We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in a hotel with the dog” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bowmanville
Certificate of Excellence
linzmkin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time in a hotel with the dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We found this hotel kind of last minute because we had to unexpectedly bring our dog with us.

The charge for dogs is an extra $25 which I found reasonable.

The pool area was nice and the temperature of the pool was nice and warm. I found the pool a little deeper than the posted signs. Maybe they over filled the pool.

The breakfast was good and the room was clean with a fridge.

There is not a lot in the immediate area but there is a Timmys/Wendy's right there. There is a Walmart within 10 minutes drive. Its also close to the highway.

Would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank linzmkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay (and hope your dog enjoyed his first hotel stay, too).

We look forward to having you visit us again!

Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    71
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
32
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked via Hotwire for a night we were playing at a late-night gig nearby, and needed a local place to crash, after. Called ahead (after booking), and the staff were helpfully able to upgrade us from two Queens to a single King.
Also, we were able to negotiate a very late checkout (1pm), although I had to sign up for Holiday Inn's points program. Only took a few minutes, so I was happy to.
Room was clean, staff were friendly & helpful. Thanks!

Room Tip: Regardless of how you book, call the hotel directly afterward and see if any adjustments can be made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank semiscient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

You can always call the hotel if you have questions. We will do everything we can to assist. I'm glad we were able to make your stay a little more comfortable!

Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Checked in due to bad weather for travel on the 401 and was surprised with the contrast from my stay a week earlier at a Holiday Inn Express in Ottawa. As we booked from the car I didn't enter our IHG Rewards Club number and the reception staff couldn't locate it on the computer and had to enter all info manually with many sighs. We were given a good "storm" rate which was appreciated but were then advised that my credit card would be authorized for the rate plus 10%. As there is nothing in the hotel to buy - no bar, no shop, no restaurant, no mini-bar - I questioned why the additional funds and was advised that it was for incidentals such as long distance calls. This was a first for me at a Holiday Inn and seemed symbolic of the management attitude. Room was clean and functional but very low budget with the smallest flat screen I've ever seen and simply didn't compare to the Ottawa Nepean property.

Power went off in the night and the synthetic blanket was less than adequate. Trekked down the six flights with our luggage in the early morning and staff were available with flashlights on the second floor in the stairwell. Tried to speak to front desk staff that 611 (?) was safe and checking out but no one was interested. Some emergency management training is recommended. Understandably no breakfast was available but the computer was able to charge our account the full storm rate.

No joy at the Holiday Inn Express in Bowmanville. I'd recommend you stay elsewhere. The dollar reigns rather than client service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

I'm so sorry that you found our service lacking. As the entire GTA was in a state of emergency and we were offering a discounted rate (not a rate increase) for those of the hundreds of thousands of poor citizens without power who were able to make it to our location, we provided exemplary service, especially when factoring in that many of our staff (including myself) were also without power in our own homes, for our own families, for several days.
Every hotel you stay at pre-authorizes your credit card. Most hotels do this behind the scenes as their system is interfaced. The new chip technology to enhance the client's credit card security is, unfortunately, not presently compatible with all property management systems, ours included. This is rapidly changing as technology advances.
The pre-authorization is for room and tax plus 10% in the event of incidental charges (laundry or long distance). If you do not incur any of those charges, your bill will reflect a final total of room and tax only. I hope this clears up any confusion.
We would have provided the Express Checkout form under your door illustrating this had the power not been turned off to our area overnight so that the Hydro companies, who were working diligently (and are still staying with us today, trying to restore all service to the area), could facilitate necessary repairs, allowing many of the people in our town (and the surrounding towns) to have lights and heat for Christmas in the -16 degree temperatures. We were grateful to hear (although after the fact) that the outage experienced at the hotel was planned and implemented during the times it would offer the least inconvenience to the residents affected. Unfortunately, even today, many people are still without.
As I worked alone on the desk until 3pm Sunday trying to deal with the massive, unexpected influx of reservations and phone calls from desperate people, with sometimes so many lines on hold that the system wasn't able to handle another incoming call, if you had to wait I apologize. It was completely and totally unavoidable.
The other emails, comments and letters we received commending us for how well we handled the emergency were very much appreciated, and I am very proud of the professionalism and dedication shown by each and every employee of this hotel and have told them so, personally. I'm going to conclude this by saying that I hope each and every one of the guests who had to stay with us during this awful time are now warm and safe in their homes and I sincerely hope that, despite the circumstances, they all had a wonderful holiday.

Should you have any additional questions or comments, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Kim Shields
Front Office and Sales Manager
905-697-8089 ext 153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Just checked in after a nice but long day of travel and visiting. Hailie at the front desk efficiently checked us in and then brought me some milk for our tea. Very much appreciated. I love when there's good value and a personal touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I will ensure that I pass on your kind words to Hailie. She will love knowing that she made a difference.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you're in town!

Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office & Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
400 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business for a week and booked through Priceline.com. Overall it was as expected, was not overly busy, overly loud and was clean. The rooms were cleaned daily and not a thing of mine was touched. The breakfast in the morning was decent with eggs, pancakes, cereals, fruits, juices, breads, a meat (sausage or bacon) which is all included. The front desk was accommodating when I asked them a question. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Motorbragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you visit again, the next time you're in town.

Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here on and off all month. I'll be honest it was Nothing special but way better then crappy hotel. Hot tub was out of order one day of our stay, wifi didn't always work. Rooms were always tidy (but often a bit of dust was found in our rooms around tv and lamps primarily).
On our first night stay I gave my husband trouble for having smelly feet .......to later find a pair of someone else's socks at the head of the bed when packing our stuff up the next day! I left a note in room for housekeeping because as much as it shouldn't happen I'm sure it does!!
Used it often sun-fri seldom on weekends really wish they would offer a deeper discount or after 3 nights one free (gets pricey even with a discount, would have stayed a lot more if they could have got price around $100 a night with tax!).

Overall not perfect but much better then most and as much as I'm usually not one to review hotels. I would still reccomend this one!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewhotelmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review.
I'm sorry for the issues you experienced and will bring your concerns up with housekeeping.
Please, if you have a problem with a room, mention the stay date and the room number in your review. This allows us to take up the issue with the specific staff members responsible.
We pride ourselves on cleanliness here, and receive compliments with every inspection. We want to ensure that we are consistently providing service to the high standards our guests have come to expect from us.

We look forward to having you visit us again next time you are in Bowmanville.

Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office and Sales Manager
905-697-8089 ext 153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

There wasn't anything remarkable here. Standard rooms are pretty newly furnished. Bathrooms are spotless. Breakfast is good - but could use some healthier options and larger eating area.
Didn't get to the pool - but it looked good/small.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.
IHG relies heavily on guest feedback when setting their brand standards so it's very important to have your say regarding what you would like to see on the breakfast buffets.
Keep the comments coming!
Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office and Sales Manager
905-697-8089 ext 153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmanville
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bowmanville
#2 of 3 in Bowmanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Address: 37 Spicer Sq, Bowmanville, Ontario L1C 5M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bowmanville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bowmanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing