We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Certificate of Excellence
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We rented a suite. Our friends were right next door in a deluxe room. Others joined us for dinner. The suite was amazing. Clean, bright, spacious. Large windows on two side, ample comfortable seating, perfect for drinks and apps before dinner. Small wet bar with frig, dining room table, room to spread out. Dinner was served at a gracious pace, no rushing, no pressure. I would most definitely do this again for New Year's and most likely at any time of the year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Alayne S,

Thank you for your wonderful reveiw in regards to your recent stay with us this past New Years'. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a superb dinner. Our Premium Suites are vary spacious and certainly are a great room to provide a small gathering of friends before and after dinner.

We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brittany Labrie
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    101
    44
    21
    19
See reviews for
76
193
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We decided to splurge a little and spend a fabulous evening at the Elm Hurst for New Years. From the moment we arrived until our check out, the service and hospitality were beyond our expectations. The front desk staff that checked us in stated our room was ready early and was very friendly, smiling the entire time we conversed. The room was beautiful and spotless. Not a single thing out of place. The complimentary water bottles, although seemingly a small thing were a wonderful surprise. The room and bathroom were quite spacious and felt very luxurious. Bathrobes for us to use was a nice touch. Champagne and truffles in our room, definitely set the atmosphere of pampering and excellent service. We had an amazing dinner buffet that was superb. I did not try the desserts because I ate too much at the buffet but have had it before and it was excellent previously. The buffet/food presentation was great and all looked great. We had table side service for the evening which was great. The entertainment-Buble tribute was wonderful. He had an amazing voice and kept the whole crowd, of mixed ages up dancing. At midnight we were all given complimentary champagne which was a nice touch. Breakfast buffet the next morning was delicious. Prior to leaving on New Year's Day, we took a walk around the grounds and Inn. Every room was impeccably decorated and although winter time, the grounds were beautiful. Check out was again an easy process with wonderful front desk staff. I did not want to leave!! I cannot wait until my next stay at the Elm Hurst Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Sandra G,

Thank you for your wonderful review in regards to your recent stay with us. We are happy you had an enjoyable and memorable time celebrating the new year with us. As our staff appreciation party is coming shortly I will ensure to pass these wonderful comments to my fellow co-workers on a job well done.

We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brittany Labrie
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I commend the Elmhurst Inn for hosting such a fabulous New Year's Eve venue! Thank you to all staff who made our stay a memorable way to bring in the 2014 year. Brittany at reception was exemplary with kindness and was very welcoming and accommodating. Peter was pleasant and surprised us with a nice bottle of champagne at our hotel room door. The buffet dinner was magnificent as usual with a variety and quality that no doubt advocated the expertise of a fine staff of cuisine. The Michael Bublee Tribute Band did an outstanding job and entertained every person in the room - the dance floor was full the whole evening. Service here too was exemplary. The atmosphere of our New Year's evening was highlighted with champagne and accessories to toast with our loved ones. The clean, comfortable top quality rooms were very welcoming (especially the chocolate truffles). The breakfast in the morning was both nutritious and scrumptious and thank you wait staff for the great smiles. Pampered we were - I recommend the Elmhurst to all my friends, family and others! Thank you to your staff for a wonderful time! Sharon S.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Sharon S,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy you were able to celebrate the new year with us and had an enjoyable time. This particular tribute band is one of our favourites and usually returns every year. Included with your new years eve package was the bottle of sparkling wine and truffles and I am so happy to year that you enjoyed them.

We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brittany Labrie
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We traveled from the Detroit metropolitan area for the NYE package. We added a night too. We enjoyed the best service, dinner, dancing, and crowd ever! The grounds must be magnificent in warmer months, but the inn is the perfect setting for weddings grand and small. The buffet dinner was the absolute best with numerous salads, chicken, salmon, and prime rib. Smoked salmon and shrimp were among the numerous appetizers. Service was unbelievable with table side attention uncommon in events such as this. The champagne and truffles in our room were excellent. The breakfast buffet was delicious with homemade croissants included. The rooms are clean and modern. I could wax poetic about the antiques and charming parlours throughout but I will stop now. This inn is worth the drive and 15 minutes to London activities.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alon g, General Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Cheryl,
Thank you very much for this great review.
The Michael Buble Tribute show is one of the best we have and the band is wonderful.
It is nice you acknowledge the Sparkling Wine and truffles in the room for the New Years Eve guests.
I will share this review with the team at the Elm Hurst in our Annual Party on January 12th 2014.

Best regards,
Alon Gurman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just a year ago I gave this restaurant five stars for the Boxing Day brunch. But I can't do that for the Sunday brunch we just had. We were on time for our reservation but stood waiting over 20 minutes at the door; the first ten completely unacknowledged by wait staff answering the phone and checking the book. Did the host/hostess call in sick that day? The place looked way overbooked. As it was drawing near 2pm, I asked the person who finally seated us if food was still being replenished. She assured me it would be for quite some time. This was not the case, though. There were several messy plates with just scrapings left. No sauce for the waffles, and even though it was promised, it still took 20 minutes to get there. The vegetable salads were fine. The kids enjoyed their roast beef and home fries. The staff looked uninterested and seemed to be just going through the motions, especially the meat carver. Our wait person was barely there, and you know it when you actually have to ask for coffee at a brunch. Three cheers to the sous chef preparing the crepes; he was still putting his best effort forward despite the long lineup. For $25.50 each I would expect a better fruit salad than just green melon and cantaloupe chunks tossed into a bowl. Boring sliced packaged cheddar and a plate of blue cheese that looked well raked over. Big bowl of packaged mixed greens. What has happened here? This used to be the go-to brunch when you wanted fine dining. There used to be fresh oysters on the shell and all kinds of other fresh seafood. All the poinsettia plants were dry and missing much of their foliage. If the management doesn't see it then they need to wake up. If the more recent owner is responsible for such mediocrity then let the prices reflect it and don't hold yourself out as offering fine dining.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avlea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alon g, General Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed this year from our Boxing Day Brunch. I shared your comments with our Executive chef and the Dining room Manager.
When we are taking reservations we are trying to give ourselves enough time to serve and reset the tables and be ready for the guests however sometimes guest are staying longer time or not showing all together and that cause us delay. I am very sorry we were not ready on time.
In regards the food in the buffet, we had 2 runners that their responsibility is to keep making sure the food in all the different station is full and fresh however according to your pictures we had some chafers that were empty, I am sure it wasn't for long time.
I have read your comments from last Boxing Day Brunch and i enjoyed reading your description of the Christmas tree, fire place and nice dining chairs in the dining room, the chocolate fountain for the kids and more. I am happy that all of those are still at the Inn and it makes the Inn very festive for our guests.
Again I am sorry for the few issues you mention in the review and I will make sure it will not happen in the future.
I will appreciate if you can contact me to my personal email alon@elmhurstinn.com

Best regards,
Alon Gurman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Elmhurst Inn has been part of our lives for 20 years for dining and overnight stays. As always the rooms are lovely and the food excellent. However,the mark of distinction is service. It is the little things that charm you and the staff of Elm Hurst delivers putting them in a class of their own.The front desk clerk is an excellent ambassador interested in meeting our needs
Mike ( whose department organised the past music event) was exceptional. He heard that we were celebrating my husband's 52 birthday.He bought us a bottle of wine ,he handpicked our seats and was highly attentive

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Nicole C,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us as well as our Decades Tribute Show. At the Elm Hurst Inn & Spa we strive to treat all of our guests with not only exceptional service but a service that they will remember. I hope both you and your husband will remember his 52nd birthday for a long time. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stanley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is unquestionably one of the finest establishments in this part of Ontario. The room was spacious, with soaring ceilings and large windows providing lots of light and views while at the same time offering unusual privacy for the guest. We had been told that the dining was superb, but the reality exceeded our expectations.There is no question that we will return.

Room Tip: We had a large corner room with soaring ceilings and huge (but exceptionally private) windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandKarenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany L, Guest Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear James F,

Thank you for your wonderful review! From what I can see in the picture it looks like you were in one of our Fireplace Rooms (Rm. 325). We are happy to hear that we exceeded your dining expectations and enjoyed your overnight stay with us. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingersoll
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Ingersoll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Hotel Metro
#3 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Hurst Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Property: Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Address: Hwy 401 415 Harris St RR 5, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ingersoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Hurst Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour west of Toronto and a short drive from London and Woodstock, this 49 room Inn and Victorian Mansion Dining room sits on 33 acres of countryside, just off Hwy 401. Comfortable guest rooms, renowned cuisine, attentive service, private dining rooms, elegant reception spaces and beautiful grounds have made Elm Hurst Inn & Spa a popular destination for getaways, celebrations and corporate events. Enjoy extra pampering at our on-site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Elm Hurst Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Hurst Hotel Ingersoll
Elm Hurst Inn And Spa
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa Ingersoll, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing