We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE IN TOWN”
Review of Sammy-Jo's Place

Sammy-Jo's Place
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Ancaster
Restaurant details
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE IN TOWN”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I took my friends and family to this local restaurant and was extremely thrilled with the results.
The place is family owned and the most amazing environment. After our meal, the cook came out to see how we liked the food. The service was unlike any other restaurant, absolutely perfect! Our meals came quick and tasted very good. Also, it wasn't hard to notice how clean the family keeps their restaurant which was very impressive. Im a regular costumer after that experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boling, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good grill food”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great local place to eat and meet the people of the town. Wonderful owners who are always nice to our kiddos. All kids get ice cream after their meals. Breakfast all day. Good grill food and selection. Has a patio and bar too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cljttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Local egg n pancake place”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We found Sammy's to be rather grubby inside. Servings were large but greasy for our taste....lots of home fries,eggs,bacon but had a thrown together feel. Waitress hardly looked at us and just slid our plates carelessly across table while chatting to others. Many locals go there for their big breakfasts. Since we were there they did some renovating but we have not returned due to attitude and greasy presentation.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average food, fair prices”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I used to live next door to this place so it more out of convenience than appreciation of the food that kept me coming back. Having said that, breakfast is hard to screw up. Eggs are always fine but you better like your bacon burnt because it always comes out that way, even if you request for it not to. There is ample parking available and I've not had to ever wait for seating, which is a good thing. As stated in a previously posted review, while it may be family run/owned, that doesn't guarantee home made anything. Do not confuse the two. The burgers are absolutely frozen patties. I have always had very prompt, polite service here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gyros & breakkie”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Our server was cheery and everything came quick ... gyro bit overdone but I happily ate off my friends' plates!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jechevow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sammy-Jo's Place also viewed

 
Dundas, Hamilton
 

Been to Sammy-Jo's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing