical Comfort Inn from the outside, but with the added bonus of being totally renovated inside, clean, quiet, comfortable. Front desk clerk gave us the name of a great family restaurant for home style fish and chips. One of the best and most reasonably priced meals that we have had on this trip. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Carol J,

It was a pleasure to read your review of our newly renovated Comfort Inn New Glasgow, and we are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and found a great meal!

I hope we can be of service to you again!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    41
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
32
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
738 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here one night on trip back to USA from Cape Breton. Easy off Interstate. Sits next to Travelodge. Next to hotel is Tim Hortons/Wendys. Across the street is Burger King. One block north is Swiss Chalet (chicken oriented meals). Across the street and up the hill is a Walmart. All these are walking distance. A few blocks down (north) is a Super Store Gas station. Hotel described itself as newly renovated. It does look like rooms (carpet, furniture and halls have been renovated. Very clean room. Lobby is small as is breakfast area. No pool. No fitness center. No carts to help you move luggage to rooms. Two floors. We had a two queen bed room and it was small but equiped with the normal things for a Comfort Inn (large work desk and chair, mini-fridge, microwave sitting on top of mini-fridge, side chair, small dresser with flat screen TV. Bathrooms were modern but vanity was very small. Tub/shower. I gave it a very good rating based on remodel, location, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don49680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Don49680,

Thank you for choosing to stop in and stay with us at Comfort Inn on your return drive from Cape Breton. We are happy to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and we are appreciative of the recommendation you have given us. Thanks for letting future travelers know about our great location! Hope to see you on your next visit to Canada!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! Friendly staff, epic breakfast, newly renovated. Quiet, big, clean rooms. Definitely am going to stay hear again when in the area. Perfect location: right off highway beside a Tim Hortons and restaurant and shopping mall.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank justin_laing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear justin_laing,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us here at the Comfort Inn New Glasgow. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate hearing all of your wonderful comments about our product, staff, and location!

Many thanks and we hope that we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel sits very close to highway, stores and the town. It is right beside a Wendy's /Tim Hortons combo. While the setting is not pretty by all means, this is a great example of what a well managed hotel should be like. The secret lies in the details, and there are many signs that someone is putting a lot of thought into running this hotel. Spotless clean too, from the flower beds over the room to the breakfast area. Staff is very pleasant and everyone greets you with a smile. Julie the front desk manager is a role model for her profession : she made me very much appreciated and welcome, and checked me in in a very friendly way. Very courteous!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back, should be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocea_nixe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Halifaxnixe,

We were delighted to read your review and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind comments and praise of the team here at the Comfort Inn New Glasgow and for Julie in particular. (We think she is fantastic too!)

Your compliments are indeed a great motivation to continue to strive to offer exceptional service and quality.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stay at this Comfort Inn on a regular basis for the past two years. The inn has been recently renovated and is exceptionally clean and new. Wonderful staff!!! The best! Friendly and accommodating.
There is a coffee shop next door and other restaurants as well as a mall across the road.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ebiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear cbgirlns,

Many thanks for your kind review and for being a regular guest of Comfort Inn. We truly appreciate your loyalty and the time taken to share your experience.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Glasgow!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed there a couple of time for business. The hotel was entirely renovated (hallways, rooms, common areas) and is a big notch above competition (Holiday Inn Express) in regards to the finishes, cleanliness and comfort. The breakfast area is nice and the food quality is also above the competition. You always have eggs and meat (saussage or bacon) and you have a selfserve waffle station. Coffee was excellent.

There are still improvements to do such as:

- Wi-fi capacity is not sufficient. At night wi-fi is unavailable because too many users are trying to connect and those who connect have no bandwith. This is 2013, everybody have devices using wi-fi, hotels should update their connection to meet the demand.

- There are no sheer drapes on the 2nd floor windows. This is strange as most rooms face a parking lot and if you want day light, you have to open night curtains and then everyone see directly in the room. It lacks privacy.

- The room is heated/cooled using an in-wall unit that has no shut-off thermostat. This means the unit runs constantly. It's noisy and I had a difficult time to sleep because of this. There should be a wall thermostat installed to turn the unit off once the set temperature is reached.

- Microwave: Not all rooms have micro-wave and those who have one, it's pretty old and doesn't work well. A decent quality microwave cost 86$ at Walmart. It's worth the investment to put a good one in all rooms that have a fridge.


So bottom line, everything is brand new in this hotel, why skimp on drapes and micro-waves that cost nothing ? Fix that and the wi-fi and thermostat issues and you will be #1 for business travellers in the region by far.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor as parking is next to each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IceMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear IceMtl,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn New Glasgow. We truly appreciate hearing your comments and suggestions as it is through such feedback that we are able to work towards providing every guest with a great experience. We will continue to work on the items you mentioned and thank you again for the wonderful compliments.

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Wow a pleasant stay. I was greeted as a points collector, given a bottle of water, and headed up through the newly renovated halls to my spotless room. There was a paper at my door in the morning, a hot breakfast downstairs, and checking out was the easiest process ever. The staff are extremely pleasant and made for an even more comfortable stay. Definitely a flagship of this chain, and hopefully more will receive this kind of renovation. Great job :)

Room Tip: I was on the second floor, facing the road but it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane M, General Manager at Comfort Inn - New Glasgow, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear CrownVictoria,

Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn New Glasgow and for taking the time to post a review. It is a pleasure for our team to read your review and know that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Diane Mahar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
1.2 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
7.1 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#7 of 12 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
7.4 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - New Glasgow

Property: Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Address: 740 Westville Rd, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia B2H 2J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > New Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn New Glasgow is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking-all with the same great award-winning hospitality. Comfort Inn New Glasgow is a recipient of Choice Hotel's 2014 Gold Award. Centrally located within Pictou County, it is an ideal location for both business and leisure travellers visiting New Glasgow, Stellarton, Westville, Trenton or Pictou. The Northumberland Ferry to P.E.I. Is just a short drive away. Newly renovated rooms feature flat screen TVs and mini-fridges. Hotel features include free hot breakfast, morning newspaper and free high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn - New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Hotel New Glasgow
New Glasgow Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing