We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz but a nice clean comfortable place”
Review of Balmoral Motel

Balmoral Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmoral Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tatamagouche
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz but a nice clean comfortable place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed there for a family wedding in the area. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The free breakfast was good but always the same so if staying any length of time you will tire of it. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 404Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

OK, a little bit old style furniture but friendly owners, clean rooms. Good WiFi strength in the room. Nice view over the water behind the motel. Good breakfast with scrambled eggs and bacon, white or brown toast, apple or orange juice with tea or coffee. There is a washing machine available so you can wash your clothes but only available until the reception closes. The room was cold upon arrival (below 10 degrees) because they weren't expecting any more guests. Heater works fine but takes a very long time to warm up. Plenty of blankets so warm enough during the night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Balmoral Motel offers a very convenient and comfortable place to stay in Tatamagouche. The room was spacious and clean with a lovely view out the back. I really appreciated the fact that there was no carpeting :) The staff are friendly and courteous and take great pride in their business.
As notes for travelers, there is no air conditioning, mini-fridge or microwave or even a small coffee maker in the room so a prolonged stay might prove a tad more inconvenient. That being noted, the motel offers free laundry room usage, free long distance to anywhere in North America, a newspaper at your door in the morning and a hot breakfast (which, while appreciated, offers no alternative options for those with specific dietary needs or restrictions.- bacon, eggs, toast are fine for most but for vegans or people with cholesterol reducing diets, this may be a concern). There are numerous small restaurants in the community as well as a Robin`s Donuts up the road and a Foodland grocery store across the street so the location is convenient and there are ample amenities to make a short term stay both reasonable and pleasant.

Room Tip: There is a small breeze-way between rooms 10 and 11 so, for the traveler looking for a bit more quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The people who run this motel are very accommodating and the breakfast is great. We did, however, find the rooms to be very basic and there was no air conditioning, which didn't help us sleep well. There is a small tv and no fridge in the room. There is plentiful supplies of ice and laundry onsite, Not a bad place to stay if you have the right expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammitravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent a night here during the long weekend because of the easy access to different beaches in the surrounding areas. I was so pleasantly surprised when we walked in our room. It was fresh, clean and nicely decorated. The floor was beautiful and the beds were comfy and clean. The room was a good size and it even had a view of the water behind it. The bathroom was suffiecient and again, very clean. The neatest thing was that you could call anywhere in North America for no charge! I called a few family mambers in the States to say hi and just because I could! We got a free newspaper at our door and the breakfast the next morning was ok. The sit down FREE breakfast was ok, there is no choice, just a plate of 2 sausage, scrambled eggs and frozen homefries. No toast or english muffins or fruit. But whatever right? It was free.
This hotel is good value. It's across the street from the grocery store, liquor store and food bus. Close enough to walk to attractions in Tata.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
TIP: Really needs a mini fridge but we were provided with buckets of ice in the lobby by just asking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

As other reviewers have said, this motel is clean, quiet, has a great view, comfortable beds, free long distance anywhere in North America, friendly housekeeping staff, breakfast included, and is generally well-run. Will definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Dia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pictou, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

this property is very clean and the beds are new i do believe they are pillow top and very comfortable.A full Breakfast is also included in your stay
A big bonus for this property is that they have free long distance i believe anywhere in Canada.I enjoyed my stay,all rooms are non-smoking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NSAdventureSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatamagouche
24.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#5 of 8 in Truro
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Train Station Inn
Train Station Inn
#1 of 6 in Tatamagouche
198 reviews
12.4 mi away
Fox Harb'r Resort
Fox Harb'r Resort
#1 of 1 in Wallace
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Dolan's Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Tatamagouche
3 reviews
4.0 mi away
No photo provided
MeHomeBy Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Tatamagouche
2 reviews
11.2 mi away
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Jubilee Cottage Inn
#1 of 1 in Wallace
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Motel

Property: Balmoral Motel
Address: 131 Main St., Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Tatamagouche
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tatamagouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Motel Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing