We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Home away from Home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magnetawan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodland Echoes Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 March 2010

My husband and I and our two kids (8 and 5) spent a week at Woodland Echoes last summer in August. Our stay was terrific with many highlights. Our cottage was very cozy and clean, and we were thrilled to have a great deck and BBQ! Though a bit on the small side, the accommodations were very comfortable, had all the needed amenities and was a perfect home away from home. A couple times we didn't feel like cooking, and enjoyed wonderful meals in the Resort's dining room. Our host/waiter was very upbeat and also very helpful in giving my husband great fishing tips and locations. We enjoyed the boat and the lake immensely, and there was lots for the kids to do on the grounds (a playground, sand beach, mini golf... overall, a great outdoor environment to relax and just hang out in). The landscaping and gardens are very well cared for (except for a bit of grass on the beach), and it was just a quiet and beautiful spot to have a vacation at our own pace. We look forward to going back this summer, and in fact, I'm hoping that my sister will take our kids for a weekend sometime in the near future so that my husband and I can go on our own too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annalouisebeaudoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2009

We came here for our honeymoon. The cottages were very well kept and clean and the little touches like the welcome basket and "just married" flip flops were super cute!

The servers in the dining room are super nice and the food is pretty good. One comment is that it seemed like a huge inconvenience to the staff when we wanted to have breakfast at 8am instead of 9 am so that we could get on the road and get home on our departure date. We found this odd considering that checkout time is 9 am.

The owners are a husband and wife team, and it is quite hilarious because the husband is all over this business. He serves breakfast in the morning, is very chipper and helpful. His wife however, is just not as into the business anymore. We found her very unpleasant and she treated us like a burden. There are some things in the resort that need some attention. The games hall needs some help along with the mini golf course.

Boats were in great shape and the motors are very easy to start, although we were a little disappointed that we were not offered the fishing boat with the live well when we specifically told them we were going fishing. The resort has fish finders available, but when we asked for one, we never received it.

The cabin we had with the outdoor hot tub was nice. The bathroom needs some serious updating, but the rest of it is great.

I would consider this place more of a place to rent a cottage rather than a resort. The owners should think about doing some renovations, or try to sell or consider a new direction.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarFish0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandechoes, owner at Woodland Echoes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2009

Sincere apologies to the vacationing couple who had a less than excellent experience at Woodland Echoes recently.

Our two guest books speak of literally hundreds of content and happy guests whom we have hosted over the past many years.

Thank you for your comments - comments such as these make us jump to attention. We hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Just recently visited this cottage/resort (shouldn't be considered a resort) and it started off poorly. When we first got into the room, it was dirty, dusty, things were not maintained (outdated calendars and magazines, menu booklet not complete) and overall not warming. The slightest requests were come back with irritated responses by the owners. From something as simple as completing the menu provided in the cottage to as important as replacing the batteries in the smoke alarm. In fact, the owner made quite a big deal when he "replaced" the smoke alarm with "new" batteries, when actually he put in dead batteries. We ended up having a lot of smoke in the room due to poor advise given by the owner, and the smoke alarm did not go off. We had to wake up to the beeping of a carbon monoxide detector which I don't find fun. I would recommend that you bring your own batteries and change them to all the alarms in the room just so you are safe. Another thing, the landscaping of the property was poorly kept. What they advertise on their site is not true to what is actually there. Tennis courts were not functional, trails on the property was like walking through a forest with no direction. The boats they offered were minimal and very dirty. Everything had to be cleaned before we could use them. For meals, they made a point that they were flexible with changes to their daily menus, but when I said I wanted to choose something from a different days' menu, all I received was an irritated response, as if he was doing me a BIG favor or something. They shouldn't offer something if they are going to make such a big deal about it. The website they have glorifies this place way too much, so don't be fooled. If you don't believe what you are reading, I would suggest you drive down and take a look for yourself, but I will tell you that you still will be wasting your gas making your way down. Things they offer are almost non-existent and YOU have to make your own fun, they don't offer any enjoyment.

We would never go to this place again nor would we recommend this to anyone. Absolutely horrible stay, and please don't waste your time coming down and wasting your time down there too.

I've read some reviews and they said that they spent their honeymoons here; I can't believe they would waste such an important time with their spouse in such a dreadful location.

So please don't come here, its a big scum hole. Stay home if you can!!! Hope this saved a lot of your money and time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan_ucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodland, Owner at Woodland Echoes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2009

Since 1981 our family has operated Woodland Echoes Resort. Over the years we have hosted many fine guests with a repeat rate of close to 60%, and many new guests coming by word of mouth. We do our best to serve our many guests and cater to their needs, but still sometimes are unable to meet a guest’s expectations.
Although we orient our guests upon their arrival, we often find that people from the city are very unfamiliar with the workings of a wood-burning fireplace. If one lights a fireplace with a damper closed, a room will fill a building with smoke and dust, and a smoke detectors will sound. We are not in the habit of putting dead batteries in detectors – it is against the law and against our conscience. We do expect guests to alert us if anything is defective and try to immediately alleviate the problem.
In mid June the spruce trees in the area release yellow pollen for a period of one to two weeks. This covers everything and is very hard to keep out of the buildings when windows are left open, and appears as dust. At that time of year we spend extra time cleaning and dusting. It is just part of nature where we live.
Excessive spring winds and rains this year,2009, and last 2008 prevented us from doing necessary work on our extensive trail network until very late in the tourist season. We lost several big trees to the high winds. We have an ongoing program to clear them from trails. Because of the heavy rains right through to early August for two years in a row, we no longer offer a clay tennis court as excessive rain water has prevented us from grading the surface until very late in the summer, if at all. We will continue to keep a small area available for basketball toss.
There are things we can control and others we cannot. When problems are pointed out to us we make every effort to deal with them. Through our web site we have tried to show an accurate picture of who we are and the services we provide. We invite any one to come and inspect our property at any time, and we encourage our guests to leave us their comments and suggestions for improving this vacation destination.
Ken, Carol & David Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2006

Woodland echoes made our honeymoon a time to remember. The cottage was definitely a cozy, warm and inviting place to relax and stay. The grounds were very clean and the wildlife was pleasant to watch. They really make you feel welcomed. The rental equipment, boats, canoes, paddleboats and kayaks were all in very good shape. Kayaking and canoeing on the river and lake was beautiful. Fishing was great, my wife had a blast catching more fish then I did. We will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Josapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Whitby, Ontario
13
Reviewed 9 January 2006

My husband and I "eloped" at Woodland Echoes, we had a private ceremony (just the 2 of us) and were extermely satisfied at how easy it was to have a lovely, private ceremony at such a beautiful location!!

The cabins are clean and cozy, the grounds are well kept and great for walking, the food in the dining room is wonderful - it's a great place to stay and have a wonderful relaxing vacation in Ontario.

We will hopefully be returning for our 1 year anniversary this fall!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Baden, ON, Canada
16
Reviewed 4 January 2004

We were very privileged to have our wedding and honeymoon hosted by the great people at Woodland Echoes. They helped tremendously with the planning and overall 'production' of our special day, as well as providing a comfortable relaxing getaway. The accommodations and service are second to none, and the cuisine could not have been better.
They also handled our photography by request, and our pictures taken throughout the resort grounds turned out great. We highly recommend Woodland Echoes, and will certainly be returning ourselves.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
110
Reviewed 10 March 2003

We recently had the good fortune to find a great place for a vacation getaway. We were searching the net for a place to try dog sledding, and at the same time find a place to relax. Woodland Echoes Resort in Magnetawan was perfect. They had a cottage with a private out door hot tub, which we enjoyed after a day of dog sledding. The food in the dining room was OUT of THIS world.. We have never had such good personal service and great food. We can not wait to return.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetawan
16.9 mi away
Algonquin Motel
Algonquin Motel
#1 of 1 in South River
41 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
#1 of 2 in Magnetawan
21 reviews
11.9 mi away
Northridge Inn & Resort
Northridge Inn & Resort
#1 of 1 in Sundridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Whitestone
The Whitestone
#1 of 1 in Dunchurch
57 reviews
11.3 mi away
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
#1 of 2 in South River
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Echoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Echoes Resort

Address: 3 Victoria St | P.O. Box 59, Magnetawan, Ontario POA 1PO, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Magnetawan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
Price Range: £88 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think freedom...imagine breathing in the fresh scents of a spring forest canoeing, drifting quietly absorbing the beauty and warmth of a summers day. Cycling down a country road in a blaze of fall colour, or sitting beside a fire enjoying time with a friend. Welcome to Woodland Echoes a delightfully small resort where you sense a warm invitation from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Echoes Hotel Magnetawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing