We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganized & Unprofessional!”

Fields on West Lake
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fields on West Lake
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disorganized & Unprofessional!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I booked two rooms online a month in advance and received a phone call five days before our intended stay from the owners, who said that they did not have room for us. We were going to Picton for our friends wedding and they put a damper on the weekend before we had even arrived. They arranged to put us in a much more expensive Inn and did not even seem apologetic. They were very disorganized, rude and unprofessional. My friend who did stay there said the room she was put in was reminiscent of a bedroom from a horror film.

Room Tip: Don't bother with them, and if you do decide to stay there, don't book online because they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Fields on West Lake, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
We are so sorry this happened to you Liz. We are absolutely appalled when there is a double booking here and will readily admit that this was not the only time this happened. We had run our Inn for many years without incident but were approached by an online booking service to use their services. We thought we would give them a try. We priced a mid-week rate because we are not available from May 1st to November 1st on any weekend as we exclusively reserve all of our rooms for our onsite wedding clients. We have since cancelled our relationship with the booking firm and now only accept reservations directly through our email or should they call our main phone number we then direct them to email their request. By returning to our own booking system (yes its old school) we think this has addressed this dreaded issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    3
    0
    6
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, QC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Arrived for a wedding held on site. Had all the rooms in the main house booked as well as the carriage house. The rooms were all very clean and pristine. Each room had it's own bathroom that was recently renovated so it was very enjoyable. The carriage house slept 7 people comfortably between the two rooms. It was perfect for all the bridesmaids together! Breakfast was beautiful every day, and very generous. David, the innkeeper was alwways available to answer any questions or get us anything we needed.

The wedding was absolutely beautiful and the setup was gorgeous. It looked like a scene out of Martha Stewart Wedding magazine. Lynn and Mark did an amazing job, and all the guests were in awe of how beautiful the venue was.

All in all if you are looking for a country style wedding venue, I would definitely recommend this place. There were a large number of B and B s in the area and all the wedding guests found accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetShann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Owner at Fields on West Lake, responded to this review, 15 December 2014
Thank you for this lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
6.7 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
420 reviews
9.0 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#2 of 13 in Wellington
224 reviews
3.1 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
469 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fields on West Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fields on West Lake

Property: Fields on West Lake
Address: 15786 Loyalist Pky, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bloomfield
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Fields On West Lake Bloomfield, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing