We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cove Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hebridean Motel(Port Hood)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair Isle Motel(Whycocomagh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
72
54
32
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
54
32
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape bretoncabot trailbeautiful viewseafoodrestaurant mealquiet spotwine glassesattached restaurantfamily weddingportion sizeone night staycausewaycabinbuoysaccommodationsroomycanada
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Restaurant was very good, Restaurant service was excellent. The Cottage was clean but much to dark. It was finished all in wood. a little paint wouldn't have hurt. The wireless internet service was totally useless.

Room Tip: Chose cottage 230 - 232 to be close to the tiny beach.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieMNoseworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Owner at Cove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi, Charlie.

I'm glad you enjoyed our restaurant, and sorry that our internet service was unsatisfactory.

Due to our location off the mainland, we do not have fiber optic internet available to us, and we get our internet signal via satellite. It is generally quite reliable (we run a speed test twice daily to verify the quality of our connection), but very occasionally the incoming signal is unavailable due to factors beyond our control. We have a backup signal that can be patched in if we are made aware of such a service interruption.

We have added several routers and long-range antennas since the beginning of the year, and are doing our best to spread the signal across 7 acres. We will install a wireless bridge and antenna to boost the signal to cabin 232 and the beach/dock area in the next week, and make every effort to ensure that the signal is just as good there as it is in the office.

We are new owners, and appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us, and all the best in your future travels!

Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Location was great with amazing view. Room was a good size and had ironing board, fridge and hair dryer. Only complaint was the room has a musty smell. But once we opened the window it went away. Found the price a little high for the basic room (other similar motels had a small breakfast included for the same price), but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The motel has no negatives. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the internet connection was stable - everything worked like it should. No, it is not a luxury resort -- it is a basic drive up motel -- excellently located on the shore -- with back to back rooms. Yet, a fine place to stay. The nice part is the very good restaurant associated with the motel -- a great food, open and airy feel, food nicely prepared and pleasantly served, a decent choice of wines. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Beautiful location, surrounded by water views in a quiet spot off the main road. Motel rooms are "average" but bathroom and carpet seemed relatively newly renovated. Clean and comfortable beds. Restaurant meal and bar were excellent and located on waterfront, offering a relaxed atmosphere. The décor in rooms and restaurant are dated but the friendly service and good food makes up for it. We found ourselves in a real pinch when our booked accommodations were suddenly not available in Arichat ( about 45 minutes away)and EVERYTHING was booked in Cape Breton due to the Celtic Colours Festival so we were pleasantly surprised to find this little gem near the Canso Causeway. The staff could not have been friendlier! We all agreed that we would return.If you're looking for "luxury", keep looking but if you just want a quick overnight stop with no frills this is the spot. I didn't think to take pictures as we were exhausted and just glad to have a place to stay for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here for a weekend in september and must rate this place as poor- average. Actually giving it an average rating would be a bit generous. I understand that I'm not in a big city and that this is a small town without any luxury hotels or even chain hotels but that still doesn't excuse the cove to be charging as much as they do and providing an extremely dated and not very clean rooms.
The super old musty smell was quite strong when I first entered my room. The bathroom faucets and corners were either very old or not cleaned well.. Either way, I didn't want to touch it. The sheets and the bedding were also very very old. I can get over the old carpeting and the furniture but if you're charging people good money (for the area), then I expect cleanliness and at least towels and blankets that aren't super old and looking a bit dirty.
I suggest looking for a b&b with a great rating rather than to go here. They are correct in calling this a motel- it definitely is a motel from the 80's.
oh. ps. I was there for three days and there was no turndown or new towels given.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mardy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Owner at Cove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Hi, Mardy.

Thanks very much for your specific and useful feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to do a better job making our guests comfortable.

Experiencing a musty smell or a room that is not clean is unacceptable.

We will be implementing policies for the upcoming year to ensure that your concerns are addressed. We believe and hope that most of our guests had a clean room and refreshing stay, but we want to make sure that every guest leaves happy, and we're sorry to have disappointed you.

Please feel free to send us a message on our website. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally about your stay, and I hope that we can provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations next time you are visiting Nova Scotia.

Warm Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews