We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling cheated......”
Review of Angeline's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Angeline's Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Bloomfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Feeling cheated......”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

After a day on Sandbanks beach we decided on impulse to stay in the county overnight. We were a group of 7 including two elderly grandparents. My wife called Angeline's and was offered the "Picton House", owned or managed by Angeline's for $360, which we accepted. When we arrived in Bloomfield an hour later (pretty much committed at this point), the price had mysteriously increased to $420 because we were 7 people - something we had made clear on the phone.

Still feeling a little ripped off, when we got to the house (which has a certain old world charm) we discovered that it really isn't suitable for 7 anyway, but we were committed at that point. There are two double bedrooms which are fine. The third is really a single and the, so called, queen air bed is also a single. The house really sleeps 5 in beds and a sixth on the air bed in the living room.

The house was clean and suitable for one or two nights for up to five people. It is not worth $360 a night and as Ontarians I feel embarrassed to point out how we were gouged.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank English-Exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afida2, Owner at Angeline's Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear English-Exile,
Thank you for your feedback, it's always important to us.
We were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us last week. As you stated you did book the 2500 square foot Picton house last minute on the Friday before the long weekend. Unfortunately all the other accommodations at our site had been booked months in advance. The only unit available was our 3 bedroom house located in Picton. The rate of the Picton house is 360 dollars for 4 people if booked for one night. Each additional person above that is 20 dollars. Normally the house is more appropriate for up to 5-6 people however we supplied a single size air mattress to accommodate your large group (in addition to the 2 queen size beds and 1 double bed).
As you may have found Prince Edward County had no vacancy for that night, particularly for so many people. Had you expressed that the house was not suitable for your family we would have gladly released you from any obligation.
Thank you for your feedback as our goal is to offer the best experience for all of our guests.
We hope you give us another chance in the future.
Warm Regards,
Alex Fida owner of Angeline's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    50
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
103
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked well in advance, requesting a room in the Walters. On arrival( we were a little early but had leave and come back later as our room was not ready) our room was apparently wheelchair accessible. which we did not need and would not have been a problem except for the fact the roll in shower in the bathroom was ridiculous.. the entire bathroom floor flooded every time we had a shower. I tried to damn the water with one of the very sparse towels (no bathmat) only one very tiny shelf above the sink to accommodate the toiletries for a couple. The room was clean and the décor was quite nice. There were some hooks on the wall to hang our clothes but nowhere to put shoes, purchases etc. no closet,.everything had to gather on the floor. ridiculous. our "included continental breakfast" consisted of one croissant each and coffee. (no fruit) I am wheat intolerant so that didn't work for me..we were able to buy a very nice breakfast but that was an unexpected additional cost. on the second morning we were offered fruit juice!
My overall opinion was that this certainly had the potential to be quite a nice inn but I felt that the owners had cheaped out in several areas. it really wasn't the comfortable feeling that most inns offer.

Room Tip: room one in the walters is closest to the road...a bit too noisy for me..also the motel type rooms m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacBheathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afida2, Owner at Angeline's Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback, it's always important to us. We were sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us the past week. Our customer satisfaction is our priority.
You indeed did stay in the wheelchair accessible room in the Walter and we are sorry that the roll-in shower in the bathroom didn't meet your expectations. As you may have noticed the entire bathroom is tiled as to allow people in wheelchairs to shower with greater ease. The entire floor is designed in such a way that it can get wet...we apologize that it disturbed your stay.
As described on the website and as noted when you made the reservation our light breakfast is a complimentary addition to your stay. We also have a full breakfast menu available at a surcharge. We are more than willing to accommodate food intolerances and with a bit of notice we would have gladly provided gluten free items.
Again, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and we hope that you give us another chance.
Warm regards,
Alex Fida owner of Angeline's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Although our stay was short, (one night), Angeline's was the everything we hoped it would be and more. Quaint but thoroughly modern. Beautiful, clean room (we stayed in the Green Room); well-priced and personal, friendly service that really made us feel right at home. Our stay included great coffee and fresh croissants on the veranda the next morning. Our dinner at the Inn's restaurant The Hubb Eatery was amazing. Great menu with lots of variety, delicious, seasonal, elegant dishes, great local wines. Our host Laura shared her top pics for local winery tours. All-in-all a wonderul experience, highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Green Room is near the front doors of the Inn, small but beautiful and clean - nice shower. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This inn has a great location being half way between the beautiful Sandbanks beaches and some of the best wineries in the County such as Norman Hardie and Hinterland.

I stayed in the coach house loft which was a small separate building at the back of the parking lot, it kinda felt like an extension of the parking lot in certain respects. There wasn't a lot of privacy, no private outdoor space and no views other than watching and hearing people get into their cars.

The upstairs loft bedroom area was lovely, it had a big comfortable bed and couches with a nice big screen TV. The whole place had a very found pieces quirkiness to it, the bathroom was overrun with knick knacks so no where to put your toiletries etc. Although the actual fixtures were fairly sleek with a bit of a higher-end feel to it. In the main living area there were books and bits everywhere - so if sleek modern minimalist spaces is your thing this isn't it.

The "fully-equipped" kitchen was a compact kitchenette but it had great higher-end appliances such as a generous stainless steel fridge. Unfortunately the fully-equipped was a bit misleading as a lot of basic necessities were missing such as serving spoons or a peeler. But if you needed a quirky impractical sort-of-mug like thing it's there, with it's friends.

There was another large TV on the main level with lots of channel selections and the free wifi was a great plus and worked well.

On my final day, I needed to wait for some family members to pick me up. Check-out was 11am so I walked up to the front desk in the morning and asked if I could have half an hour more as I was being picked up at 11:30am. I was told no, they needed to get in the room. So I was forced to hang-out in the parking lot which I now know quite well with all my stuff for half an hour. Left a really bad final impression on me. I'm not likely to ever come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afida2, Owner at Angeline's Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Chris,
Thank you for taking the time to write us. Your comments are important to us as they allow us to evolve and grow.
Normally we would have been able to accommodate your late check-out request however the guests arriving after you had requested an early check-in. As the unit is over 850 square feet it takes our staff a couple of hours to thoroughly clean the unit.
As for the missing peeler and serving spoons we would have promptly provided them for you had it been brought to our attention. We have looked into the matter of replacing these items.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and please know that we make every effort to make all of our guest stay as enjoyable as possible.
We hope that you can give us another chance.
Warm regards,
Alex Fida owner of Angeline's Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've stayed at Angelines three times now: first time in the Chalet rooms now known as the Walter, then inside the Inn and most recently back in the Walter. The rooms in the Walter have been updated and renovated and they are beautiful. (I did miss having a small fridge in the room though!) From our arrival at checkin, to showing my friends the beautiful rooms in the Inn, to dinner in The Hubb, our experience was first class. The staff as always were very friendly. I missed saying hello to Monika ... so hello Monika! I highly recommend Angelines for anyone visiting PEC. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the Walter are perfect. During the summer, you can sit outside and enjoy the amb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxhillOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 lovely nights and we couldn't be happier to have stumbled upon this gem by accident. Our suite was clean and stylish and the service we received was above and beyond, both at the inn and at the restaurant where we dined both nights. Can't wait to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed June 2013.

We arrived to find out that the Cottage wouldn't fit us all so they offered to move us to the Picton House which was perfect!! Had been there before and stayed in one of their Inn rooms. Overall the place is clean and the furniture in good shape, beds are clean, and linens are high quality.

The restaurant was nothing short of AMAZING. Do go dine there even you are not a guest.

Staff is friendly, helpful, and very careful, they actually want you enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
3.0 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
409 reviews
5.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
456 reviews
5.5 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
103 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angeline's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angeline's Inn

Property: Angeline's Inn
Address: 433 Main Street | Hwy 33, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angeline's is known for its fine dining and creative cuisine. Surrounded by flowering gardens which border on sweeping country fields, Angeline's offers a tranquil stay for the discerning traveler. Recently added: a new master suite with its antiques and original works of art. Arts or well-being workshops offered in Angeline's Studios. Browse among Bloomfield's unique village shops, some of which have special arrangements with Angeline's for late-night shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angeline`s Restaurant Hotel Bloomfield
Angeline`s Restaurant And Inn
Angeline's Inn Bloomfield, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing