We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Inn of Bayfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Little Inn of Bayfield
Ranked #1 of 8 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,394 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 816 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had heard good things about the Little Inn from several friends, and I'm happy to say that they were right. The inn is charmingly located in an old mansion, quite near Lake Huron. Our room was large and very nicely appointed, with a bathroom to match. A bonus is the dining room, where we enjoyed an excellent dinner and an equally good breakfast. Neither the inn nor the dining room is a bargain, but they are both well worth it. High recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    107
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
309
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I returned with two friends to the Little Inn for a cooking weekend in February, 2012 and we had a great experience. The staff was very accomodating and the food was delicious. We had time to explore the shops in the center of town and to go for a couple of very long walks between the cooking classes. We also had some wonderful food as part of the package. In mid-winter we ate some of the best tomatoes ever!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13bato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Little Inn of Bayfield several and have never been disappointed. The staff is always friendly and accommodating and the food is always amazing. I highly recommend having dinner at the Inn's restaurant, a little bit on the pricey side but you won't be disappointing! Breakfast is delicious too.

During our most recent visit we went on a heritage hike with Tyler Hessel (owner of Outside Projects). If you are interested in learning more about Bayfield's history I highly recommend this tour, Tyler is very knowledgeable. He offers a variety of tours including snowshoeing, hiking, biking, you name it.

And of course, the Bayfield experience wouldn't be complete without visiting the Black Dog Village Pub & Bistro. We enjoyed a delicious lunch and tried some great beers.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I think my favorite room so far has been the Widows Walk (in the 1800's sailor's wives would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Lovely stay! Found this place while searching for a one-night getaway. I was hoping to find something quaint and pet friendly (only certain rooms are designated as pet friendly). Beautiful location in the town of Bayfield on the edge of Lake Huron. We had a loft room - bedroom overlooked the living area. Bathroom had a sucken jacuzzi tub. Gas fireplace. There was a glass door walkout to a deck with chairs and table. Three coarse dinner and breakfast were included in our pkg. Food was excellent!! And staff was wonderful!! I would definitely recommend this little inn and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calindac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We'd booked 2 nights with a breakfast and dinner package for our anniversary. Despite leaving twice the needed travel time, bad weather blocked highways.We were hours away from the inn and the last seating. We called to see what our options were and Nicole said first, we want you to be safe. The Inn graciously changed our reservation to accomodate the situation despite it being a weekend. The service was exceptional, the food fresh and inspired.Pet-friendly rooms were quaint and cosy. The town centre was lively with neat shops yet local streets, trails, and beaches provided for peaceful walking. We will be back and think summer would be fun time of year too.

Room Tip: The Von Egmond pet friendly room has a tree-screened patio and doors that open onto a lawn. Gas fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Little Inn of Bayfield is a quaint hotel buried away on the shores of Lake Ontario about an hours drive west of Stratford, two and a half hours from the West side of Toronto. My wife enjoys the craft and specialty stores while I enjoy reading the newspaper in the hotel lounge with a craft beer. We stayed in the Tiger Dunlap carriage house room. Now the carriage rooms (across the street from the main inn) themselves are a bit dated and old fashioned but we appreciate the advantage of taking our Cocker Spaniel (pets are permitted but their are rules, the rules are reasonable and you leave your cell # with the front desk if you leave the pet in the room alone). This visit we had the most delicious lamb rib eye with local vegetables, I just don't know how they can find such tender choice cuts of meat.
Most of all we like the long walks-new trails to explore, sunsets in Pioneer Park and walking up and down the streets of Bayfield! Simply a rural delight. Third visit.

Room Tip: If you are bringing a pet, ask for one of the Carriage rooms on the ground floor. Simple sliding gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanderson39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

We have been to the Little Inn six times now and every time it is consistent and wonderful. We always stay in the same suite with its relaxing soaker tub and fireplace. I feel like I'm staying in a relative's luxurious guest suite - so homey! The restaurant downstairs is quiet and lovely and the chef makes both delicious dinners and outstanding made-to-order breakfasts (blueberry pancakes and side bacon = amazing!) Also, the town of Bayfield is so quaint and pretty; we always love walking down to the Albion Hotel for lunch and Black Dog Village Pub for dinner on the second night. The Little Inn is a bit pricey, but SO worth it... always melts any stress away!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernStarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
11.3 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
12.9 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#1 of 9 in Goderich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
17.2 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
7.8 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Inn of Bayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Inn of Bayfield

Property: The Little Inn of Bayfield
Address: 26 Main Street North, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Little Inn of Bayfield 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque, heritage village of Bayfield, Ontario, on Lake Huron's sandy shores, The Little Inn provides charming and authentic accommodations and an exceptional culinary experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Little Inn of Bayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Hotel Bayfield
The Little Inn Of Bayfield Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing