We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Wonderful Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family of six stayed in one of the chalets over the June 21st weekend while we were visiting the area for my brother's wedding. My brothers and their family's rented the adjoining four chalets for the weekend as well.

Check in was smooth (even though all of us managed to get lost getting to the property. GPSs and maps didn't seem to work for us for some reason). The chalets were clean as was the main hotel itself (we had free buffet breakfasts up at the hotel and used the indoor pool). Even though the facility seemed to be fully booked for the weekend, it was very quiet.

The kids made use of the playground, indoor pool, basketball court and mini golf.

Our only complaint would be that even though the breakfast vouchers stated that they were for one free breakfast for everyone (with children under 12 eating free), we were told after we ate the first morning that they actually only meant two free breakfasts per chalet. Wish we would have known this before our 15 year old ate four slices of toast and we received the bill for $15.00.

The staff at the front desk were very accommodating with directions and when we called up for extra towels.

The chalets have a queen sized bed in the upstairs. The bathroom is also located upstairs and includes a jacuzzi tub. The downstairs bedroom has two single beds and the sofa in the living room pulls out into a bed. There is a stove, fridge and microwave in the kitchen and the kitchen is fully stocked with dishes.

There is a large deck out front with a gas bbq and in the lawn facing the waters edge, there is a fire pit and a picnic table.

We plan on going back to this facility in the future when we have time to sit back and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TignishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited this resort for the fourth time. Would recommend the cottages over the hotel. The hotel is in need of updating. Some renovations have been done but it is showing it's age. Didn't feel room was as clean as it should be. Lovely pool outside.Also tennis courts and lots of space for a lovely evening walk. Dining room needs more staff.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAL102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a business conference. The hotel has three floors and ours was on the top floor overlooking the pool and the bay, with sliding glass doors leading to a balcony. The king size bed, bedding and pillows were all very comfortable. The room we were in with it's small bathroom and thin carpet had more of a "motel" feel to it than a hotel. But it was clean and comfortable. There was a small bar fridge and coffee and tea in the room. Although wireless was offered at no charge, we had real difficulty accessing it as it was hit and miss and most often as slow as molasses (we eventually just gave up).

There is a lounge on the third floor where a computer is set up for guests' use in the event you don't have your own.

The common areas and meeting rooms are nice and the food quite good, especially considering staff served approximately 100 lobster dinners on the last night of our convention!

Staff were friendly and accommodating. There is a nice lobby bar and an outdoor patio off the restaurant, overlooking the water, with plenty of tables and chairs. We also noticed adirondack chairs and the provisions to start a campfire on that outdoor patio as well as near the water.

The hotel is conveniently located approximately an hour from the Halifax airport, between Chester and Mahone Bay, both quaint and pretty little towns that definitely warrant a visit while in the area. As recommended by friends, rather than take highway 103, we took the scenic route - old highway 3 through Chester. What a lovely drive!

I would definitely recommend a stay here and would recommend either one of the seaside condos (which a friend had stayed in - very nice) or a seaside room on the upper floor for the best views.

If you have found this review helpful, please let me know by clicking below.

Room Tip: A seaside facing room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BahiaDelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel seemed to be a bit dated - floor tiles cracked - decorate needs updating. However we experienced our real disappointed in getting ready to pack. We normally turn down the bedding to see if a sock or something got lost - to our surprise the wife found used tissues in the bed. We told the clerk on check out but she didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

From first arrival to check-out, the Atlantica impressed. Professionalism shines through its employees at all levels. The grounds are outstanding. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idoforms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed one night with my Groomsmen prior to my wedding day in a room with 2 queen beds.

The beds were extremely comfortable and I wish I had one in my house. The rooms were clean and well appointed.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating and organized all my rooms for the wedding and they were very flexible.

The wi-fi was there but poor and slow most of the time. When it worked it was good.

Wish the breakfast came with the room but me made do.

The lounge was nice with a good atmosphere and the entertainment was relaxing. The service was prompt and the one Male waiter was very nice and was able to accommodate our shot requests for our mini prior to wedding party! :)

However the lady working the bar was the total opposite, had an attitude problem and was not overally friendly.

The hotel was located within walking distance of my wedding venue and has great views and shampoo.

The layout is rather strange and you have to walk long distances to reach your car, room etc... The rooms, bathroom and hallways really need a remodeling. It was very outdated and the tv was staticky and not flat screen.

We lost power the day of our wedding so the bride and her bridemaids almost never got their hair done at the spa on top of that the girl that did their hair was brand new and it was her first day???? :S That s=is okay it pulled together. With no power we had no water since 11:20am and the wedding was at 4...

The wedding night in Villa 7 was perfect those rooms are awesome and cozy.

Good hotel would stay again, in the end all guests liked it. Will stay again if needs be!

Room Tip: Get a oceanview room or Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabincrew_polak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and i stayed here for two nights on a recent holiday. After we had unpacked we went to explore what was on offer and were very pleased with what we found. The hotel grounds were just beautiful with wonderful views. We had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights. The food was lovely with something for everyone and the waiting staff were very pleasant, nice people who could not do enough for you.
We checked out of the hotel very early in the morning as were going off to P.E.I, the lady on reception had just got there and had not taken her coat of yet, but dealt with us before she did anything else. We found the entire staff to be welcoming and incredibly helpful. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katbob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Western Shore
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
10.0 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
277 reviews
10.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bridgewater
Comfort Inn Bridgewater
#4 of 5 in Bridgewater
84 reviews
13.9 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Center - Bridgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre

Address: 36 Treasure Drive, Western Shore, Nova Scotia B0J 3M0, Canada (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Marina Oak Island)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Western Shore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Western Shore
Price Range: £72 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel And Marina Oak Island
Oak Island Resort
Oak Island Hotel
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre Nova Scotia, Canada - Western Shore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing