We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the List”
Review of The Ancaster Mill

The Ancaster Mill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ancaster Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Ancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wilson Street
Description: The beautifully restored Ancaster Mill boasts a picturesque and Historic setting. The Dining Room features floor-to-ceiling windows with panoramic views of waterfalls and naturally landscaped gardens. The interior decor accents the authentic look with warm earth tones and large stone fireplaces, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Ancaster is home to one of Canada"s most diverse and productive agricultural regions. With seasonal offerings inspired by Landmark Group's Earth to Table philosophy, Ancaster Mill's menus offer impeccable local ingredients from neadby farms and food artisans. The Ancaster Mill beverage selection compliments this with featured signature drinks and an expansive Wine List, including several by-the-glass selections.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top of the List”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

For a memorable lunch or dinner be sure to visit this restaurant. The food is local the chef imaginative and the staff has always been very attentive and knowledgeable.
The setting is unique and adds to the enjoyment of dining out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    142
    47
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stouffville
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful family celebration for approx 50 guests”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Attended a family event for my sister's special birthday. Arranged by my niece who lives out of town, it was lovely. My other sister arrived early to orchestrate the surprise and the staff were amazing and helped us pull it off. A beautiful setting, lovely decor. Food was very good ( as expected, I have eaten here before). I liked they were so flexible for my niece who organized it re: numbers and they didn't bat an eye to set up an extra table to accommodate a last minute seating request. They even made a special pizza for my niece who has allergies. Would definitely do an event here again and / or a meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

love the atmosphere. the staff is nice, very accomodating. Had a bridal shower for 50 guests that had a couple of cake glitches from an outside source but the co-ordinator managed to provide for 50 -on the spot - desserts and "fixed" the cake so it was not a disaster! Due to the stress involved I was provided with a lovely alcohol beveridge to get me through it all! Kudos to last minute disaster saves!!
Restaurant wise, the food is good, albeit fancy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveroftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The variety and freshness of the Mill's breakfast buffet can not be compared.
As the morning moves on the variety of meats and seafood increases.
If you're looking for a place with class and ambiance, this is it. The staff
is courteous. The water falls makes this place a great setting. We love Sunday mornings at the Old Mill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old fashion restaurant with deco you want to enjoy,.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Take a moment to step back in time to experience the old Ancaster living with fine dinning all year round.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Psyduck_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ancaster Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Ancaster Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing