We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestead House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Hope B&B and Inns
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This home was clean, the room was well appointed and the food was excellent! Verena made each breakfast unique and special, and had plenty of information available to make our day's plans enjoyable. They really went out of their way to make sure we had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
14
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was in Hamilton for the annual Swing Dance at the Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum, and I needed a place for the night which was near to the Museum. Well, Homestead is the place. Only a fifteen-minute walk from the Museum, although part of the route (along Airport Road) lacks sidewalks. I had a very pleasant night in the Pine Room and a perfectly fine breakfast the next day. Vera was very accommodating, she even drove me to the dance on Saturday Night!

So why not five stars - two things - the House lacks any sort of sitting/recreation area for guests, which was a slight liability because the Pine Room where I stayed was a little small (warning - if you are taller than 5 foot ten the beds might be too short for you as well.) And the bathroom was too well-lit - it was very, very hot - and especially cramped. And I am not a big person, either. These things happen with old houses so it didn't surprise me, but it does keep Homstead from the top.

Still very pleasant and very convenient for all your Hamilton Airport needs.

Room Tip: If you are very tall or large, avoid the Pine Room - this room is all right for short singles or cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 599Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have travelled extensively internationally for the past 40 years and in recent years used many B&Bs at home and abroad.
We were very fortunate to spend our first 9 days in Canada in Sept 2013 with our hosts Verena and Bernie at Homestead House. From our first email contact many months ago when inquiring/booking their customer service and enthusiasm for the business and their own B&B shone through. On arrival and throughout they were very welcoming, friendly and helpful without being too involved.
All aspects of their B&B we found of a very high standard: cleanliness (based on Swizz backgrounds), presentation, attention to detail and the little things (like door hanging hooks, providing a door sausage to keep out light, etc).
The breakfasts are something else – great variety each day and fantastic.
They are very knowledgeable of their area and willing to assist.
They are in a very fortunate location being close to both business associated with the Hamilton area and Airport plus major Tourism attractions including of coarse Niagara Fall sand the 6 Nations area etc. However they are in a quiet spot (and we greatly dislike noisy/busy environments accommodation).
Over our 9 days we really enjoyed meeting other guests and spending time over the great breakfast - both business people and holiday makers.
They were kind enough to ask us to join them at their personal family Labour Day get together.
We departed feeling like we had very interested friends and would highly recommend this B&B.
It is definitely one of the best B&Bs we have been fortunate to stay at.

Thanks Kev & Sandra

Room Tip: As with a building of this age (early 1900s, although very solid) room privacy cannot be what you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksmOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

WE spent a wonderful 6 nights at Homestead House, situated in Mount Hope,not quite a 'one street town' but not far off,roughly midway between Toronto and Niagara falls, this B&B is a hidden gem.

Run by Bernie and Verena Tschan, this comfortable, 3 bedroom, bed and breakfast is an ideal base for a 7 day stay in this part of Canada.
Having landed in Toronto Pearson International Airport, an easy 45 minute drive found us pulling off Highway 6 into the community of Mount Hope and then onto the driveway of Homestead House. A beautiful early 20th century brick house with a large porch (the settee is a highly recommended spot to watch the world go by with a cup of coffee) Homestead House's gardens are the product of much work by your hosts (for non Canadian/American travellers look out for the different bird species that pay flying visits) The three bedrooms are all very comfortable, with en-suite facilities with a double and a twin at the front of the house and a larger double to one side. I was travelling with a large amount of camera gear but space was not a problem, I stored the suitcase in the car (if you ask your hosts, they have a large garage store where it could be stowed)

Breakfast here is not a meal, it is an experience! A continental buffet style array of fruit, cereals, bread, cheese, cold cuts and more supplemented by a freshly prepared hot dish. The quality of the food was outstanding and kept you fuelled for the day, but food was only part of our breakfast experience, sharing the table with your fellow guests lead to prolonged and interesting conversation over a diverse range of topics - our record being close on to 2 hour on one occasion.

Bernie and Verena are great hosts, open, friendly and a mine of information making a stay here feel like a great family visit.

There is a range of attractions within easy reach...within a 45-60 minute radius there is;
Toronto;bus or train is an alternative way in.
Niagara Falls; the view from the Canadian side IS the best!
Niagara on the Lake; a beautiful town of mainly early19th Century buildings
Fort George; a faithfully reconstructed fort from the War of 1812 - the British and French took the Napoleonic War 'On Tour".
The Royal Botanical Gardens; Not at their best in August but still very impressive - go in late spring/early summer to be overwhelmed.
More waterfalls than you can shake a stick at!
The Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum; A fantastic collection of aircraft, many of them airworthy. With a small amount of pre-planning, and a fee depending on choice, you can fly in anything from a Tiger Moth to a Lancaster Bomber!

A range of venues for evening meals can be found within a ten minute drive.

Canada is a wonderful place and Homestead House is part of that charm. When I go back to Canada (Yes, when not if!) I will spend at least part of my time with Bernie and Verena at Homestead House.

Room Tip: The Red Room is the largest of the doubles BUT unless you are traveling with a huge amount of 's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireboot46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Homestead House hosts Verena and Bernie are friendly and very helpful with landmarks as well as family-like conversation. Breakfasts were excellent home-cooked meals with lots of variety and deliciously prepared. Comfortable, cozy rooms...easy access to many things to do around Hamilton, ON while being in a quiet neighborhood away from the bustling business district. Easy parking on site, clean rooms with A/C, and beautiful porches and flowers. I will definitely book with them again on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVivianM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
524 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is what a B&B is all about, clean comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and the most gracious hosts you would want to have. We had a good time in the Hamilton area and their is much to see and do. You have many waterfalls, Dundurn Castle, Royal Botanical Gardens and many other nice attractions in the area and it's good to know you have a great place to come back to and relax. We spent several nights in wonderful conversation with Bernie and Verena who are very genuine and caring people. Being from the USA it was nice to know that Bernie was so knowledgeable about it and Verena had beautiful flowers all about and her breakfast is second to none. The small town of Mount Hope is quiet, a short distance to the airport and they have a new ice cream shop, what more could you ask for? A five star B&B run by five star people!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent two nights at Homestead House and would love to go back! Everything you read about Bernie and Verena is true and then some. They are warm, gracious and friendly, and truly make you feel like guests and friends rather than customers. Bernie gave us great advice on places to eat and things to do, as well as providing us with maps and brochures. Verena makes an amazing breakfast. You come down to a delightful spread of fresh bread, homemade preserves, cheeses and fruit, and that is just for starters! She knew we were vegetarians, and one morning made the most amazing pancakes with sauteed fruit.

The room was clean, coxy and comfortable, with private bath. The house is VERY quiet, yet conveniently located for exploring Hamilton (which is a very nice city, with historic sites, waterfalls etc.) It is also a great value. Share a couple days with Bernie and Verena, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We were in #3, which I think was the furthest from the street, but nowherre would noise be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterLibertyvilleIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Hope
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Courtyard Hamilton
#7 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead House

Property: Homestead House
Address: 3272 Homestead Drive, Mount Hope, Hamilton, Ontario L0R 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Mount Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Homestead House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay at our late 19th Century Home. We offer 3 tastefully decorated rooms, each with private bathroom, air-conditioning, TV, phone, wireless internet and bar fridge. Complimentary full breakfast served daily - dinners are extra and can be arranged at the time of booking. We also offer 1&2 bedroom luxury loft apartments, short & long-term. Free parking & free use of laundry facilities on the premises. Complimentary pick-up and drop-off from Hamilton Intl. Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homestead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead House Mount Hope, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing