We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buoy's Eatery

Buoy's Eatery
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Gore Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Buoys Eatery is ideally located at the heart of the picturesque Gore Bay waterfront. We offer a waterfront patio and a lovely inside dining room both Licensed by the AGCO. Buoys uses as many local (Manitoulin) and fresh ingredients a seasonally possible including locally caught whitefish, our own freshly made pizzas, seasonal vegetables and much more. Please visit our web page for the days we're open. Our hours are limited this time of year. We will be closed for the months of January, Febuary and March.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband is picky where he eats and was hesitant to stop here but we were very plesantly surprised. The food was excellent - pizza, hummus (huge serving), salad - and the service was good too. We sat outside and had a nice view of the bay and, as we were finishing our meal, a guitarist began playing quietly in the corner adding to the charming atmosphere. I would recommend this place to any traveler on the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    48
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had the special Pulled pork sandwich which was very good.The place was busy but the service was good.Also a good selection of beer and ale. It was a nice day. We sat outside on the deck.It was very pleasant with a great view of the bay

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pizza is to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had a the pleasure of visiting Gore Bay towards the end of September and visited Buoys. I was working with the good people from Manitoulin Transport and they explained that we simply had to go to Buoys. The proprietor was incredibly cordial and the pizza was so good, I had to go back the following day. It really rounded out my experience and trip to Gore Bay. I highly recommend stopping in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view, great pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Great pizza, friendly service! Definitely stop by for a meal. The location is great and the view is beautiful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Last place for food in Gore Bay since it is end of season. Even though, apparently, our order ticket didn't make it to the kitchen, we enjoyed the food from local farmers although I wouldn't add hot banana peppers to the quesadillas. Not everyone's taste.

Service was friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mizz-Andry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buoy's Eatery also viewed

Gore Bay, Manitoulin Island
 
Little Current, Manitoulin Island
Providence Bay, Manitoulin Island
 

Been to Buoy's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing