We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rubbs Barbecue Bistro - CLOSED

Rubbs Barbecue Bistro
Cuisines: Barbecue, Canadian
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you love BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a good bbq place but has a limited menu. we loved the BBQfood, I just did not like the sides, coleslaw, beans,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherrill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner time...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Good food, and lots of it! Loved the mashed potatoes and pulled pork sandwich... Wait time was minimal and desserts looked good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“yuck !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have tried this place 4 different times , first time I was not impressed , second time I was not impressed , 3rd time not impressed , 4th time sealed the deal..... I do not recommend this place .

On my 4th visit ( which was not my choice ) my boss sent me over to get some take out lunch for us , upon my arrival , ,the owner was in the kitchen area cooking and on the phone , a server came and took my order , it was just 2 burgers and potato wedges . I noticed while waiting for my order , they had ribs thawing out in the soup warmer , since being in the cooking industry for 20 plus years , I cant tell you this is NOT a good thing.

After getting my order , took 20 mins to get and the owner was still cooking and talking on the phone , got back to work with our lunch and the potato wedges were still hard in the middle and the burger was nothing special .

The other times I went the food was nothing to brag about either , with every bite it reminded me and tasted like I was eating a smoky house fire , had the brisket once and it was dry and another time I opted for the rib's , they were dry and not fall off the bone kind , had to fight to get the meat off the bones .

Do yourself a favour , go a few doors down to Capers and have a good meal !!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gelaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Mediocre. Been there twice and both times they got the order wrong. The food wasn't really that good. Must survive selling alcohol.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The restaurant has a split personality and it shows in the food and service. It's not sure whether it really want to be a take-out or an eat in.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldineOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubbs Barbecue Bistro also viewed

Campbellford, Trent Hills
Campbellford, Trent Hills
 
Campbellford, Trent Hills
Campbellford, Trent Hills
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing