We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

the swiss country house
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Magnetawan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great location, great views, great food. Service tends to be a little slow during peak hours when they're busiest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rwalker2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Men's Hockey Gold”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The owner agreed to open early and play the men's hockey gold metal game. What a great experience. We enjoyed at wonderful buffet breakfast after game.

Staff were great. Thanks again, what a great Sunday morning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
306 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great service and fine dining in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed.  They are known for their schnitzel and if you listen carefully enough you will hear the sound of the kitchen staff pounding on the meat during service.  Atmosphere is vey pleasant and they continue to make improvements year-over-year. Many seats have a bit of a view of the water. 
We went out on a limb and ordered Exotic Schnitzel and it was excellent; finely breaded schnitzel, mango chutney, peaches with swiss cheese. You can't go wrong with the tradition Weiner Schnitzel either. I highly recommend the Caesar Salad which is also available in a family size suitable for sharing with large groups. The European house beer is excellent and worthy of a try.  Can't wait to return. We make excuses to overstay our welcome so that we can go to dinner here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent but slow service!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Even though the service was very slow (they were busy), everything else was excellent!
The food was outstanding & plentiful (took a doggie bag), the waitress was very friendly and accommodating and the place itself was beautiful, relaxing and picturesque.
We definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooterlady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yum! Yum!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great place to eat! Try the salmon...delicious! This place has great waitresses. Kids menu.
Limited wine menu. Rosti is good as a side...great vegetables and dessert. We love the place.

Treasure box for children....you will have a cozy,yummy evening if you eat at the swiss house!

The salads are also yummy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the swiss country house also viewed

Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
 
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
Magnetawan, Northeastern Ontario
 
Ahmic Harbour, Northeastern Ontario
Dunchurch, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to the swiss country house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing