We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BlackRock Bistro

BlackRock Bistro
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Parrsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A quick, afforable and Delicious "Farm to table" catering service
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“High Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The upmarket option in Parrsboro, we booked for 7.45 and were the last to leave - the locals were packing the place out at 6pm. I had two starters as I wanted chowder and scallops and they weren't on as mains, nice glass of Canadian Reisling and a dessert.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at BlackRock Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    41
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotttetown
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Tried several restaurants in Parrsboro, BlackRock was good but not great. The service was excellent the atmosphere great and the food presentation excellent. Unfortunately the pasta which was presented as a sweet potato based was lacking in taste. The crusted pork loin was very good.
While not a big deal in the scheme of things the tea which was ordered was a tea bag in a cup, not what you would expect from a higher end Bristol. Overall we were pleased just couldn't give them an excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Hello Duncan,

Our pastas are house made fresh each day. The sweet potato pasta has sweet potato puree blended into the pasta and was intended to be delicately flavoured, perhaps too delicately for your palate. As you noted it should be and is our policy to serve tea in a pot, not certain what happened when you were here, but thank you for bringing this to my attention so we could remind our servers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The food was excellent.Well prepared,beautiful presentation and so tasty. Good portion size. Service was great. Prices good. We went before the theatre,and had plenty of time to enjoy the meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Hi Ann,

Glad you enjoyed your meal and hope you also enjoyed the play at Ship's Company Theatre.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrsboro, Canada
1 review
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

BlackRock Bistro is very modern, trendy restaurant, with great food and excellent service. We enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Hello Mirka,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal experience at BlackRock Bistro. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raamsdonksveer
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent use of fresh herbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had already read the good reviews of this restaurant on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.
For mains I had the special of the day, which were lamb chops and the herbs on that were really making the difference.
Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
We would certainly recommend this place!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank IngridT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at BlackRock Bistro, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at our Bistro. Our chef has trained at the Canadian Culinary Institute where he learned to work with a wide variety of herbs and spices. The fresh herbs came from local gardeners.

Thanks, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BlackRock Bistro also viewed

 
Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia
 

Been to BlackRock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing