We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was our first trip to Nova Scotia and since we were driving form Maine we thought we would do the Cabot Trail. Plenty of hotel options available but we lucked out when we chose Keltic Quay. It was more of a suite with a kitchen than a room. We had the entire 2nd floor looking onto the lake with a porch and barbecue. Has to be one of the best places to stay in NS. It was quiet, clean and very peaceful. Renie is a great hostess as manager and gave us plenty of restaurant guidance and travel tips. We spent 3 nights here and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Highly recommend Keltic Quay.

Room Tip: Talk to Renie. All of the cottages are on the lake and your options are 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2016
Thank you for staying with Keltic Quay, and your lovely review.
Very happy you enjoyed the cottages. Renie knows all the great spots the area!
We hope to have you stay with us again!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 days. (there is a special if you stay for 3 days). Rene was an excellent host! she took care of us well and made some great suggestions for our visit. There is access to laundry, Wifi, and all the other things already listed in the other review. we had done our share of B&Bs and were ready for something different. The grocery store is within walking distance. We bought some food and cooked things to our liking. We found this to be a great base for the cabot trail, the fort in lousburg, the wiskey distilerry tour. Baddeck is a larger town with some great additional restaurant options as well.

there is also an Osprey nest on site. we got to see the Osprey with its chick a number of times. this was really cool to be able to do !

look at the pictures and book here. No worries , no fears you will enjoy this place.

Room Tip: Down stairs has the laundry in the units ( a 2 bedroom). otherwise you have to go to the lodge to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for visiting us at Keltic Quay!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit, as well as our wonderful host Renie.
We hope to see you again soon!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Bras D'or Lake is literally steps from your front door. Cabins are modern, comfortable and immaculate, with laundry and fully stocked kitchen. You will have access to the main lodge including pool table, darts and a comfy area for visiting and relaxing. There are kayaks, canoe and paddle boats for guest use and motor boat available for rent.
Easy drive to Cabot Trail and other wonderful Cape Breton tourist attractions.

Room Tip: There are upper and lower level units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatWhiteN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for your stay with Keltic Quay, and for your review!
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our cottages.
We look forward to seeing you again!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spent a couple days snowmobiling in the area and used KQ as our base. Amazing modern, clean and spacious accommodations with free wifi. Staff is second to none!! Great food and service. Lodge main house is equipped with fireplace, pool table and shuffle board. Try it and you will love it!!

Room Tip: All cabins are lake front. No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cigauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for your visit, and your lovely review!
We are very happy you enjoyed our cottages and lodge as your base while having your snowmobiling adventures!
We look forward to your next visit!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August of 2012. The cabins were clean and beautiful. The lake is right outside your door. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating. We used this as our "home base" while riding the Cabot Trail on our motorcycle. We have recommended this place to others and we would most definitely stay here again. Worth the stay!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for visiting us here at Keltic Quay, and for your review!
We are glad to hear our cottages were a good home base for you!
We look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Keltic Quay was incredibly clean, comfortable, and came with beautiful views of the Brad d'Or Lakes. Our hosts were generous and kind - shoveling us out every morning as we stayed down during a fierce winter storm. I highly recommend the spot to anyone looking to explore Cape Breton. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Keltic Quay, and for your review!
We are happy you enjoyed our cottages and the view of the beautiful Brad d'Or Lakes!
We look forward to your next visit!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite this past month and have only great things to say about our experience. The suite was cozy, clean and very spacious with all the amenities we could need. The view was stunning and the location ideal making this spot both great as a vacation get away in and of itself or as the perfect base camp for day trips in the area. The staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful, and made sure we were well taken care of during a blizzard. We will return!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Marketing Manager at Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2016
Thank you for visiting us at Keltic Quay, and for your wonderful review!
We are very happy you enjoyed the cottages and our lovely staff!
We look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whycocomagh
19.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
630 reviews
45.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.3 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
14.7 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
19.4 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge

Property: Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge
Address: 90 Main St, Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia B0E 3M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Whycocomagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Whycocomagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keltic Quay's Cape Breton cottages are located on the northeast shore of the Bras d'Or Lakes in the village of Whycocomagh, at the entrance of the Cabot Trail an area of outstanding natural beauty and spectacular vistas. Ranked one of the top places to stay our twelve 4.5 star Canada Select one and two-bedroom Cape Breton cottages and suites include everything you need for world class accommodations and our main lodge is the ideal place for a great game of pool or darts with new friends. Whether you're here to see the Cabot Tail, conduct business or for pleasure we can help you plan what will surely be a memorable place to stay on Cape Breton Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Quay Bayfront Lodge Whycocomagh, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing