We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Breton Comfort”
Review of Fair Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Isle Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whycocomagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Three things come to mind when I think of Cape Breton. Simplicity, kindness, and beauty. From the road, the Fair Isle Motel appears simple. A long, well tended structure atop a hill, it has nice grounds and a well maintained pool. It looks average, but once inside the rooms are quite lovely. Recently (and lovingly) redecorated, they have comfy beds, spacious modern bathrooms, bar fridges, internet, microwaves, and in some units, wall mounted flat screen TVs. From the bench outside our door, we could sip our morning coffee (or evening wine) and look down the hill, past the little town of Wycocomagh, and onto the beautiful Bras d’Or Lake.

But it was the kindness of the manager Chistena that made us know we were somewhere special. She welcomed us as though we were old friends, and then cheerfully accommodated all our needs, from lending me her hairdryer, to offering a late checkout so we could enjoy an exceptionally beautiful morning walk, and still be able to come back to clean up before we headed for the Sydney Airport.

The motel is also dog friendly, a great start to the Cabot Trail, and within easy walking distance of the delightful Bayside Café - which serves a fabulous breakfast (ask for onions in the home fries) and lunch.

(And no, I’m not on the Fair Isle payroll, I just really liked it a lot!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frontseatdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Nova Scotia. The rooms are clean, the owner very friendly and helpful, and the rates were excellent value. Even though we had originally only booked one night here, the owner graciously booked us in for another night at a reduced rate -- even though it was now July 1st, and "high season".

This is a *motel*, so don't expect the Hyatt! But the rooms have TVs, a desk, microwave, fridge, and probably the best shower pressure I've ever experienced in any hotel! Oh, and there's free Wifi, which was very useful for planning the next portion of our trip.

Unfortunately, the weather wasn't great when we were there -- but I would imagine on a sunny, summer day the views are breathtaking.

Hoping someone finds this review useful and has a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: The
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geekything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Unfortunately, spent only 1 night at this adorable motel. We had a very cozy room with an amazing view!!! Very clean, nicely furnished and affordable. The management was super friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zerep49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My fiance and I recently stayed here on our east coast trip. The room was average and good value for the rate. The view of the lake from the motel was nice, but the bathroom needs improving. Firstly, there was no curtain on the window in the bathroom which was a problem due to the motel building out back overlooking the window. Secondly, the shower head in the washroom was too rough. I can't see anyone enjoying a shower in this room. After a long day of hiking, whale watching, and driving on the Cabot Trail, we were really looking forward to a nice relaxing shower that didn't sting our skin. This was very dissapointing. We are recommending this motel, but I would call ahead and ask to have a room with a better shower head.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We landed in Whycocomagh to late to make the KOA by motorcycles and found the Fair Isle Motel by accident. But it was no accident that we decided after the first night's stay to make this location our home base. We stayed a total of 4 nights. (Mind you - we were in the area in the off season). The Manager/Operator Christena made us feel most welcome. Because we had arrived well after dark we had no idea of what the morning sun would bring us for the view. The Bras d'Or Lakes right in front with a white church steeple off to the right. Picturesque is how I would describe it best. Especially since I had no expectation of a view of the water not being on the coast. Very pleasantly surprised. The Fair Isle Motel gets my full thumbs up as a (forgive the pun) port in a storm. We even enjoyed coasting the motorbikes down the hill in the morning without starting the engines so as not to wake other travellers. Just enough of a thrill to start the day.(If you could keep yourself from yelling Yipee on your way down). Thank you Christena - you helped make our East Coast vacation memories. Jaime & Marilyn

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GirlWithBigTruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We had a spacious room with a 40" Flat screen LCD TV with Cable! King Size Bed(Very Comfortable) Great AC. Microwave Oven & Bar Fridge(Empty, you have to fill it yourself) Full Bath & Shower. Clean as you can get! A great view from you door. The staff make you feel welcome, with a very friendly greeting. Very helpful with thing to do and see, also helpful as to where to eat.
We had a great time and will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Conkys-Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

In 4 days we traveled in Fredericton, Cape Breton, Peggy's cove, Halifax, and Moncton. Among the 4 places we'd stayed in, Fair Isle Motel was definitely the best one. It's on a hill at the side of Whycocomagh Bay so you'll have nice view over the lake from any of its rooms. The price is fair (we stayed in a room with queen size bed for $79 near end of May). You can brew your own coffee in your room (ground coffee and tea bags supplied at no extra charge) if you want. The motel is at such a location that you can start your trip along Cabot Trail from either the east or the west side, and won't miss any nice scenes along the shore. If you need some suggestions on your venture into the areas, Christina the manager can offer you quite some useful tips.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank siakrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whycocomagh
24.7 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
168 reviews
18.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
14.0 mi away
Trailsman Motel
Trailsman Motel
#6 of 7 in Baddeck
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#2 of 2 in Whycocomagh
67 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
43 reviews
31.5 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Isle Motel

Address: 9557 Highway 105, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whycocomagh
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fair Isle Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fair Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Isle Motel Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing