We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip”
Review of Huff Estates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huff Estates
Ranked #3 of 12 Bloomfield B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and I recently got back from a two night stay at Huff Estates.
Our room was excellent. We had a premier suite with a living room. It had a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub and a patio that looked out onto the vineyards. It was perfectly romantic and a nice place to come home to after being out all day. We did the complementary tour of the winery - somewhat limited as they were moving stuff around. The wines were nice - some I liked more than others. One afternoon we enjoyed a glass and a cheese plate out side of hte tasting room. Plus, they also have a nice little art gallery. I would go back. Didn't really interact with the staff at the inn at all beyond check in, but the cleaning staff were very pleasant and friendly.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovesTravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    87
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
145
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I would highly recommend a stay here if you like good service. Wonderful people!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My wife and I were looking for a getaway in eastern Ontario and found the Huff site online via Ontario’s Finest. We were one of 2 sets of guests staying with them – probably related to the time of year and blizzard outside. Front desk service was good although they seemed cold (in attitude, not the weather). We enjoyed wine tasting and a private tour. We purchased wine for ourselves and as gifts for friends (since we enjoyed it). The rooms were like new as far as cleanliness, and very comfortable. The bathroom had a wonderful over-sized tub with TV which was perfect to unwind in after venturing outside in the blizzard. The breakfast we had in the morning was not very good (reheated continental) but the staff attending to it were kind and made up for it. We were there for wine, not breakfast anyway. Overall a great experience and the local towns/restaurants were fun to explore even in the ‘off season’.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We booked one night at Huff over the long weekend because it was one of only two nicer modern-style accommodations in PEC (the other is Newsroom Suites in Wellington) that didn't have the ridiculous "2 night minimum" rule. Also, Huff stood out because a basic room (including hot breakfast buffet, wine tour and tasting, 2 double beds, shower, fireplace, flat tv, fridge, desk, chair, plus 2 armchairs!) costs only $179 plus HST ($202) per night. This is great value compared to most inns in Picton area.

Our positive first impression carried through our entire stay. I'm extremely critical of small details, and noticed that even their towels were thick and in good condition. There was an iron, ironing board, luggage stool, private patio with table and chairs, and you can borrow a dvd player and many movies from the front desk.

My partner's only complaints were the noisier-than-usual air conditioner, and the difficulty in obtaining the perfect temperature in the shower (a problem I didn't have). We missed out on the winery tour which runs every hour on the hour starting at 11 and ending at 5, but we managed to taste most of the wines before the shop closed at 6. They were sold out of their famous sparkling, but their reds wowed, along with the very tasty award-winning chardonnay. Their small limited restaurant is only open during tour hours.

Our room was closest to the common area, so we thought it would be noisy, but we weren't disturbed by any other guests in the morning. (Breakfast begins at 7 am and we only got going after 9).

We thought the breakfast buffet would have been a bit better with real (instead of prefab) bacon and better sausages, though it was great to get fresh berries and a whole variety of breads, along with french toast, pancakes, scrambled eggs, egg burritos, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, and much more. The breakfast room experience reminded me of staying at hotels in Europe, and had a nice view of a waterfall courtyard. The staff were friendly and items were restocked with a bit of patience.

My main complaint is the absence of enough King rooms. Most rooms have two double beds, which most couples would find cramped. Only Queen and King beds are designed for taller people! Finding double beds mystifies me in newer properties.

Front desk staff provided a friendly and speedy check-in and checkout.

Overall, Huff is a world-class facility akin to most winery resorts in other countries such as Australia.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThingsToEatandDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed in the winemaker`s suite and were blown away.

It was especially nice since we had just come from a nearby hotel in Belleville that was run down and grubby. What a fabulous difference!

The suite is spectacular. The photos online don`t do it justice.

Yes, it`s true that sound travels and whenever people walk by in the hall it`s pretty loud. However, at night, there were no disturbances.

We ordered a wine, cheese and chocolate platter because we were celebrating our 1st anniversary. It was delicious, and the room was so comfortable, we ended up getting a couple of bottles of wine and just staying in. Very relaxing and exactly what one expects from a romantic getaway!

Friendly staff, and despite some construction on the grounds and the summer awning not being up on our outdoor patio...it lay on the ground outside the window, and was a slight eyesore, but nothing major...we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The jet soaker tub, the king size bed, the comfortable sofa, the convenient dining area and the abundance of closet space combined to make us feel very pampered and relaxed.

We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrylola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

In our opinion, Huff Estates does not pay attention to the details of good service and the extra amenitites which distinguish an average hotel from a very good one. For the price we paid for a premium room we expected a little more in the way of first class accomodations.
Our room was very clean at first glance, but don't look behind the night stand, and the toiletries could have been replaced when the room was redone.
Our patio faced the courtyard. Perhaps the Inn could afford to pull the weeds around the yard, and get rid of the wasp's nest beside our room. Some comfortable cushions could be provided for the very hard metal chairs on the patio, the wobbly table might be repaired, and the half dead planter of flowers could be replanted.
Breakfast was good, but again, I've enjoyed meals in far nicer surroundings.
When we checked out one night early we were not asked if anything was awry, only met with a grumble.
At best Huff Estates seems to be little more than an upscale motel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chels503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We spent 2 nights at Huff Estates in a premiere suite (we had the balloon suite). They did a great job on the room. Very comfortable living room area (so much so we ordered pizza in one night and watched movies and relaxed), very large bathroom that has a flat screen TV and sep. tub and shower and very comfortable bed. There is a fireplace that divides the bedroom and living room. Loved having our own patio where we could sit and relax. Breakfast was included and was fine--eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, etc. The grounds were very nicely landscaped as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwall1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
5.8 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
7.6 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
103 reviews
6.1 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
458 reviews
5.3 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huff Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huff Estates

Property: Huff Estates
Address: 2274 County Rd 1, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomfield
Hotel Class:3 star — Huff Estates 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Huff Estates Hotel Bloomfield
Huff Estates Bloomfield, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing