We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a casual family outing, especially on the patio in summer.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavallo Nero

Cavallo Nero
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Ancaster
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for a casual family outing, especially on the patio in summer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We have bodied this restaurant on several occasions over the last couple of years. The service has always been very good, not too slow or aggressive and very attentive. The food has been very good, portions acceptable and good value for the price. Patio in summer provides great atmosphere as well as being very relaxing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hunterdune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    65
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great fine dining restaurant in Ancaster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently had dinner at Cavallo Nero's in Ancaster and were happy with the food, the decor and the ambiance. Everything we ordered was delicious and beautifully plated. Our friends enjoyed the food also and we will return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food for entire group.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We were worried about the food because of previous reviews but the food was excellent. The salads were fresh, calamari grilled to perfection and the mains all really excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia-va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We needed to find a place to stop in the area as we were passing through and we stumbled upon Cavallo Nero. What a great find! They have several gluten-free options and had no problem accommodating dietary issues. I had pizza with a gluten-free crust - but I was torn because I could have had one of the pasta dishes with gluten-free pasta (it was amazing to have a choice!). The food was above average. The server was delightful - very attentive and pleasant. We enjoyed sitting outside on the patio. I would definitely recommend Cavallo Nero!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, attentive service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Three of us went for dinner on a Sunday of a long weekend. Understandably quiet in the restaurant, but we enjoyed the relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Service was perfectly balanced - never neglected but not disturbing our visit. Bruschetta was fresh and not over-oiled. House salads were above average. The gnocchi was tender and the sauce tangy and bursting with flavor. The sausage was surprisingly tasty with the right touch of spice. My husband had the veal parm and the veal was perfectly melt in your mouth prepared. First visit, but definitely worth the lovely drive to Ancaster and we will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JodyWaterloo_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavallo Nero also viewed

 

Been to Cavallo Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing