We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Port Hood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a family owned business priding ourselves on fresh local cuisine at an affordable price. Our modern inviting setting includes a deck with an ocean view. We feature many seafood options as well as daily lunch and dinner specials, Steak 'n Stein, Ladies' Night, breakfast on Sundays, cocktails, local beer on tap and so much more. Local musicians perform on stage on a regular basis.
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I experience the best deep fried fish ever. Not only was it gluten free, it was cooked to perfection and served with the most mouth watering homemade tarter sauce.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Campbell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Best clove hitch burger ever”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I ate at the hitch yesterday and today- both meals were exceptional! I had the clove hitch burger and the California crab sandwich with ceased salad.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Campbell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Port Hood has had all kinds of restaurants over the years, none have really ever made a lasting impression on the town or the tourists on the way through. The CH just might. I agree with another reviewers comments of clean and modern. The food was good, the service was good, the desserts were just excellent. And the location I think is the real gem in all this, it's right on the way through, and you can see the island and the beach through the window. I think they got it right ;).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jon_beks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Because the restaurant was very busy because of Chestico days, causing somewhat slow service , we enjoyed our evening at this restaurant. We ordered the seafood pasta and found it excellent-. It was filled with a generous serving of seafood and the sauce was delicious. We felt that a meal like this would have cost much more had it been in a major centre! We also enjoyed the live entertainment with a fiddler , keyboard, and vocals. All in all we were pleasantly surprised with our experience at the Clove Hitch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere with excellent food”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

For the last 2 years we spent 2 weeks each year in Port Hood and during that time we frequently had dinner at the Clove Hitch. Two things come to mind, excellent food and service. The specials are the way to go, with creative chef quality fresh food. If you don't like the special than order the seafood linguini. Do NOT order the fish 'n chips. The staff are true to Cape Breton, offering a very friendly and efficient service. Prices are reasonable. Gift shop next door is a must for tourists.

Helpful?
Thank 971duncanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia v, Owner at Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I am so happy to hear feedback from returning customers. Your disappointing experience with the fish and chips is concerning to me. If we fell short of our high standard on that particular day, I apologize and hope that you were able to relay this to staff and they responded to your needs in an appropriate manner. We will continue to strive for excellence with our food quality and service and look forward to the opportunity for us to serve you again in 2014!
Thank you for your business and your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro also viewed

Mabou, Cape Breton Island
Inverness, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Clove Hitch Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing