We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Little Inn of Bayfield
Ranked #1 of 7 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Little Inn for a long weekend and had a lovely time. The inn is a historical building, which gives it a lot of character, and is located in the heart of Bayfield. The property is well-maintained and warm, and our room was spacious and clean. Our package included breakfast everyday, and we were very pleased with the breakfast offerings. Our room also came with dinner for one night, which we also really enjoyed. We were also able to have them pack up a nice picnic lunch for us one day that we could take out with us. The staff were helpful and friendly, and we would definitely come back to the Little Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff was a pleasure to deal with . The food was incredible ! Our room was cozy , with the added benefit of a fireplace , nice at this time of year . The bathroom was beautiful with a soaker tub & gorgeous stand up shower . A very nice birthday treat !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have been coming to the Little Inn for about 10 years, often with friends, with a group, and this time, just the two of us. The Little Inn is the most wonderful, relaxing escape from the everyday stresses we find in our world today. The inn is peaceful, the staff is absolutely delightful, the food is incredible and while there, one quickly slows down and relaxes.
This time, we sat in the library with the wood fire, reading and simply enjoying the atmosphere of this beautiful, elegant inn.
Thank you to all of you at the Little Inn. Of course, we will keep coming back.
Janet and Paul

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I chose The Little Inn because of the pet friendly option. This meant our stay was in the Guest Cottage. The space itself was nice, with a private porch, fireplace and whirlpool tub. The bathroom was updated, but the bed was not, and while it was a King, it was a little stiff.

The best part of the weekend was the food. The a la carte dinner was EXCELLENT. Every course was interesting and delicious. The breakfast each morning was also great. As a tea lover, it was nice to have interesting varieties to choose from each morning. Breakfast started with a buffet of fresh fruit, bread and loaves (banana or carrot), and was followed by your choice of hot main. The quality of every part of the meals was top notch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LolaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at The Little Inn for a quiet winter weekend getaway. The town of Bayfield was very quiet (some shops were closed for the season), and there was not a lot to do, but we enjoyed strolling down to the lake to take pictures of the ice, then warming up by the lobby fireplace at the Inn with a glass of wine.

We had a room in the main inn. It was clean and comfortable but the furnishings and decor could use an update. It was a little too "1980s country" for our tastes. The bed was comfortable and we liked not having to go outside to get from our room to the main building for dinner (which you would have to do if you stayed in one of the Guest Cottage junior suites). The included breakfast was sufficient and served in a very pleasant setting. Dinner in the main dining room was terrific.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but we left thinking there are some improvements the inn could make to restore its CAA 4-diamond status: improve the lobby bar, redecorate the guest rooms, replace the towels and toiletries.

We will try the Inn again in the summer, when I imagine the town is much more lively.

Room Tip: The rooms vary widely in size and decor. Review them on the Inn's website before choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent_Caius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I escaped to Bayfield for two nights between Christmas and New Year's for a little R & R. The Little Inn has been recommended over the years from friends, so we finally got around to staying there.

We stayed in the Bayfield Select Suite in the cottage across the streen from the main inn. While the inn is aging, it's well attended by the staff who keep it clean and cozy. Our room wasn't very large considering it's the most expensive room you can book, but the amenities appealed to us (gas fireplace, whirlpool tub, private terrace).

The service was good the whole time, but nothing to blow me away. It was typical good customer service.

We dined at the attached restaurant for breakfasts and dinners, which I will review separately in the appropriate section.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlwrldgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This summer my husband and I were married in the back garden of the cottage at the Little Inn. We were looking for a small, intimate wedding with our closest friends and family. Darren and his staff went above and beyond anything we could have expected. Whatever special requests we had they made it happen with many extra little details. The food was delicious, the service was exceptional and everything went off without a hitch. We could not have asked for a more perfect day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
0.7 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
87 reviews
11.3 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
352 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
275 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Loft B&B
The Loft B&B
#3 of 7 in Bayfield
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Inn of Bayfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Inn of Bayfield

Address: 26 Main Street North, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range: £140 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Little Inn of Bayfield 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque, heritage village of Bayfield, Ontario, on Lake Huron's sandy shores, The Little Inn provides charming and authentic accommodations and an exceptional culinary experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Little Inn of Bayfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Hotel Bayfield
The Little Inn Of Bayfield Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing