We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place to stay but get everything in writing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mettawas-End Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mettawas-End Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Kingsville B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay but get everything in writing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for a weekend recently and have mixed reviews. The breakfast are sensational, no complaints there. However, the rooms are very hot at night, and the bed was so soft we rolled back and forth on it. Regretably it ended badly with a dispute over foreign exchange when the owner cashed my check for Canadian money in US funds despite knowing it was meant for Canadian. I found his response to my concerns rude and greedy and I would caution other visitors to make sure you know how much it is and have Canadian dollars to pay. Its is a shame that someone generates such ill will over trying to rip me off for $18.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbasskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roland c, Owner at Mettawas-End Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I am sorry a nice visit ended by a dispute but I must say it started by an unexpected last minute cancellation - costing me $280 - for which I haven't yet get any kind of apology, and while lbaskin had the opportunity to get the exact canadian fare at a close bay bank, he prefered to write "canadian dollars" on a US check, which the bank couldn't consider, according to the teller. So I got an extra $18 and when lbaskin asked for an alleged $30 refund, without any mention of his costly late cancellation, I refused to send him any money back. Should I add that I gave him a consistent discount on two spare rooms I set for his two teen children travelling with him, so readers can make up their mind about a so called attempt to "rip off" a welcomed guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a very comfortable, well-appointed, intimate B&B that is located right down the street from the Pelee Island ferry. Roland is the consummate host and as others have said, his breakfasts are amazingly delicious and beautifully presented. His suggestions about where to eat and what to do were excellent and he also had bicycles available for our use. This is an excellent place from which to explore the island.

Room Tip: Only one room has an en suite bath but the other bath, down the hall from your room, has a sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Wonderful place, relaxing and quiet, lovely rooms and garden. Robert is a wonderful person who pleased us very much during three days we stayed.
The breakfast - a four course menu differing every day to our surprise - was the best we ever experienced.
Eddi from Offenbach, germany

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindhoff-last
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My two cousins and I went to Kingsville in May and just loved this place. Beautiful gardens surround home, summer wrap around enclosed porch, cozy fireplace for cooler weather, guest rooms very charming and welcoming. Our room had a rooftop garden off of it. Private bath with soaker tub and separate shower. Towel warming bars. Fridge in closet. We were spoiled with two mornings of 4 course breakfasts. Roland is surely a wonderful chef. If you want to be pampered and have a special place to enjoy, do go to the Mettawas-End and treat yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy52lupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

From a fabulous four course French cuisine breakfast to comfortable beds,interesting history & outstanding customer service every detail is provided to make you feel like royalty but extremely welcome. Don't forget to ask Roland about his wine pairings...well worth it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Mettawas B&B this past weekend, and I must say I would go back again and again! Every detail has been thought of. We stayed in the Walker room, which has it's own ensuite bath and jacuzzi tub. There were so many little extra touches. The bathroom even had a rack to warm the towels. The bed was amazing, just like sleeping on a cloud! And the breakfast even included dessert. I can't say enough about the amazing stay we had. I think you would be hard pressed to find a breakfast better than Roland can make. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: There are two rooms. The Walker room has an very large ensuite bath, the other room has a bathroom d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonbonjovifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I've been to a few B&Bs and this is at the top of my list. Roland created great 4 course breakfasts that were as much as feast for the eyes as they were for my belly. You do not need to have lunch after one of his breakfasts!! Healthy too! And so delicious!! I had to beg him to not include dessert - and this is coming from a total sweet tooth person!

They were very friendly but there was enough private space so that you felt like you had your house to yourself. The room was exquisite, the jacuzzi tub wonderful. It did take a while to fill up but well worth the wait for those relaxing jets!!

Loved the green roof terrace and that they also loved my inquisitive dog who tried to make friends with their cats. Will come again! Two restaurants literally at their door, both quite good. This is a spot to totally relax. It was soooo quiet, you only heard the birds! You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattipokorchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsville
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Leamington Hotel & Conference Centre
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Leamington
Days Inn Leamington
#2 of 8 in Leamington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 11 in Kingsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jack's GastroPub, Inn31
Jack's GastroPub, Inn31
#2 of 11 in Kingsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Woodbridge House
The Woodbridge House
#5 of 11 in Kingsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lil' Heart & Soul Inn
Lil' Heart & Soul Inn
#6 of 11 in Kingsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mettawas-End Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mettawas-End Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mettawas-End Bed and Breakfast
Address: 64 Park Street, Kingsville, Ontario N9Y1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kingsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mettawas-End Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two comfortable rooms in a renovated historical century home built for Hiram Walker's son in 1886. Walking distance to the ferry dock to Pelee Island, to the Park, Erie lake, fine restaurants and Pelee Island winery. Welcoming garden with hot tub, gas grill on the deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mettawas-End Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing