We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, pub atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albion Hotel

The Albion Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Albion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice food, pub atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were in the Bayfield area and this inn pulled us in with their menu. It was definitely a pub, nothing fancy, but the waitresses were excellent. We did not stay at the inn so I cannot say how the accommodations were, but the food was good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    18
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room was cozy; food in restaurant delicious; hot tub was a blast, place is a bargain & puts you right in heart of Bayfield, just very short walk to beach. Staff and host super-friendly. Two thumbs up for sure!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

For us an afternoon ride on The Harley usually will end at The Albion. The food and great choice of tasty beers makes it a destination.The patio is awesome for vehicle watching.Classic cars,sports cars ,vintage/new motorcycles always going by.Oh yes the waitresses are fun and very good at their job! Never stayed over night,but someday.

Room Tip: Never stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 402tom402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

took a road trip on a Harley Davidson last week for a few days and booked a night at the albion hotel (we have stayed here several times in years past). Excellent hotel with a balcony for all to enjoy overlooking the main street.The restaurant down below was busy but the food was great and so was the service. Great way to spend the day shopping and relaxing on the balcony at the end of the day enjoying the people and the view. Always a great time to be had

Room Tip: book ahead and ask for one of the only two rooms facing the mainstreet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Best damn beef ribs ever Their burgers and wings are excellent
Out server (Liz) was very bubbly and energetic always making sure our dining experience was excellent I would highly recommend this fabulous hotel and dining lounge

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

It's supposed to be a charming historical place kept original. All that means in reality is kind of run down. Somehow it's supposed to be charming.

Anyway, considering it's got a restaurant/bar downstairs I'd expect at least a decent breakfast for the price.

Since this is a hotel and a restaurant there are two separate results on tripadvisor for the Albion, be sure to check both out as they have contrasting reviews. It's funny that the one for the hotel room (this one) is pretty much all good reviews saying great stay, great food. Where as the one for the restaurant has a a number of reviews saying the food, price and service was terrible.

I never ate there. I spent as little time there as possible. It was kind of gross.

$130 a night.. it's a "hotel" in the most technical of terms. Literally it was the last free spot in town when I was there.

Room Tip: Just sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatever m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON ONT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Visit the Albion 6 or 7 times a year, great location on Lake Huron. Food is more than you can eat and moderately priced. The best beer to try is the Black Donnelly on tap, if not familiar with the name I suggest you WIKI "Black Donnellys" ( I'm told there is a museum in Lucan Ont ). The bar has a dining room and a bar side ( best for sports ), the dining room for spl occasions or love on the side rendezvous. If you are on Lake Huron between Sarnia and Kincardine I suggest a great summer fall drive to the Albion

Room Tip: They have rooms but have never stayed over ( bucket list )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
11.5 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
20.6 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#2 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#1 of 9 in Goderich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
4.8 mi away
Brentwood on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albion Hotel

Property: The Albion Hotel
Address: 1 Main St, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Albion Hotel Bayfield, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing