We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous hospitality”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spent a couple days snowmobiling in the area and used KQ as our base. Amazing modern, clean and spacious accommodations with free wifi. Staff is second to none!! Great food and service. Lodge main house is equipped with fireplace, pool table and shuffle board. Try it and you will love it!!

Room Tip: All cabins are lake front. No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cigauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for your visit, and your lovely review!
We are very happy you enjoyed our cottages and lodge as your base while having your snowmobiling adventures!
We look forward to your next visit!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August of 2012. The cabins were clean and beautiful. The lake is right outside your door. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating. We used this as our "home base" while riding the Cabot Trail on our motorcycle. We have recommended this place to others and we would most definitely stay here again. Worth the stay!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for visiting us here at Keltic Quay, and for your review!
We are glad to hear our cottages were a good home base for you!
We look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Keltic Quay was incredibly clean, comfortable, and came with beautiful views of the Brad d'Or Lakes. Our hosts were generous and kind - shoveling us out every morning as we stayed down during a fierce winter storm. I highly recommend the spot to anyone looking to explore Cape Breton. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Keltic Quay, and for your review!
We are happy you enjoyed our cottages and the view of the beautiful Brad d'Or Lakes!
We look forward to your next visit!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite this past month and have only great things to say about our experience. The suite was cozy, clean and very spacious with all the amenities we could need. The view was stunning and the location ideal making this spot both great as a vacation get away in and of itself or as the perfect base camp for day trips in the area. The staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful, and made sure we were well taken care of during a blizzard. We will return!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for visiting us at Keltic Quay, and for your wonderful review!
We are very happy you enjoyed the cottages and our lovely staff!
We look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It was our great fortune to have spent the night at the Keltic Quay. This great location became a safe haven for some weary travellers who could not imagine having to drive to another destination that night. The accommodations were amazing. A beautiful chateau on the edge of the bay. Even with all it's winter whiteness was a beautiful sight. Inside it was clean, spacious, warm and inviting. Comfortable beds, lots of extra blankets, pillows and towels. A kitchen equipted with all the necessities and modern appliances. A cozy living room with a flat screen tv and a fireplace. A little piece of heaven. Thank you to owner/the staff, your kindness speaks volumes to the welcome sign.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We used Keltic Quay as a central location for exploring the Cabot Trail (the skyline trail is a must). This was the perfect location to relax at the end of a long day exploring. The tranquil Bras d'Or Lake at your door step, bird life flying by (including bald eagles), fire pit and inside fire in the main lodge and huge beds (the kids had a queen sized bed each which was much needed after numerous shared bed alternatives). The kitchen was very well appointed which made our seafood chowder and seafood risotto with steak from the outside BBQ as easy as cooking at home. Our host was particularly friendly and my only regret was that we didn't stay longer to enjoy the free water craft and sit by the fire. We will be back next time we visit Cape Breton and will sure to bring our extended family.

Room Tip: I can't imagine anyone being displeased with their room, they are so well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

You need at least 4 days to do justice to Cape Breton. Because nowhere is too far to drive we found it very convenient to stay in Whycocomagh and venture out from there. Keltic Quay was ideal for our purposes.

The property is literally on the shore of a large bay off Bras d'Or Lakes. Five cottages in a row line the shore. The grounds are spacious, clean, well maintained and very quiet. Thus when we got home after a day sightseeing we felt we were returning to our own private resort.

We booked a one bedroom suite, the upper floor of a cottage. The ground floor was 2 bedroom suites. Bedroom has 2 double beds and lots of room. The kitchen was well enough equipped, although there was no blender for breakfast smoothies. Four piece bath was ceramic tiled and included a jacuzzi tub. Living area was comfortable with good sized flat screen tv. This led to a balcony overlooking the water, with deck chairs and BBQ on which we did a great steak dinner.

The place makes a point of being pet friendly - our reason for booking here. You can get in a decent dog walk without leaving the property, although you can stretch it out easily by venturing down the shorefront road.

Finally, you won't get a nicer welcome anywhere. Thank you Reenie for such a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: It's simple - one bedrooms are up, two bedrooms are down. All are maybe 25 feet from the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiqueshowscanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whycocomagh
19.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#2 of 2 in Whycocomagh
66 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
635 reviews
39.6 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
19.7 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge

Property: Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge
Address: 90 Main St, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Whycocomagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keltic Quay's Cape Breton cottages are located on the northeast shore of the Bras d'Or Lakes in the village of Whycocomagh, at the entrance of the Cabot Trail an area of outstanding natural beauty and spectacular vistas. Ranked one of the top places to stay our twelve 4.5 star Canada Select one and two-bedroom Cape Breton cottages and suites include everything you need for world class accommodations and our main lodge is the ideal place for a great game of pool or darts with new friends. Whether you're here to see the Cabot Tail, conduct business or for pleasure we can help you plan what will surely be a memorable place to stay on Cape Breton Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing