We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real nice”
Review of Aberdeen Motel

Aberdeen Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdeen Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whycocomagh
Dingwall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real nice”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Nice and clean ,friendly atmosphere, the owner is a charm and delightful, love staying there

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
23
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria County, Cape Breton.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We travel extensively and feel the need to clean out the air conditioning filters at each hotel. They're usually unbelievabley filthy. When we tried to do this at the Aberdeen
it was fresh and spotlessly clean already!!! That's a first. For 65 dollars a night we stayed for ten days and whenever we come thru Wycocomagh we will be staying again. It is our favourite motel in the area and Beatrice - the owner is a gem. She is accommodating, professional, and so helpful. She offers laundry facilities and advice which we appreciated.
We HIGHLY recommend the Aberdeen Hotel for all weary travellers. You won't be disappointed.
Daisy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyanddidgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston, nb canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Checked in just before office closed at 10 pm. The price was very low. I took one look at the room and returned to the office to tell the owner how nice it was. While I was talking to her my wife went in the room and came to the office to express the same opinion. I would certainly drive the extra distance knowing that I would have such accomodations at the end of the day. As well as having an in room coffee maker, fridge, microwave,wifi,cable and free telephone, there was a very complete package of information on the history and ammenities of the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianomanKingston_Nb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We went on an unplanned road trip from niagara area in ontario, to Cape Breton, and came across this motel.
We pulled and and we were cheerfully greeted by Beatrice the manager.
I was just so amazed about how nice she was and how clean the rooms were.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saabviggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

The Aberdeen motel felt like home about 15 minutes after our arrival. Not the most lavish home in the world - and certainly not outfitted with the most comfy beds - but home nonetheless. Adorned with pretty geraniums, it sits at the edge of the highway, complete with a small playground and a little brook. Across the road is a lake- a lovely sight any time of day.
Inside, everything is clean and tidy, with all life's essentials. Fresh sheets, coffee maker, and small fridge for me, and 100’s of TV channels for my partner. Other homey touches such as a small seating area and little table are also nice - should you be foolish enough to eat in your room rather drive down the road for meal at Alice's or Vi's. (However, do put some beer in your tiny fridge for later, since evening activities are rather limited.)
The closest town is Wycocomagh, which is a nice alternative to the more touristy Baddeck.. Wycocmagh offers little in the form of entertainment, but it has a few stores and great people. Within an easy drive is the town of Iona – home of a fantastic historical village, and Orangevale, with it’s delightful train station museum.
The friendly staff at the Aberdeen will make you feel welcome, and seem take pride in their simple motel. You may fall asleep to the sounds of a 16-wheeler, and you may yearn for your own pillow top bed – but it’s great value for the money. Warm, and inviting, but slightly flawed – just like home.

  • Liked — Location, value, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Mattresses
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frontseatdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thorold,ont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

my wife and i spent 3 nights at the motel, the room was spotlessly clean and the owners were very pleasant and helpful.we shall be happy tostay there on our next visit. the motel is good value for money and we were never disturbed by other guests.

  • Liked — friendly owners, clean room,lots of information to help visitors.
  • Disliked — older furnishings but
  • Stayed September 2002, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2006

My partner and I stayed for one night at the Aberdeen Motel during a trip on Cape Breton Island after a disatrous stop at a Bed and Breakfast with a chain-smoking proprietor. We drove past two other motels in Whycocomaugh but the Aberdeen definitely has the best location. It's right on the lake, across the road. The owner was a very sweet woman who upgraded us to a king sized bed for the queen price since she had the room available. There's a laundromat on site. The room was basic and a little worn, but very clean with a dining area, couch and coffeemaker.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whycocomagh
6.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
19.4 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
32.3 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#3 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
13.0 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
7.0 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Motel

Property: Aberdeen Motel
Address: 10293 Trans Canada Highway 105, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whycocomagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aberdeen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Motel Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing