We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlene's Bayside Cafe

Charlene's Bayside Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed diner, family friendly dining with hearty home cooked meals.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
456 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had great service and good food. We had the fish and chips, very good! We would definitely go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oneyearride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    48
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Culinary Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

On our motorcycle trip back to the USA, eleven of us stopped at this unsuspecting culinary treasure. We stopped at the direction of a local rider, who claimed that the food was really good. Well, after we all got settled at a table, I quickly learned that the staff at the restaurant was incredibly cordial and helpful with suggestions about what to order. The bottom line is that this was the best meal I've had in a long time, and the prices were very reasonable. I sampled from several different plates and found everything to be tasty, hot; and full of flavor. Coming from a seaport city, I know good seafood; and Charlene's selections are right-on-point: Fabulous. Charlene's will definitely be on my list of places to stop when I make another visit to this wonderful country. Thanks for the delicious experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The best seafood chowder with 7 different seafood in it and no filllers!!! Great fish and chips, so fresh it came right off the boat! The servers and staff were very friendly and helpful, got 10% discount for staying at Fair Isle Motel down the road. Excellent !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredlady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This small local restaurant was just what we wanted after a very full day. It was clean, comfortable, busy with locals, and everything on the menu was homemade and delicious. We even had dessert, as the freshly made pies and cobbler were too good to resist. Yum.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank storyfolks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soul food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hungry for breakfast, I walked a few minutes down the highway to this restaurant from the nearby Fair Isle motel. The motel owner had recommended it.

Once inside, I found a cozy dining room where a few tables were already occupied by locals engaged in quiet conversation. Breakfast was as good as it gets, most notably the real potato home fries (no disguised french fries) and the generous serving of ham.

Left feeling very full and ready for the day's driving. Also, happy to add another local gem to my must-return list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavesOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlene's Bayside Cafe also viewed

Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island
Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island
 
Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Charlene's Bayside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing