We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel that feels more like home then a school residence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hostel that feels more like home then a school residence”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

It’s completely understandable that most hostels have that well worn university housing feel to them – they deliver what they promise, cheap, clean, & practical. Bear on the Lake Guesthouse can also be described as such, but somehow those small decorating touches make it feel more welcoming had homey too.

The hostel has everything travelers are looking for: a friendly and well informed manager, a common area to connect with other travelers, internet access, kitchen, laundry, clean rooms, and free parking.

One point of criticism, the deck ‘smoking area’ is too close to the kitchen and dining area. For non-smokers, it’s like trying to eat in an ash tray.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
32
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Travelling
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

A great place, clean, quiet, homey with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Bras D'Or Lake on the doorstep, Cabot Trail almost in the back yard, great cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I'd not hesitate to recommend a stay of at least two nights at Bear on the Lake, the setting is picturesque, the service friendly, warm and welcoming and the hostel is more than a home away from home. I was impressed by the ambience, creative touch to the decor, great open communal spaces, the fresh, clean linen on the beds and the amenities available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaalianiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2011

As of writing this review, it has been almost two months since I stayed at Bear on the Lake and the memories are still very vivid because it was such a great place. The hostel is set in a beautiful location, which is obviously why you will want to stay there.

At Bear on the Lake, Kat is doing a superb job to make you feel at home. Comfy sofas, calm music playing in the background (think: Buena Vista Social Club and Feist), large open kitchen area with common table for grande dinners, lovely rooms, and of course Kat herself, always smiling, full of energy, and enthusiastic - you just have to love her and her place.

Try to stay at least two nights and enjoy the lake. At the end of a long cross-Canada trip I sadly didn't have enough time left to spend more than a few days on Cape Breton. I recommend a week or 10 days to go hiking, kayaking, and to relax at Bear on the Lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaSieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

It was an excellent experience for me. Kat was really friendly and helpful in terms of where to go in the area. The view of the lake from the balcony in the morning was gorgeous! The only downside of it was that it was a tad difficult to find after dark.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouter_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic Islands, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Staying at Bear on the Lake Guesthouse allowed me to realize just what I want when I travel. Kat - our hostess is phenomenal about creating an environment that is so much fun, beautiful and very clean. Meeting new people, making new friends, hiking, biking, jumping off a rock into a freezing pool, climbing to see awesome sites.

Room Tip: Worth spending the money to have a private room, we had a sitting area and deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeJarvis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hostel has everything! A perfect hostess, a beautiful view, clean rooms and a spacious living room. It has everything you want and look for in a hostel. Even the smallest details as a bedlight for every bed, towels and bike rentals. The location is perfect for exploring the Cabot Trail. This is the place to be when you are on Cape Breton Island!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoutedeClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whycocomagh
7.3 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#2 of 2 in Whycocomagh
60 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#2 of 7 in Baddeck
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
289 reviews
12.0 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
65 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear on the Lake Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear on the Lake Guesthouse

Property: Bear on the Lake Guesthouse
Address: 10705 Highway 105 | Aberdeen, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Whycocomagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear on the Lake Guesthouse overlooks the beautiful Bras D'or Lakes of Cape Breton Island at the start of the Cabot Trail. We're centrally located and within an hour to all of Cape Breton's highlights such as the Cabot Trail, Highlands National Park, Louisbourg Historic Site Newfoundland Ferry and just down the road from world class hiking, whale watching, kayaking, sailing and museums. We have both dormitory-style and private accommodations and all guests are welcome to use our kitchen, campfire pit, free wi-fi, hammocks, board games and more! Watch the eagles overhead and the moose in the backyard! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bear on the Lake Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear On The Lake Guesthouse Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing