We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is an excellent place to stay. The vistas are fantastic!
The rooms are good-beds great! the resteraunt on site is great. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. We have been there several times and will defenitaly return.

Room Tip: It cost an extra $20 for a seaside room but definately worth it. You have a balcony and an awsome vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, General Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We appreicate both the postive and take the opportunities to try to improve our offering. I will tell you that we are in the process of upgrading our buffet which should be ready to implement for the Victoria Day weekend. As well, Chef has just created a new a la carte breakfast menu that goes live on Wednesday, May 9th. We agree that with a buffet you need to show great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have been here several times and this was the best stay yet. My only complaint was the prices of the in house restaurant. The buffet breakfast has increased in price as everything in life has, but found it pricey for 2 to eat. Especially considering it wasn't anything special. Continental breakfasts at other hotels that are included are better.

Having said that, the rooms and attendents were clean and friendly. Front desk were very nice and obliging. Price was decent. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiteflybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your positive comments to the team
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed two nights. We checked in late ( around 8:30) and were hoping for a drink and some food after the long drive. The dining room was closed. We ended up going into the nearest town and getting a great meal at a local tavern. The next morning we went for breakfast and were told that we missed it due to dining room hour changes. We do how ever have a free coffee and muffin in the lobby. After a day of sight seeing and enjoying the pool we made it to dinner. It was the best part of the entire stay. Our server Shane was amazing and made it extra special. The food was fantastic and if we ever do come back that is the only reason that would bring us.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youngcouple541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, General Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

On behalf of the team at Atlantica Oak Island, I apologize that you had some challenges during your recent stay. We did have to adjust our hours in the winter due to low business volumes during mid week. We tried to cover each meal period the best we could and settled on 7am to 9, 11pm-2 and 6-8pm. On weekends, we do have regular hours to meet the demand. I will tell you that this was a short lived business decision. As stated in the letter in the guests rooms, we will resume regular restaurant hours as of Friday, May 18th, 2011. I was very glad to hear that Shane did accomodate you for our last night with us. I will definitely pass on your positive comments and commend him on a job well done.
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in the main lodge. I was expecting a little bit of a getaway but was disappointed! Our room was clean and was spacious. The bedding was fluffy and comfortable. The bathroom was outdated but it was great to have the Aveda products for soap and shampoo! The spa had friendly staff but it did not have a relaxing atmosphere! The massage was average and overall experience was disappointing! To top the whole weekend I was most disappointed and frustrated with the whole dining experience. I expected a fancy Restaurant! I waited to be seated for 15 mins while numerous waitresses walked by. They lacked the courtesy to simply let us know that they will be right with us in a few minutes. Once seated we were not asked if we wanted drinks but simply drank water. Our meals were over-priced and the dining etiquette was extremely poor! The breakfast buffet was ok but I think it was slightly overpriced. The seafood chowder was fantastic and it is actually priced quite well for the huge bowl you will get! This place has the potential to be fantastic and it is too bad that they do not go the extra mile!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samhamscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, General Manager at Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Please accept my apologies for the challenges you had during your recent stay. Just earlier this month, I started in the role of General Manager. In this short time, I have recognized some of the similar challenges and we have made some great strides to correct some of the issues you experienced. We have a new dining room manager who I am sure will assist the serving team to improve the overall experience. Thank you again for your comments as we can only improve if we are aware of the issues. I know this does not change your experience but please know that we understand and are working to correct the challenges for our future guests.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I stayed in cabin #1 for our anniversary. It sits very close to the ocean and has a wonderful jacuzzi in the bathroom. There is a lot of space in the cabin to settle into, and a cozy stove in the living room to curl up in front of. The restaurant in the main lodge is just a quick drive/walk away and very enjoyable. We have never stayed in the main lodge, but the cabins feel like they might be a bit more special. The cabin was a bit pricey, but we had a great stay! There's not a lot to do nearby, short of perhaps a drive to Lunenburg or Mahone Bay, but we were content to stay inside as the weather was still quite chilly during our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This gem of a hotel is just south of Chester on Highway 3. It is a large hotel with lots of rooms with very comfortable beds and pillows.

There is free entertainment on the weekends. The staff are friendly and there is a spa for you and a pool for the kids. The restaurant provides fine food. If you are lucky, you might see a whale off shore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crjmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have stayed at Oak Island inn a few times and always enjoy our stay. We usually rent a seaside cottage when we stay, and they are really nice and worth the extra money. They have 1 and 2 bedroom cottages and when we stayed last night we had the wheelchair accessible cottage which is the only one that is one level. The kitchen and living room were very big and bright with nice high ceilings. The bathroom has a walk in shower and a hot tub with jets. The bedroom is on the mall side but still nice, and the bed is pretty comfortable.
When you stay in the seaside cottage you are right on the water which is beautiful. You get a little backyard with a firepit, wooden chairs and a barbeque. They supply all the wood, kindling, and newspaper for the fire pit which is a nice extra and they will even deliver it to you.
The restaurant seems to be hit or miss. The buffet is really good but the menu isn`t great. Ordered a fresh fruit plate and it took over 35 minutes to get it and the fruit wasn`t fresh at all. The menu is overpriced for the quality of food you get. Other than that, we have never had any complaints about our stay with Oak Island Inn, it is one of our favorite places and we will ontinue to come here as often as possible.

Room Tip: Don`t bother getting a room in the hotel, spend the extra and get a seaside cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda8925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Western Shore
10 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
282 reviews
10 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
348 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Center - Bridgewater
10 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
325 reviews
14 mi away
Comfort Inn Bridgewater
Comfort Inn Bridgewater
#4 of 5 in Bridgewater
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre

Address: 36 Treasure Drive, Western Shore, Nova Scotia B0J 3M0, Canada (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Marina Oak Island)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Western Shore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Price Range: £67 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel And Marina Oak Island
Oak Island Resort
Oak Island Hotel
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre Nova Scotia, Canada - Western Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing