We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of no where on the way to Cape Breton.”

Sandeannie's Bakery and Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Port Hood
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Sandeannie's is a feeling of home as you walk through the door and experience the subtle smells of home baking.You just want to relax with a friend and enjoy a breakfast or something from our lunch menu or maybe just a little something sweet.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In the middle of no where on the way to Cape Breton.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Awesome apple pastry from the bake shop! I had a good grilled haddock filet with a salad. This place exceeded my expectations. Super clean and friendly. There are many tempting treats. The restaurant was packed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooking at very fair prices”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I recently spent two vacation days in Port Hood, home of the loveliest and longest beaches in all of Atlantic Canada, but its restaurant selection is decidely limited. Having suffered through the slow service at the Clove Hitch, I wasn't going to go back unless I had to. So I went to Sandeannie's and was very pleased with everything I ordered:" tasty fried clams and a fine Caesar salad, delivered with fine, courteous, punctual service. I would definitely go back, which I won't do at the Clove Hitch until I read here that its service has improved.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieNyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Island's Best Porridge Bread”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Sandeannie's has lots of delicious treats to temp you and a nice lunch menu, but for us the reason we stop is to pick-up a supply of their Porridge Bread. We've scoured the island in search of the best and this is it. For those that don't know what it is, it's a popular island bread used for sandwiches, toast , dinner. Similar to brown bread, but not as heavy and oh so much tastier.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotia552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandeannies, Owner at Sandeannie's Bakery and Tea Room, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I would like to say Thank You to those of you who visited sandeannie's and gave thier review which were all very positive ...thank you and may you all have a great visit to our area...without you we would not be here.....Deannie Rankin Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, a little pricy”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed breakfast at Sandeannie's on several occasions while in Cape Breton. The food quality is consistently great, but the price is a little high. Be sure to check out the amazing local photos on the wall and their for sale. Very friendly staff and comfortable environment.

Helpful?
Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Welcoming and clean. We had bacon and eggs and a breakfast sandwich. Food very tasty and good value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lillytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandeannie's Bakery and Tea Room also viewed

Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
Mabou, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
Port Hood, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Sandeannie's Bakery and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing