We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice digs, powdered milk!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inuvik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Arctic Chalet Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Inuvik B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice digs, powdered milk!”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed in the Twilight Cabin for 2 nights. The room was nicely appointed, though the tiling in the shower hadn't been completed yet. The cabin was set on blocks which, in itself is not unusual for this region, but unfortunately the cabin settled a bit unevenly and was noticeably unlevel. We would have appreciated more foodstuffs stocked in the kitchen (not a fan of powdered milk!) and as this was billed as a B&B, didn't really expect that we needed to get to a grocery store in order to eat a satisfying breakfast. There seemed to be plenty of staff around, though we didn't meet one of the proprietors until the last day.

The owners have many pure white Alaskan huskies in kennels on the property which were well behaved, especially during the evening. Very cute!

It was too bad that we weren't able to go on a prearranged Tuk tour due to inclement weather. Guess we'll have to try again some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    19
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
26
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have stayed at Arctic Chalet several times over the last 10 years, most recently for 3 days in September 2012. We found the cabin accomodations to be spacious, clean and bright. The bathroom was large and roomy with all the amenities The kitchenette and BBQ on the deck made it easy to prepare our own meals and the cupboard was stocked with a variety of breakfast items and condiments. If we needed anything, Judi, Olav or the staff were always there to help. The Arctic Chalet is a special place in a beautiful setting just outside of town.
We would never travel to Inuvik and consider staying anywhere else. Over the years Olav and Judi have gone well out of their way to help us with travel arrangements and local information. If you are traveling to a remote place like Inuvik contact with Olav and Judi is invaluable. Arctic Chalet is not a 'big city hotel'. No one from a big hotel would provide the outstanding service and genuine caring assistance that Olav and Judi provide. To echo other comments -- Judi and Olav are truly amazing.
A comment on the water -- the water provided is trucked in from Inuvik. There is nothing wrong with the water. If the taste is not to your liking use bottled water --- just like you would in the city.

Room Tip: Although the rooms in the chalet are very nice if you want more space try one of the cabins. Lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Arctic Chalet on August 12 and 13, 2012. We stayed at the "Twilight" cabin and it was clean, comfortable, charming and luxurious. Our hosts were very helpful in getting us out into the beautiful arctic wilderness. We were very sorry to stay only two nights. This far north we didn't expect to find a place filled with so many thoughtful touches: artwork, beautiful quilts, a kitchen with many supplies, washer and drier, and a warm cozy cabin. The night was very quiet.
We especially enjoyed meeting the white huskies (they do NOT bark very much) and hearing the loons call as they flew into the little lake nearby.
The hotels in town looked like they could be found in any freeway exit in the US. We felt fortunate to find the Arctic Chalet and we will plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DempsterDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Although the service here is great, the rooms leave a lot to be desired. Aside from the really skimpy breakfast (cereal, dry milk mix, canned fruit cocktail), the room is so tiny there was no room for our two modest sized bags. The "kitchen" is skimpily furnished. No bathroom amenities. The worst, though, is the water must be boiled prior to drinking. For the price, a jug of bottled water seems like a basic that should be included.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi F, Owner at The Arctic Chalet Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Although our primary focus is not on the breakfast, we do provide a simple but adequate basic self-catered breakfast for our guests which is clearly outlined on our web site. Besides cereal (both instant, cooked and cold), powdered milk & canned fruit, we do include coffee, tea, hot chocolate & juice, rye crisp, jam & margarine as well as noodle soup for Asians or anyone else interested in soup at bed time or for breakfast.

We do not offer full kitchens in each unit which is clearly outlined on our web site. Our kitchenettes have a hot plate, toaster, microwave, hot water kettle and fridge, dishes and cookware. Most cabins also have barbecues outside on the porches which are appreciated by many. Bathrooms have shower gel, hand soap and shampoo. Perhaps our guests were looking for a hair dryer which is available on request.

The summer of 2012 was the only time that we were requested by the town of Inuvik to inform our guests that they should boil their drinking water due to a temporary problem with the town water supply. Yes, I agree that bottled water would have been appropriate to offer our guests at this time but normally our water is safe to drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Arctic Chalet B&B for 3 days at the end of July 2012. Our accommodation, the "Twilight Cabin" was awesome - bright and cheery and welcoming. The property was spacious and complete with a lake and hiking trails. The hosts, Judy and Olav, were amazing! We really appreciated their willingness to share their knowledge and experiences in the north. Olav gave us a most interesting tour of Inuvik and Judy arranged for us to have a half-day tour up to Tuktoyaktuk. I think that staying here gave us more of an authentic northern experience. I hope to be back to Inuvik and hope that the Arctic Chalet B&B will have a cabin available!

RKY

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RKYatYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The Arctic Chalet is a unique, warm and wonderful place to vacation. It has all of the amenities that make it live up to its by-line "experience comfort and Northern hospitality". Judy and Olav made our stay unforgettable. They are very knowledgeable about the area, were terrific hosts and allowed a hands on experience with their beautiful huskies.

The Cottage was so welcoming, warm, clean and comfortable. It exceeded our expectations.

I recommend the Arctic Chalet whole heartedly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I've stayed at the Arctic Chalet three times, and making a fourth visit next month. The place has a breathtaking physical space with cabins, lakes, trails, scenery and lots of peace and quiet. The cabins are clean, cozy and fulfill basic needs really nicely - they have kitchenettes with some basic food items, satellite TV and in-cabin full bathrooms. And the prices are very modest by Northern standards. I love the place.

I've been there in both summer and winter, and done a number of expeditions. In the summer, the place is just a remote hangout (although a stunningly beautiful hangout), and most of the activities are through tour operators in town. In the winter is when the Chalet excursions take place: dogsledding, snowmobile tours, snowshoeing, etc. Olaf and Judi make very experienced guides and the tours are well conceived. On the dogsled trip you can spend the night at a remote cabin in the; it's pretty rudimentary as far lodgings, but it's a really nice hangout/meal place, they cook for you, and the setting is beautiful. The dogs are great and really well trained. Really comfortable trip.

Judi manages the majority of guest arrangements and excursions, while Olaf handles all property upkeep and leads tours. The main bone of contention I've heard from guests is the apparently random re-arrangement of excursions and even sometime room bookings. I've experienced this personally, and it was frustrating. But what I've learned over time is that re-arranging things to consolidate booking groups is economically necessary, and this is an essential part of touring in the North. It happens with the outside tour companies there, too. I'm sure this is difficult for Judi and Olaf as well. I do think that since they're used to the ways of the North, they sometimes underestimate how disturbing it is to guests to have tour dates switched and plans scrapped, and they could afford to be more solicitous about the inconvenience this causes guests. But it's a fact of life up there, so visitors have to be ready for some give-and-take on plans.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Arctic Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arctic Chalet Resort

Property: The Arctic Chalet Resort
Address: 25 Carn St | PO Box 1099, Inuvik, Northwest Territories X0E 0T0, Canada (Formerly Arctic Chalet B&B)
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Inuvik
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Inuvik
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Arctic Chalet Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arctic Chalet is a full-service cabin resort in a natural setting on the edge of Inuvik that includes hiking trails, canoeing on the lake and fun time with our beautiful white husky sled dogs that live on the property. We offer a variety of accommodation possibilities from economy rooms with shared bath & kitchenette to premium cabins with full kitchens and private bath. Rates and details are on our web site. We also offer courtesy and rental vehicles.Some cabins are pet-friendly, others are not. We also offer sightseeing tours and a variety of other activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing