We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thoroughly enjoyed the inn and hope to return.”
Review of Train Station Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Train Station Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Tatamagouche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We were intrigued with the idea of staying in a caboose for vacation, so we tried it! There are several cabooses that have been converted into lodging. The one we stayed in, number 10, had a sitting area, a kitchenette (minus an oven), a bedroom, bath, and the upper part of the caboose had a small table and two chairs. You could sit up there and admire the view. The staff was exceptional, and the food was very good. There is a train on the premises that offers dinner service, and the food is really outstanding. We would highly recommend this offbeat inn for a fun and unusual vacation.

Room Tip: Make reservations, since they fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greydeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrainStationInn, General Manager at Train Station Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Thanks so much, hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

Fortunately we only had one night at The Train Station. We stayed in the station house. The bed was rock hard and sheets tired and dated looking and extremely scratchy. We put the ceiling fan on and sparks came from the light fitting so we quickly switched it off again. It was impossible to sleep, we ended up having a really bad night. We ate in the rail car and the food was reasonable - good job because there was really very little else around. There was a nice walk along the old railway track, but that did not make up for the poor accommodation. We did stay for breakfast, and this was in the main station house - to be honest the place was just covered in dust, dark and dingy. We made a pretty hasty retreat and moved on to our next destination - luckily our next hotel took pity on us and let us check in early so that we could have a shower there - the shower and toilet at The Train Station was a dark pokey cupboard. For the cost it's definitely not worth the money - give it a miss if you want a decent night's sleep and move on!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrainStationInn, General Manager at Train Station Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us,

Being privately owned we are faced with some hard decisions on where to focus our efforts as we cannot do everything at once. Unfortunately the rooms in the inn may have taken a bit of back seat lately as everyone wants to stay in the railway cars.
Not to fret, your concerns have not gone unnoticed and we have been listening. Since your visit we have completely renovated the cafe where you had your breakfast and we can assure you it is no longer "dark and dingy" however we did keep the railway memorabilia guests have donated to us over the years for display on the walls (but we did bring it down for a good cleaning as well). We have made upgrades to the rooms in the inn also and have made plans for renovations starting right away and hopefully completed this winter as we are able.
We do apologize for taking so long in responding but we did want to finish some of our renovations so we could assure you we HAVE been listening and we DID make changes and will continue to. We truly do need the feedback to keep us on our toes...when we are good and bad. We hope you will give us another chance and visit us again, come see our changes, and maybe this time spend a night in one of our railway cars.

Thank You,

TSI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

My second visit to this wonderful inn was to be a 2 night stay with my wife and 2 friends. We checked in and had a wonderful meal in the dining car. Shortly after dinner my wife retired to our car saying she was not feeling well. I followed shortly thereafter and we went to sleep. About an hour and a half later I awoke with my wife calling for me. She was in the washroom in excruciating pain. I took her to the hospital and they called an ambulance to take her to Truro. I came back to Tatamagouche in the morning and explained what had happened. I was released from my next nights reservation and was treated extremely kindly by all staff that I dealt with. My wife spent 10 days in Truro hospital and then 20 days in the hospital here at home after being flown home. She finally had surgery in November and still has a bit to go for a complete recovery. Having said all that we are looking forward to our next visit and stay at the Train Station Inn.....whenever that might be!!!!

Larry Pratt
Hamilton, Ontario

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We have stayed at the Train Station in 5 times while making autumn trips from Halifax to PEI. It's a beautiful area and a unique experience. Jimmy clearly loves his place and shares his knowledge of the railway history and area. Reservations by internet are easy to make and Jimmy has always answered any questions I sent by e-mail quickly.
We have stayed in different cabooses each time and each has its benefits. Our dinners have always been excellent with wonderful soup, excellent entrees and tempting desserts. A walk along the old rail line into town is usually mandatory after their hearty meals.
We were very disappointed with the restaurant up the road from the station once when the Inn's dining car was not open (it's seasonal). Locals and tourists not staying here often eat in the dining car and/or breakfast area as well because of the quality and atmosphere. We have had some wonderful discussions with other tourists and locals there. The former private car attached to the diner is another great lounge area to relax and chat. We are usually tempted to eat lightly at breakfast but the smell of fresh blueberry pancakes or french toast in the breakfast room is always too much to resist. The souvenir shop is well-stocked and the breakfast area is a museum featuring the rail history of the area.
A stop at the Train Station Inn is mandatory for our road trips is the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donald589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Enjoyed a restful night in the Caboose and a scrumptious dinner in the dining car. Planked salmon and Lobster Pot Pie both delicious. A fun night and a great atmosphere, everything you could need.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

It was a special experience indeed, the room decor was very natural, and had railroading pictures on the wall. The shower had the best water pressure i had experience in a hotel-type setting. The staff was extremely helpful, considerate and easy to access. The owner made it a point to greet visitors at breakfast, and the food was delicious. It is centrally located so that either Amherst or Pictou areas are easy drives.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashingDanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We were not sure what to expect when we booked. We were afraid that it might be "cheesy". We were wrong. The atmosphere was wonderful - the owners' love of trains and everything railway came through. We had caboose #5 for our room. There was an ensuite with a tub, a queen size bed and we were able to climb up into the cuppola (upper viewing area) to read and access the wifi. Funishings were comfortable and period. When we arrived on a hot summer day we were pleased to find that the car had air conditioning - something the crews never had. We also had a fridge and coffee maker.
We had our breakfast in the old train station. Continental breakfast was included but there was a small extra charge if you wanted a hot breakfast. It was worth it to have fresh blueberry pancakes and Acadian Fench toast. We had our dinner in the dining car featuring local ingredients.
There is a nice gift shop in the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raydar_ABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tatamagouche
3.9 mi away
Forest Haven Inn B & B
Forest Haven Inn B & B
#5 of 6 in Tatamagouche
21 reviews
13.1 mi away
Fox Harb'r Resort
Fox Harb'r Resort
#1 of 1 in Wallace
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Dolan's Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Tatamagouche
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
40 reviews
24.4 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
319 reviews
4.7 mi away
No photo provided
MeHomeBy Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Tatamagouche
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Train Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Train Station Inn

Address: 21 Station Road, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia B0K 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Tatamagouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tatamagouche
Price Range: £85 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Train Station Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and experience Nova Scotia’s Railway heritage, brought to life in this award winning country inn. Accommodations are located in private railway cars which have been developed into deluxe suites with all the modern amenities from fireplaces, king beds and air conditioning. We also have rooms in the former Stationmaster's residence on the second floor of the Train Station. You can dine in our Railway Dining Car, enjoy your favourite drink in the observation lounge of the Vice Royal Railway Car "Alexandra" or relax in the railway museum café in the train station. Don't forget to explore our "funky" gift shop and take a stroll on the old rail bed now the Trans Canada Trail that follows along the Tatamagouche Bay passing the Creamery Square and Tatamagouche Grain Elevator Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Train Station Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Train Station Inn Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing