We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodland Echoes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magnetawan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodland Echoes Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
GreenLeadersGold level
Meols, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Found Woodland Echoes by chance for a three night stay within a two week mini tour of Ontario, and what a fantastic find!
Ken and Carol treated us like family and nothing was too much trouble. Ken had so much time for us; from teaching the children to fish with live bait to showing us the local wildlife around the lake. We were very lucky to hear the call of the Common Loon on our first night thanks to Ken’s generosity.
We couldn’t have asked for anything more from the resort; beautiful location, kayaks and boats for use all day, water trampoline, motor boat hire, amazing home-cooked food, and perfect hosts. What more can we say?!
We would love to return if we get the opportunity!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruitloop21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was the perfect place for our short honeymoon getaway. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The cottage was very clean and fresh (no musty smell in the linens or pillows). The food was really good, especially the breakfasts. We had the quiet and privacy we were craving after a very hectic wedding week. We loved the rustic, unspoiled feel to the cottages and grounds. My husband caught his first fish in 15 years... We would definitely return with friends for a vacation

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed in Cottage 4 which was definitely a home away from home. Beautifully decorated in modern style and equipped with all the latest appliances and amenities. We enjoyed our large deck and fancy outdoor grill as well as our flat screen tv inside. When the bugs got bad, we would retreat into our screened veranda. The lake was beautiful in the morning and we enjoyed a week of fantastic fishing. This cottage resort combined upscale living with amenities for fish cleaning. We also enjoyed taking our boat across the lake to go golfing on a nine hole course for a day. We would highly recommend this cottage retreat to couples and families alike!

Room Tip: Definitely Cottage 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Augmentus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I just enjoyed a three-day stay at Woodland Echoes Resort with my 13 year old son, and what a fabulous place!!!! I was expecting something somewhat rustic, and found the most cozy, charming and stylish cottage resort I have ever stayed at. The hosts, Carol and Ken could not have been nicer. Ken was extremely helpful with fishing tips, and provided us with his seven "favourite" fishing spots, which he drew out on a map for us. I was lucky enough to meet Carol in the dining room on our second evening as she provided us with the history of the resort and showed us old photos. The cootage and grounds were immaculate!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMac3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great beach. Great fishing, Great cottages and wonderful host,s. Thanks for the great vacation and wonderful memories. we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteMatthews_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

My family of four, including my five year old son and three year old daughter had a great time at Woodland Echoes Resort in mid-June 2011. The resort was very clean, everything was in excellent working order, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Ken (the owner) bailed out our boat every day that it rained, and he also offered to take me to his doctor in Burk's Falls when I accidentally hooked my thumb. The resort was very kid-friendly and had a miniature golf course, a beach, a gameroom, and bicycles.

Woodland Echoes is located on the Magnetawan River with good access to nearby Ahmic Lake. The fishing was excellent and we caught lots of smallmouth bass (several in the 14-17 inch range), black crappies, and rock bass, with occasional walleye (pickeral), northern pike, and yellow perch. My son caught one 16 inch black crappie and we caught at least six others in the 10-13 inch range. We practiced catch-and-release, but could have had some great fish fries if we had chosen to do so. Although it rained much of the week, there was so much action that my kids preferred to go out in the boat in the rain to catch smallmouth bass rather than catch panfish, which were also plentiful off of the dock. We primarily fished in the river, including the pool below the tailwaters just below the dam for Cecebe Lake. Medium diving plugs such as Rapala Shad Raps and small spinners worked best.

The area in and around Magnetawan is beautiful and all of the residents that we met were very friendly. In addition to sight-seeing around Magnetawan, we also took a scenic boat cruise in Parry Sound. This area is a Natural World Heritage site and had numerous rocky islands with beautiful windswept pines. We also visited Killbear Provincial Park in the same area, and there were numerous other provincial parks in the region that we hope to visit next summer. The food at Woodland Echoes was excellent and there were also several other very good restaurants in the area.

Overall, we had a great time and hope to visit again next summer. We highly recommend Woodland Echoes Resort to anyone, including families with small children, who want to have a nice, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

A group of 12 friends got together to go fishing and have some fun. Ken and his team were fantastic and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MississaugaTrenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetawan
17.8 mi away
Algonquin Motel
Algonquin Motel
#1 of 1 in South River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
12.7 mi away
Northridge Inn & Resort
Northridge Inn & Resort
#1 of 1 in Sundridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
#1 of 2 in Magnetawan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Echoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Echoes Resort

Property: Woodland Echoes Resort
Address: 3 Victoria St | P.O. Box 59, Magnetawan, Ontario POA 1PO, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Magnetawan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think freedom...imagine breathing in the fresh scents of a spring forest canoeing, drifting quietly absorbing the beauty and warmth of a summers day. Cycling down a country road in a blaze of fall colour, or sitting beside a fire enjoying time with a friend. Welcome to Woodland Echoes a delightfully small resort where you sense a warm invitation from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Echoes Hotel Magnetawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing