We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Asian Fare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Pho

Royal Pho
Ranked #25 of 59 Restaurants in Ancaster
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Asian Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

While visiting Ancaster, make time to visit this restaurant. Delish home made Asian food, small restaurant and quick take away. Please note, Cash or Debit only. This restaurant recently won best food in Asian category 2014.
Try the Pho, or R04, which is a grilled pork chop and chicken breast so rich in flavour, comes with rice, a small fragrant soup broth and Jasmine rice and light sweet sauce, very inexpensive.
This restaurant is tucked in the corner of the Golf town strip mall, free parking.
Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Micci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    5
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good Thai but cheap family running this place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Best Thai in ancaster and surrounding area, besides one or two places in hamilton. I get delivery from here a few times a month and it's really good. But... The older man I presume is the owner is so so stingy!! I was off by sixty cents to qualify for free delivery, before taxes of course how convenient of a policy lol. I wouldn't mind except I give them loads of business, also the girl who answers is anti social and gives the phone to her brother I think .. Besides the few odd balls and cheapskates this place is pretty good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Often take out here & never disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We often order rice noodle bowls from here and are always happy. Lots of noodles, fresh veggies, grated carrot, bean sprouts, sliced cucumber, lettuce nestled under noodles along with crushed peanuts and sauce & always have a spring roll. You can pick shrimp, chicken or beef, always fresh. Soup here is wonderful as well for a meal and prices are so reasonable. Will continue to eat meals from here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 154990Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good pho...everything else is bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The pho soup dishes are great. they have good flavour compared to other pho soup places in the area. Everything else on the menu is terrible. Their chicken fried rice is clumpy, flavourless and it had very little chicken.... and its $10. You can get way better at pho dau bo. Their fried spring rolls are the size of your pinky finger...no lie. The take out here is even worse because they charge the same prices and give you smaller portions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poli100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another disappointment in Ancaster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We decided to give Ancaster another try after a previous misstep. We decided to try Royal Pho. Order out favourite, Pad Thai. Not what we expected. Tasted like they used tomato sauce in pad thai. Needless to say we did not finish our meal. Apps were just ok. Many many better Thai restaurants out there at a better price and better food. Ancaster is 0 for 2!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurmich96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Pho also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 
Stoney Creek, Hamilton
Ancaster, Hamilton
 

Been to Royal Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing