We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date night”
Review of Aquagrill

Aquagrill
Ranked #9 of 153 Restaurants in Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Date night”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had date night at Aquagrill last night. The atmosphere is lovely, warm and cosy with a touch of elegance. The menu is interesting and the items we chose were delicious, beautifully presented and tasty.
The wine list is excellent too, a note though: even if I order only 1/2 a bottle of wine I would like to have the bottle brought to the table just as if ordered a whole bottle.
Service was good, the waitress is to be commended for taking care of 5 tables all by herself. What we didn't like is that her English is hard to understand. She rattled off the specials, starting each one with "had" (ex. "had soup of the day..."), I guess she meant "we have"...Long pauses during which she glanced at the ceiling trying to remember what she had to say...in the meantime I'm trying to smile and nod encouragingly and unable to understand much. Needless to say we had none of the specials as we couldn't be sure what they really were.
It would be much better to do a small computer printout with the daily specials and pin it to the menu.
All together a very nice experience though and we would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MB13377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always fresh.”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The grilled calamari is amazing, and they will make homemade chicken nuggets served with pomme frites for the kids if need.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fusion”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Aqua is one of those places that deserves the word 'Special'. The service is always excellent, menu choices are extensive and everything is full of flavour and prepared with care. They seem to have a chef that is able to cross the borders from Chinese to Thai and do both well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or the money!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Went there this summer with some friends. Thought it would be nice to enjoy a quiet place for a change. The food was horrible and overpriced and when we asked for some changes to one of our meals they were not pleased.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“brings out the gourmet in you”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

What ever the occasion, couple, family, quiet time to read a book, this is the place to be.
the staff always greet you with a smile and are always in touch you during your meal. Stephen Ho, the owner or his chef, makes you feel at home by stopping at the table for a wee chat. Their menu is a selection of mediterranean food: appetizers, entrees and desserts, prepared to please. Great wine selection. We try to go back as often as possible for lunch or dinner. Make a reservation, so the staff can plan for your arrival. see you there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank eyewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquagrill also viewed

 

Been to Aquagrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing