We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been a better experience”
Review of Angeline's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Angeline's Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Bloomfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could have been a better experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I along with my inlaws stayed in the motel area called "The Walter", we each had our own room. We stayed during the last week of July for two nights.

ACCOMMODATIONS:
The rooms were small, but well maintained and renovated. There wasn't much counter space in the room, but there was a chair so that helped. However there needs to be more counter/storage space in the bathroom - there was no place for our toiletries!

I'm not sure if they replaced the beds or not, but our bed squeaked every time we moved! We were in room 7, so if you can, try to avoid it unless you like waking up every time you move.

CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST:
This is included with your stay at The Walter, the restaurant is very quaint & cute. The breakfast croissants were ok - nothing extraordinary & they were very tiny - that's what's included - so if you want a decent breakfast you need to order from their menu which isn't extensive but the choices were good & had some healthy aspects.
One great thing is the homemade ketchup - it was excellent!

SERVICE:
The hosts seemed nice enough, but didn't really go above and beyond to really stand out in a customer service regard. From what I could decipher there were at least 2 other families staying at the B&B who were French Canadian (My inlaws are French Canadian). The young lady who was waiting on them spoke to them in French and understood it perfectly. However when serving us she would only speak in English, I'm assuming figuring we'd translate for my inlaws. If she were smart she would have gone the extra mile and make the effort to communicate directly with my inlaws as well as my husband and myself. Had she not spoke the language I would of understood, but seeing as she clearly was able to communicate I found it quite insulting on my inlaws behalf.
Coming from a customer service background, number one priority should be servicing the client to the best of your abilities. Especially if you're running your own business. Unfortunately Angeline's didn't meet our expectations; we'll be trying another B&B when we head back to PEC.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 - the bed squeaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACVEGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afida2, Manager at Angeline's Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback it's always important to us.
We were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us in late July. All the rooms are newly renovated including all the beds and all nuts and bolts have been tightened to ensure guests have a restful sleep.

As for service in French as you pointed out we do make an effort to speak it whenever we can. Our heritage is of Swiss decent and so offering service in French (and German) is very important to us. That being said not all of our staff are fluently bilingual and we apologize if speaking in English was insulting to you and your inlaws.

We take every comment very seriously and we hope that you can give us another chance.
Warm regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    48
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
101
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for a weekend getaway from Toronto and had a lovely, relaxing time. Angeline's was the perfect base for exploring the area. It's in Bloomfield, a 2 minute drive/10 minute walk from Main Street (with nice shops and restaurants, including Agrarian Bistro and Speakeasy & Slickers ice cream). Bloomfield is centrally located with Picton to the East and Wellington to the West. Everything is a close drive - Huff Estates winery, Sandbanks Park, the Mustang Drive-In (great fun if you're looking for something to do at night, just be prepared for mosquitos!!).

There are tons of B&B's in the county, but Angeline's came highly recommended by friends - in part, because it is attached to a fabulous restaurant, The Hubb. Great food aside, however, Angeline's feels like home and is so cozy. Many B&B's are a bit more old fashioned in their design and general feel, but Angeline's is different in that it's run by a young-ish (late 20's/early 30's) brother-sister team and the decor is a bit more hip and modern. Rooms are decorated with care. We stayed in the Walter 9, which is quite small, but the use of space is ingenious (sliding door for the washroom, table that folds down, mini ironing board). All rooms have original art work, giving it a boutique-feel. The bed was super comfy. The washroom is stylish, although we wished there was more space to hang things/put your toilettries. A mini fridge would be nice too, to store snacks and wine.

The Walter rooms are separate from the main building, so I found it to be more private. We took a peek into one of the main rooms and they are larger and slightly fancier. The common living room is very inviting with blankets and magazines.

Breakfast was nice. Freshly baked mini croissants and coffee. The only thing is that I found that other B&B's usually include a bit more with breakfast (e.g. fruit, muffins, yogurt). Here we ordered additional breakfast items which came to $20. So it's sort of like a hidden cost (i.e. other B&B's may charge more for the room, but include a full breakfast). Just something to keep in mind. We had dinner there too and the food was phenomenal!! Definitely one of the best restaurants in the county. The patio is just perfect.

Overall, we were delighted with Angeline's and would stay here again on future trips to PEC.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TO-psych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were in the region for a getaway short trip. We were very well greeted by the owner. The room was fabulous. Very spacious and clean. We also ate dinner and breakfast at the Hubb. Succulent and wonderful service. The Inn and its grounds are very well kept and extremely artistic. We very highly recommend this place. Thank you for the fabulous stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
406 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We recently had an overnight visit to Prince Edward County. With three travelling companions, we were looking for accommodations that would handle all three of us together, and we found an ideal spot at Angeline's. This lovely B&B had a cozy one bedroom suite with a queen sized bed for two of us, and a small sitting area that included a pull-out bed for the third; the sitting area had other seating, a flat screen TV, and interesting art work on the walls. The room was very nice, decorated in country chic style, and the bedding was very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side for three, but sufficed for a single night; the shower was large, modern and very comfortable. We stayed on a Sunday night and were the only guests, so the owners let us know we could feel free to peek into the other rooms - each was more lovely than the previous, with one very large room that had a luxurious bathroom suite with gabled windows and very modern facilities - lovely!

There is a common room on the main floor with plenty of seating and reading material - it came in handy when I rose early in the morning before my travelling companions and enjoyed coffee & a book; later I moved to The Hub & enjoyed the company of the owner. On site is a small restaurant, The Hub, where breakfast was served - we had home made croissants, great coffee and jam selections - just right, for us. We were told guests can order a fuller breakfast at an extra charge.

We arrived late Sunday at the Inn, already well into the dinner hour, and realizing we were late on a Sunday night, we asked how long The Hub would remain open for dinner, as we wanted to settle in, clean up. We were told that arriving for dinner any time up to 8:30pm would be fine, but when we arrived for dinner at 8pm, were told main courses were no longer being offered and only appetizers were on the menu, with no apologies for the mis-communication we had received upon arrival. Since we had specifically asked about the dinner hour, this was a little bothersome. However, the appetizers were delicious and we made a dinner out of them. A small irritant in on overall very positive experience.

We really enjoyed Angeline's, and I recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: The Inn is on a busy road; in the evening, traffic dies down quickly at dark and there are no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VNKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afida2, Manager at Angeline's Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your comments,
We do appreciate your feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay overall. We do apologize for the misunderstanding on our behalf regarding dining hours that evening. We are glad that you you enjoyed the meal and hope to see you another time.
Kind regards,
Alex Fida owner of Angeline's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed in the Nixon Suite last summer, and I wish I had taken photos of the room - unique and beautiful. The staff was accommodating and friendly. I remember the food being really yummy too.

I'm planning another visit to the wineries this summer, and we will be more than likely staying at Angeline's again. I read they are opening a vintage store this summer, and I'm sure it won't disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Angeline's over the May long weekend. Just a little piece of heaven in the county. If you are coming to PEC for wine touring, then we cannot recommend enough that you book a room at Angeline's and plan to take a good number of your meals at The Hubb (the in-house restaurant). The Hubb has delightful atmosphere, a great local wine selection, amazing food, and authentic local charm without an ounce of pretension.

The accommodations are top-notch. We were booked in the Walter, which is adjacent to the main house, and is essentially a completely revitalized 1950s motel. The design is simple, clean and practical, with accents of local art and well-chosen antiques. Your host, Alex, will instantly make you feel at home and completely taken care of. From providing wine glasses so we could enjoy our local wine purchases, to directing us to the best wineries in the region, Alex went out of his way to make our stay memorable. We were able to have a look at the suites in the main house as well, and all our simply gorgeous.

There are many small, off-the-beaten-track places that you could have missed if you were only going by the tourist maps; a particular favourite of ours (recommended by our host) is Old Third vineyards, which specializes in Pinot Noir. Lighthall and Karlo Estates were also favourites.

With regard to the dining, the restaurant has a great selection of tapas and mains. During our stay, tapas on offer included beef tartar, mussels, and seasonal soup. Mains included scallops, beef brisket, and pappardelle pasta. All were delicious, with locally-sourced ingredients. It's also worth mentioning that there is a well-stocked bar, with an excellent selection of cocktails.

P.S. The Mustang drive-in was also a fun experience for us, and is only a 5-minute drive from Angeline's.

Final word: just book it. But don't tell too many people about it ;)

Room Tip: Our go-to room (we didn't stay there but loved it when we poked our head in) would be the Master...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_J-square
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stumbled onto this place while searching for a place to stay for my partner's bday and it surpassed all expectations. Stylish and trendy but not pretentious and amazingly friendly and accommodating owners and staff. Great location in Bloomfield and super close to a large number of the wineries which we were able to bike to. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkillins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
3.0 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
5.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
5.5 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
6.1 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angeline's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angeline's Inn

Property: Angeline's Inn
Address: 433 Main Street | Hwy 33, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angeline's is known for its fine dining and creative cuisine. Surrounded by flowering gardens which border on sweeping country fields, Angeline's offers a tranquil stay for the discerning traveler. Recently added: a new master suite with its antiques and original works of art. Arts or well-being workshops offered in Angeline's Studios. Browse among Bloomfield's unique village shops, some of which have special arrangements with Angeline's for late-night shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angeline`s Restaurant Hotel Bloomfield
Angeline`s Restaurant And Inn
Angeline's Inn Bloomfield, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing