We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magnetawan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodland Echoes Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Our visit to Woodland Echos for Ron and Erika's wedding was super. Mother nature did her best to make the weekend a bust but in the end, the weekend was one to be remembered. The staff made the weekend very enjoyable. We would like to make a return visit when the weather would be more suitable to really enjoy the resort to its fullest. Our cabin with the wood burning fireplace and the hot tub was cosy.
Thank you Ken, Carol and staff for a great time and God Bless.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FETCHISON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were at Woodland Echoes for a wedding the weekend of september 10 2011. The entire site was booked with wedding guests and they catered to us superbly. Food, facilities and setting were above average. Mind you it did not hurt they also ordered the best weather for us. There are newer and older cabins so if you have a choice ask for a newer one. If you like hottubs many of the cabins have those as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at Woodland Echoes in mid August 2011 for a family reunion. We came here 12 years earlier for a similar reunion and loved it then, so we decided to return for another reunion. There were 6 families all together. It felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves!

The resort property is beautifully maintained with gardens throughout, and large shady trees. The beach is fantastic with soft white sand. There is plenty to do on the property itself if you are the type that enjoys water-related activities - canoes, kayaks, water trampoline, excellent swimming, fantastic fishing! Other activities included mini-golf, a kids playground, a nice hiking trail through the woods, bikes, etc. There is also a lot of open space if you choose to bring your own games as we did -- we had a ball toss for the kids, badminton.

The cottages have been very well maintained and recently upgraded with new flooring and updated bathrooms. There is a luxury cottage as well that one of the families stayed at (cottage # 4, I believe), and is definitely wonderful for those wanting to enjoy the some city amenities at the cottage ;-). On the most part, the cottages were very clean. I think there were 2 families that said they needed to do a bit of cleaning either on the floors, or the kitchen before use. Plenty of bedding is provided (which is needed on cold August nites!).
The cottages all have the basic amenities, i.e. fridge, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, etc. Well equipped with most kitchen utensils you would need.

If you choose the meal plan, the food is definitely a highlight! The food was delicious, and the presentation of each dish was so artistic! It was quite a task for the small kitchen to have 22 dinners ready every nite, but they pulled it off and we were all fed very well for that one week. And the desserts - WoW! One of my main memories from 12 years ago was the decadent desserts. Still holds true 12 years on.. we all really, really enjoyed the desserts!

The entire staff at Woodland Echoes is amazing! They are all very friendly, warm and inviting folks, and made us feel right at home! Almost like staying with long last family!

We are definitely considering returning for our next big family reunion. Thank you Ken & Carol for running such a wonderful resort!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We rented out Woodland Echoes for our long weekend wedding July 29-August 1. While the cottages were filled with our weddin party and closest friends and family, we had 160 attend the wedding and stay at various hotels in the area.

Ken, Melissa and Carol took fantastic care of everything. From the months of pre planning to getting it all together for the big day, they were helpful, available and always willing to help. Dont forget that this is a business. While it sometimes seemed like suggestions were made out of good will, we later found that they come at a cost and we did feel a little nickle-and-dimed.

But, in all, it was well worth everything. Everyone had a fantastic time, our wedding dinner was delicious and ran very smoothly. We felt we were given space and time to enjoy ourselves and all the resort had to offer. It was truly the best weekend of our lives and I know all our guests who stayed here can say they all had an incredible time too.

Thank you for everything! It was truly fantastic! :)

Room Tip: Our wedding room (Cabin 2) was the only one without a kitchen or full fridge. This ment we had to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I came to woodland echo's for my best friends wedding ! it was such a beautiful back drop for a perfect day ! great food , lovely room - great fun in the lake !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Found Woodland Echoes by chance for a three night stay within a two week mini tour of Ontario, and what a fantastic find!
Ken and Carol treated us like family and nothing was too much trouble. Ken had so much time for us; from teaching the children to fish with live bait to showing us the local wildlife around the lake. We were very lucky to hear the call of the Common Loon on our first night thanks to Ken’s generosity.
We couldn’t have asked for anything more from the resort; beautiful location, kayaks and boats for use all day, water trampoline, motor boat hire, amazing home-cooked food, and perfect hosts. What more can we say?!
We would love to return if we get the opportunity!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fruitloop21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was the perfect place for our short honeymoon getaway. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The cottage was very clean and fresh (no musty smell in the linens or pillows). The food was really good, especially the breakfasts. We had the quiet and privacy we were craving after a very hectic wedding week. We loved the rustic, unspoiled feel to the cottages and grounds. My husband caught his first fish in 15 years... We would definitely return with friends for a vacation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Woodland Echoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Echoes Resort

Address: 3 Victoria St | P.O. Box 59, Magnetawan, Ontario POA 1PO, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Magnetawan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
Price Range: £85 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think freedom...imagine breathing in the fresh scents of a spring forest canoeing, drifting quietly absorbing the beauty and warmth of a summers day. Cycling down a country road in a blaze of fall colour, or sitting beside a fire enjoying time with a friend. Welcome to Woodland Echoes a delightfully small resort where you sense a warm invitation from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Echoes Hotel Magnetawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing