We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wait staff may not give you as mug attention if you are not with a man.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Joia Ristorante

Joia Ristorante
Ranked #9 of 150 Restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wait staff may not give you as mug attention if you are not with a man.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great food, nice ambience unless you're seated near the door. They were maybe under staffed in waiters because our waiter spent most of his attention on tables with men in suits.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    14
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gman305
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Ok Food and Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our first impression of this restaurant was good - really liked the decor and overall feel. The menu also offers a lot of choice. Our experience however was a bit disappointing. The service was lack luster. We asked for help in choosing our meal, and Dave our server didn't give us much confidence that he had actually tasted any of the dishes. We had the veal chop, pizza, and fish. Mussels as appetizer. The Mussels were ok, but nothing too remarkable. Same with the mains. The pizza was very good, the veal lacked seasoning, and the fish dish was ok. The price paid was a bit high we felt for food that was just ok. We will probably give Joia another try, but likely would stick with pasta/pizza next time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael330055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“we all need a little Joia!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Pizza is great, service always wonderful.
We've been dining here for years and it's been hit and miss. As the prices increased the serving sizes decreased. So you will have room for desert. Nevertheless you do see quality ingredients here
and we've yet to try a dish that wasn't good. Nice place for a
special meal or a casual bite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinktravelrepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Joia Risorante ~ An excellent Italian food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Joia offers an excellent selection of wines and great Italian food at reasonable prices for a high end restaurant. Wonderful ambience with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken and Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lunching with three girlfriends, we were very poorly treated by our waiter (tall and bald). He was rude, impatient and rushed us through our lunch .. to the point we were told to hurry up and place a dessert order if we wanted one, as they would be closing. Other tables (of businessmen) were still lingering over their meals, no rush for them. Also, a spritzer glass shattered on the table and there was no apology -in fact my friend was told "well, that's what happens when you order a spritzer!" No, we won't be going there again and are spreading the word.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joia Ristorante also viewed

 
Aurora, Ontario
 

Been to Joia Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing