We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Getaway with Modern Amenities”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Foxys on the lake

Cabin Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin Exterior
Downstairs cedar suite Lake view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Cabin Exterior
Downstairs cedar suite
Lake view
Natural landscape
Private entrance
Well lit
Large screen porch
Cedar suite
Sofa bed
Fireplace
Steam shower
Rustic detail
Woden tub upstairs bath
Upstairs bedroom
Custom kitchen
Walnut hardwood countertops
Apron sink
Laundry facility
Living room
Great fishing
Your hosts
Freshly roasted coffee beans on site
Breakfast available
Lunch available
Signature blackened pickerel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Massey, Northeastern Ontario, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Addison83...
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Getaway with Modern Amenities”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My family (husband and 5 year old) stayed here for a week in July 2017. We were blown away by the views of the lake and the beauty of the cabin itself. The location is spectacular and you really feel like you've gotten away from it all. Yet, the cabin has so many modern amenities so it makes for a really comfortable stay. The people who own and run Foxy's are incredibly friendly and helpful. They are close by so you can call on them for anything, yet they aren't at all imposing. The power went out in the area and they brought us brewed coffee since we had no power to make our own!

The front deck is open and spacious and there is also a protected porch (with roof and mosquito netting) on the side where you can watch the storms roll in without getting wet (or bitten by bugs!) So there is really no time when you can't be outside to enjoy the views. You can walk down to the very quiet public beach for a swim and the owners have a kayak that you can use as well.

A warning if you have small children...there is no railing around the front deck so an unsteady and unpredictable toddler/preschooler may make for a stressful stay since it is quite a drop down to the rocks below. But our daughter was good to stay away from the edge. Also...the stairs to the top level of the cabin would be tricky for a toddler. We also missed having direct access to swimming (it is very hard to get down to the water from the cabin as the rockery makes entry into the water challenging), but the beach is literally a 2-3 minute walk so really not a big deal.

The water from the tap is brown and undrinkable (due to iron). It's fine to shower and wash your dishes, but we used bottled water to wash & cook food, brush our teeth and drink. The folks who own the place provided us with a lot of small bottles of water, but we also bought large jugs as well that we used for cooking.

There is wifi that worked perfectly and there were tvs and dvd players if that's your thing.

There isn't a lot of lake 'traffic' so it's a welcome change from some busier lakes with speed boats, sea doos, etc.

Honestly a great getaway!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a five day stay at foxys. From arrival to departure all was perfect. Nathan was quick to respond to any requests but also respected our privacy. The cabin had everything we needed and is clean and modern. The WiFi is a welcome addition and worked great. The view is amazing and falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves is great. Definitely remote location but we had all we needed so no need to leave. Would return for sure. I didn't get the pleasure of meeting Andrea but Nathan was a great host. Thank you for a few blissful days!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy B
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at night here and it was fantastic. The cabin has everything you need and the owner Nathan was so kind! He came to the cabin and made the best fish and chips dinner ever. We sat on the deck and enjoyed the view of the beautiful Lake. I highly recommend this hidden spot and can't wait to go again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Wow thanks a lot you guys, I'm happy you liked it so much! Great to meet you and hope we see you again. Thank you for staying with us! Nate and Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils G
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the rare wonderful places in this world...”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Why? Because of the landscape and the host. We've felt very welcomed by Andrea & Nathan and of course by the Lake. Unfortunely we had only 3 nights there. To explore everything else we have to come back. And, Nathan, you are a pretty good chef, Thanks for the salad, the blackened red fish, the greek salad, the breakfast! (..and the wi-fi)

Our best wishes for you & the family. Hope to see u again,
Ute &Nils

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elenaluk
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place Foxy's on the lake”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented a part of the cottage with separate entrance. We had a delicious dinner of pickerel & chips after our long drive. Thanks to Nathan for tasty meals, breakfasts and dinners.
Great view from the deck, really quiet place. High speed wi-fi/internet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck view.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy_pin...
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
“Peaceful getaway on the North Channel of Georgian Bay”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Foxy's is a private and secluded gem. The sunsets were spectacular, the hosts were kind and welcoming, the food was delicious and the cabin was clean and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C
1 review
“Beautiful spot to unwind & de-stress”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We rented the whole cottage for a week. We were welcomed with a delicious dinner of local fish & chips after our long drive. The house is well out-fitted with most everything. The view from the decks are spectacular, especially the setting sun! It is a very quiet spot and would highly recommend for a couples' getaway. Thank you Nathan for your great hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the deck chairs & view
Liked least: cannot think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
It was nice meeting you guys! Hope to see you again and thank you for your business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing