We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Nice!!”
Review of Riverview Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parrsboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverview Cottages
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed at the Riverview Cottages for 11 days and loved it. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They enquired many times if we had everything that we needed. The cottages are rustic and so charming. We really enjoyed our time there and relaxed. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in these very same cottages over 15 years ago! They haven't changed - which is exactly how we want it to stay. If you're looking for luxurious, this isn't it. If you're looking for rustic, central to all things Parrsboro and 5 Islands, clean and well appointed. this place is for you. You can choose the cabin that suits your needs - 1, 2, 4, or 5 beds. Owners were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

great place for kids. the cottages were spotless yet simple and rustic with woodstoves for heat. there is a play area for kids and a river they can explore in the backyard. the prices are a steal at 90$ a night. parrsboro itself is small but very beautiful. i highly recomend this place for families traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkrh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked our cabins with the previous owners over a year ago as we were planning a family reunion. Once the new owners came on board we discussed that we wanted as many of the cabins as possible - so we were able to secure 7 cabins for about 20 people and 4 dogs. Everyone stayed a minimum of 2 nights with half of us staying 5-7 days.

When we discussed our plans with the new owners back in April 2012. They were aware that we were a large group, that we wanted to be able to put the children to bed and stay up with the adults and socialize with our family we only get to see every few years. They assured us that they planned on putting in fire pits and that this would not be a problem. Family travelled from around North America to come to this reunion.

When we arrived we find multiple signs all over the place stating 11pm quiet time. The signs say noise after 11pm police will be called, this is your final warning and so on. We also found out that there were no fire pits built. We offered to buy a stand alone movable pit to use during out stay and that we would leave it. We were given a firm/rude "no".

The quiet time is more like a curfew. At 10:55 each night the owners come around and ask you to go into your cabins. The cabins are rustic, which I like, but there is no insulation for noise so when 15 people are crowded into one cabin to visit, it get noisy. If there had been fire pits away from the cabins, we would have happily hung out there.

There were also a number of instances where they said rude/strange things to members of our group. They definitely lack customer service skills and they customer is not always right. Here are some examples:

1. Family with two kids drives into the cabins and asks "where is the office?" Answer: "Didn't you see the signs???"
2. For two groups of people when they arrived from long distances in the early afternoon, they were made to wait for the 3pm check in time even though their cabins were completely ready. This meant a mom and two kids under 4 napped in their car in the heat.
3. Husband arrives a day later than his wife. Comment from owners "well check in isn't until 3pm - why are you here???" His wife had checked in the day before so it wasn't an issue so then they said "Those dogs better be friendly - we have guests who are afraid of dogs." They website clearly states pet friendly and we all called and made sure they knew we were bringing dogs.

We had previously thought we might book the whole complex for the next reunion weekend n 2 years. After the way we were all treated we will be looking elsewhere. The cottages themselves are great - very rustic but charming unto themselves. Very much unlike the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeltieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were less than impressed with the staff's friendliness- left a lot to be desired. There were no "Welcome visitors" or "Thanks for staying with us" comments during check in or check out or any time during the weekend for that matter. Was told our cabin wasn't ready when we arrived (which we are aware was a few hours before official check in time) but during the 2-3hr wait time they never entered the cabin once to get it ready (seemed to me like it was ready all along?!) Not sure what that was all about?! The cabins-- not COTTAGES need a lot of TLC! A fresh coat of paint would do wonders; cabins look almost dumpy. No firepits and a very STRICT 11pm bedtime is enforced.Prices are on par with the state of the cabins. Although, close to downtown Parrsboro and the surrounding area ammenities I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottieDog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Had a wonderful stay. Cabin was clean and cozy. Staff was wonderful. Definitly going to return next year for a longer stay. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaScotiaCabingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parrsboro
23.8 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
332 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Maple Inn
The Maple Inn
#2 of 7 in Parrsboro
155 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sunshine Inn
The Sunshine Inn
#1 of 1 in Parrsboro
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
The Parrsboro Mansion Inn
#1 of 7 in Parrsboro
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gillespie House Inn
Gillespie House Inn
#3 of 7 in Parrsboro
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Evangeline's Tower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Cottages

Address: 3575 Eastern Ave | P.O. Box 71, Parrsboro, Nova Scotia B0M 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Parrsboro
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Parrsboro
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Riverview Cottages Parrsboro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing