We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Century House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Bloomfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is the third year we've stayed at Century House. Ken and Sandra are excellent hosts from the moment we arrive to the moment we reluctantly depart.
The accommodations are beautiful, charming and well appointed. Ken's breakfasts are delicious and creative. Ask for the yogurt and granola for breakfast!

We plan to visit Century House every year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty and include black out curtains. Each room has a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BonnieandMichelleCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Beautiful House, wonderful room for a girls getaway, 3 women, 3 beds all to our own. Bathroom down the hall, large and clean. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and kept us full until dinner. Ken is a wonderful cook. Sandra is quiet and welcoming, and very knowledgeable of the area. Sandra's garden was gorgeous.

Room Tip: Great room for girls getaway. A bit noisy at night, children playing outside, and lawn mowers in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blueislandgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

In summary: the owners were welcoming; the room was clean, comfortable, spacious and well-appointed; and the breakfasts quite delicious.

Here’s a little more detail. In summer, the front gardens of the house are almost an attraction in themselves. They are lovely, and the owners have provided some comfortable places to sit and enjoy them. Sandra is a knowledgeable gardener and is happy to explain where the plants came from and how they are maintained. Entering the house, you remove your street shoes. The lobby and sitting room are pleasant and comfortable, although we made little use of them. The stairs are a little steep and curvy, not easy with suitcases, but manageable. The room we had was attractive, clean and comfortable. One ‘feature’ is that your private bathroom is a few steps down the hall, so you will need a robe (white fluffy one provided) if you visit it at night. The wifi worked well. An air conditioner was available, but our nights were comfortable with just the window opening.

Ken cooked our breakfasts, and they were both interesting and very tasty. Ken was happy to tell you how each plate was prepared; he is clearly knowledgeable and skilled. Any special requests for food and drink were no problem to meet.

Century House will be our first choice for accommodation when we come back again.

Room Tip: Don't forget to bring some indoor shoes or slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mr_Toad_of_Toad_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay on our recent trip to Bloomfield. We felt right at home staying at the Century House. We loved the soothing atmosphere, the quaint details of the house and, of course, the fabulous breakfasts. If you enjoy beautiful gardens, and songbirds, this is a wonderful place to stay. Ken and Sandra were absolutely charming hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed in many B&B's over the years, and Century House is truly one of the best. Sandra and Ken make everyone feel so at home. My husband and I were one of their first guests 14 years ago and like fine County Wine, Sandra and Ken just get better and better. "Lovely, relaxing, charming" is just the beginning of many wonderful words to describe this beautiful oasis. Sandra and Ken are also very warm and kind and make Century House a perfect retreat. Sandra's gardens are beautiful and Ken is a great breakfast chef, especially his blueberry pancakes! See you soon.
Bernie and Lynne

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

While I'm happy to admit I didn't stay here, I did try to book for a weekend in the summer, and when I tried to change the reservation to one day instead of the 2 days for the weekend, I was told I couldn't do it. I then replied that that was fine, I'd pay for the second day (as I had a wedding to attend). The response received to that was a snarky - 'you'd be better off somewhere else'. Yikes.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were very lucky to have stayed here! It was just lovely. The house retains its original charm and it beautifully maintained. The garden is beautiful with many beautiful birds. The hosts were just lovely and treated us wonderfully. The breakfasts were just wonderful. The town had many lovely things to see. We went for drives to nearby restaurants and attractions which were delightful. I just adored it - we both did!

The hosts gave us great advice on how to make the most of our stay. Their breakfasts were actually superior to some of the nearby restaurants!

We hope to make a return visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SedonaRedRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
2.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
452 reviews
4.6 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
6.1 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
118 reviews
6.6 mi away
Newsroom Suites
Newsroom Suites
#4 of 13 in Wellington
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 192 Main Street, Ontario, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomfield
Price Range: £58 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance of the past is yours to enjoy in this beautiful Victorian home located in the quaint Loyalist town of Bloomfield. Only a short walk to local shops, artisan studios, art galleries, tea rooms, fine restaurants and only minutes away from Sandbanks Provincial Park. There are three charming air conditioned rooms to choose from, each with private bathroom, decorated in Victorian style. A gourmet breakfast is served in the wood panelled formal dining room. From $100 single rate per night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Century House Bed And Breakfast Bloomfield, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing